We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Friday Attitude(Trou d'eau Douce)
USD 184
USD 179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Silver Beach Hotel(Trou d'eau Douce)
USD 175
USD 170
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Ocean Appartments & Villas(Trou d'eau Douce)(Great Value!)
USD 128
USD 123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASD Residence(Trou d'eau Douce)(Great Value!)
USD 24
Booking.com
View Deal
Aquarius View(Trou d'eau Douce)
USD 40
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 44
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 506
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stylia Villas(Trou d'eau Douce)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Etiennette(Trou d'eau Douce)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
304
50
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
50
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef vikashfree boatcooking lessondeparture loungeisle de cerfsfriendly waitresshotel runsglass screenvery nice staynice showerbeaded curtaingreat small hotelthe ground floor roomspeaceful environmentfishupstairs roomspecial mention
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

From our first class welcome on arrival to the excellent departure facilities on our final day, we could not have asked for more. Our spacious and comfortable accommodation was surrounded by coconut palms, providing shade when required and that real "tropical feeling". The ocean/beach was less than 30 metres away and good for a cooling swim providing you were equipped with beach shoes (there are a few rocks but its mainly the little pieces of coral that hurt your feet). The pool, poolside bar and restaurant area are in a beautiful enclosure with protection from the humidity and heat if required. As for the staff, we got to know most of them during our stay and they felt like family when we left. Particular thanks to Vikash and the lady breakfast Chef, Ram, Pamela (real tropical attitude), Karuna, Sunnil, Karen on reception and also the barmen. We must not forget Deepa, our room maid, who left wonderful creations made from our towells and kept our room spotless. We had a couple of superb massages from the hotel spa girls, a great trip over to Isle de Cerfs and a most enjoyable evening out with Vikesh and his family in their family home. Would definitely recommend this experience to visitors. All in all, everything we hoped for and more and we'll definitely be returning.
Note to hotel management - extend the terraces on ground floor rooms and add private seating to ensure that they can be categorised as "De Luxe".

Room Tip: If you prefer sitting in privacy outside your room choose an upstairs room with balcony. Ground floor rooms have small terrace, no seating
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BrenaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Hello Brenda,

Thank you for this glowing review following your stay at Tropical Attitude and for recommending us to other travelers.

All the Family Members, specially those you mentioned are delighted that you had nice holidays among us.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the Otentik Dinner with Vikesh and his family who were very happy to share our Mauritian culture with you.

We look forward to welcoming you again, maybe next time you could try our other Otentik Experiences

Warm Regards,
Désiré Prodigson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is on the beachfront and there is a small private beach 1 minute's walk from the jetty. The pool is crystal clear and immaculately looked after. The breakfast, lunch and dinner is plentiful and absolutely delicious.

The staff, especially Vikash, were really kind, attentitive and professional.

Best stay in Mauritius.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tropical Attitude.

It is such a pleasure to read that you had the best stay in Mauritius.

Hope that you have managed to drive the scooter like Mauritians do :)

Best Regards,
Ilshad Nundloll
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

A quaint hotel on the Eastern side of Mauritius. Amazing food that got better every night chef Raj & Vinkash are amazing. welcoming staff. Large rooms looking onto the sea. Ensure you get to Isle aux cerf and tour

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Carey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello Carey,

Thank you for sharing the great moments of your holidays at Tropical Attitude.

It has been a pleasure meeting you and now again to read that you are having an amazing time among us!

Keep enjoying :)

Best Regards,
Désiré Prodigson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Before I write the Hotel review I want to make a general point about Mauritius- if you are a dog lover ‘don’t go to Mauritius ‘ - there are latch key dogs and strays everywhere you go, all looked starving, with mange and full of fleas and if you are an animal lover you will find it distressing so google “stray dog problem in Mauritius” to get the facts before you book.

Now the Hotel..... part of a small chain (about 5 Attitude hotels) we’ve just returned from 2 weeks in this lovely low rise, white washed hotel with its pretty gardens, right on the beach and with stunning views across the lagoon (sea temp about 75 degrees - lovely). Always plenty of loungers as every day some of the guests go over to Ile aux Cerfs on the hotel’s free boat service. Not many loungers round the pool but plenty in the grounds offering shade.
We had a deluxe sea view room on the ground floor which had a small seating area with a tv (including a satellite movie channel which was a bonus), tea and coffee making facility and fridge, very large comfortable bed (super, super king), but I am going to recommend you have the first floor rooms which are smaller as they don’t have the lounge bit but they have a fairly large balcony with cane furniture to sit and appreciate the views whilst having a glass or 2, as the ground floor rooms although they have a paved area it’s tiny and isn’t furnished (although I did see one ground floor room that had a bigger terrace than the rest and that did have a sofa on it).
Plenty of choice at all meals and whilst not fine dining it’s tasty and well cooked, service good and staff friendly.
The beach here is small with lots of volcanic rock so u will need jelly shoes and to go in the sea but if u turn left out of the hotel on the beach, literally 5 mins walk takes you to a much nicer beach with less rocks or get the free boat to Ile aux Cerfs which is beautiful.
We didn’t do the catermaran to the waterfall but know other guests who did and for £38 per person including buffet lunch and drinks it’s a full day out and great value.
The east coast is definitely the least developed and commercialised but I liked that as it’s totally unspoilt but it’s also the worst for the weather and the windiest (cyclone season jan-mar, highest rainfall so bear this in mind when booking) but it’s still around 30 degrees and winds make the temperatures more bearable.
I can highly recommend this hotel and would say it’s in a perfect spot for views and quietness, most of the guests retire early and the bar closes at 11 pm but after a day of doing nothing, you’re ready for bed.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tan-junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello,

Thank you for this great review and for recommending us to other travelers.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed our overall resort and the hospitality of our Family Members. I have shared your great comments and they are very touched.

I hope to have the chance of welcoming you again at Tropical Attitude,

Best Regards,
Désiré Prodigson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We spent 5 days here and had a wonderfully relaxing time.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and make you feel really spoilt and pampered.

The massages are also nice and add to a peaceful atmosphere.

If you choose the ‘all inclusive package’ this helps a lot for the costing of food and drinks etc and cocktails are included in this which is fantastic.

They add additional honeymoon benefits which is very sweet and the towel decorations are very cute as well.


The glass bottom boat trip (included in the Package) is quite cool and the free ferries to the lle aux cerfs are also recommended.

Only slight complaint, The food did cater for us as gluten free and vegetarian but it did become a little repetitive as the buffets were the same every day.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent 5 nights stay at Tropical Attitude.

I am happy to read that the overall resort was up to your expectations and that you had nice holidays among us.

I have also taken good note of your constructive feedback regarding our culinary offer, which I have already shared with the Chef and his team.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back,

Best Regards,
Désiré Prodigson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews