We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Mixed Feelings..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Bahrain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our decision to go to Mauritius was a last minute one, and so we had limited options to choose from within the hotel class and nightly rate that we had in mind. We chose LUX Grand Gaube after reading all the reviews and traveler comments, good and bad.. which all ring true in different ways. On arrival, we were very impressed with the hotel's expansive layout and beautiful setting. We were received well and greeted warmly and swiftly shown to our room, which was clean and comfortable. On closer inspection, however, the room did come across as old and tired, with cracks and breaks in the furniture/mini-fridge/sanitary ware. It wasn't the quietest hotel room I have stayed in either. On the bright side, the room had pretty much all we needed, was spacious, and offered a much appreciated balcony (where we used to have breakfast) looking out to beautiful sea view.

The Hotel: beautifully laid out and in sync with the serenity and natural beauty of Grand Gaube. We loved the fact that the structure of the hotel seemed to be an extension of the natural setting of the location as opposed to overpowering it.

Facilities: If you decide to spend your holiday within the hotel's premises, then there is plenty to do! Multiple beaches (more on that later) and pools, water-based activities (some free, some payable), tennis courts, a golf driving range, a games hall, and a cinema with daily screenings of movies / major international sporting events will most certainly keep you busy. Free wifi is always a plus!

Beaches: LUX Grand Gaube does not necessarily have the best beaches, if that is why you're choosing it. Waters are shallow, in some places muddy, with a lot of weed. Clarity isn't great either for snorkeling.

Staff: Reception staff are wonderful! they are helpful, warm and welcoming. Special thanks to Kishan - he was absolutely wonderful. Cafe / bar staff on the other hand seemed cold and uninterested almost every time. Getting my morning cup of coffee my way seemed like a chore!

Going the Extra Mile: there was something new arranged for guests almost every day, which was really nice to experience. A reception on the beach, outdoor cinema, a Mauritian folk dance, star-gazing, etc are all extra touches that make your stay a little more special.

Location: the hotel is quite far from major tourist hubs and other attractions in Mauritius. We did not want to spend all our time in the hotel and taxis were very expensive. If you choose to stay in LUX Grand Gaube and you wish to venture out, I would strongly recommend renting a car.

Overall... the room itself was not worth the price we paid for it. But in the grand scheme of things... in light of the overall hotel, its facilities, and the beautiful setting that we enjoyed every day, we had a good time. No regrets!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,240
    535
    119
    43
    16
See reviews for
688
2,720
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

We have recently returned from a 9 night holiday at Lux Grand Gaube. From the moment we arrived we relaxed into the wonderful ambience of the resort. Set on a lovely bay it is picture perfect. Yet there was never a time when we felt this was just another luxury hotel in an exotic destination, there were simply too many unexpected pleasures. A private cinema complete with popcorn, snorkelling, water skiing, yoga, guided walks and cycle rides (Bobo, thanks for sticking with us!) are just a few.
We stayed in a superior room, which was very comfortable with king size bed and nice bathroom. Toiletries are lovely and two bottles of water are provided each day. Beach/ pool towels come with the evening turn-down service so there is no annoying wait each morning for a towel station to open.
There was never a problem in finding a sunbed or parasol, and waiters ensured that we didn't have to move to get a drink.
We were on a half board basis and really enjoyed the food. Breakfast was a feast with an egg chef, a pancake chef, juice being squeezed and fruit prepared at station. Healthy options, fresh bread and a guitarist playing softly. Evening buffets were varied but always had fish, meat and vegetarian options. We had two meals at The Beach restaurant where they served not only excellent fish but also great pizza.
Sporting facilities were good with a golf driving range, excellent tennis courts, a gym and many water sports free of charge.
Sadly for us, we had three days of heavy rain but we were very impressed how the resort swung into an additional programme of daytime indoor activities from board games, table tennis tournaments, extra films for children. All guests had umbrellas and the staff worked endlessly to try and ensure floors stayed dry. Unfortunately the weather meant that some activities, such as the astronomer and a cinema under the stars, had to be cancelled so we will just have to go back again to try these.
Every evening there was different entertainment in the bar and visiting dancers twice a week that were very good. There is also a cocktail party once a week.
We found that all of the staff were helpful, warm and friendly and (thanks to the resort's policy of not tipping individual staff but recommending a single tip at the end of our stay to be shared by all staff) this was very genuine.
But our highest praise must be for Xavier the resident manager who was exemplary in his handling of anything out of the ordinary, from film crews to torrential downpours. His smile never faltered and he ensured he spoke to all the guests each day. He has ensured that nothing is too much trouble for any of his team.
We will undoubtedly return, hopefully later this year when the weather may be a little kinder.
To everyone at Lux Grand Gaube, thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Lux* Grande Gaube for 11 nights in April. I should add that we have been fortunate enough to have stayed in some amazing 5 star hotels throughout the world and are extensively travelled; it's fair to say that our expectations are high.

There are many positive comments made by other reviewers about the hotel with which we would agree. For us, the one thing that stood out amongst everything else was the exceptional service which we received from all members of staff. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until we came to leave.

Here is a summary of the key points:

Location - the hotel is based in the north west of Mauritius which is renowned for having good beaches. At the time of our visit the weather in the north tends to be the best on the island with plenty of sunshine, a lovely breeze and little rain. Transfer time from the airport to the hotel is approximately 1 hour 15 mins - this will be quicker once the bypass around Port Louis has been completed. The hotel offers a transfer by limousine but we booked our transfer online with www.taxismauritius.com at a cost of Euros 35 (each way).

Rooms - we upgraded to a Superior Ocean View room. The superior rooms are closest to the reception and the main beach and have the best views (as you would expect). The size of the room was adequate and the room was clean although the decor was looking a little tired and in need of modernisation. The complimentary toiletries are of a very good quality.

Restaurants - on the half board option you can either eat in the main restaurant (the Kitchen) which offers a themed buffet or book one of the a la carte restaurants (Karma, The Beach and Abalone) where some of the dishes (i.e tiger prawns, lobster, steak etc) come at a supplement. All of the food was outstanding both in terms of flavour and presentation with a service to match.

Half board/all inclusive - we deliberated at the time of booking as to the choice of dining options. However, on reflection we are glad we booked the half board option. Breakfast is so extensive (as are the evening meals) that we really couldn't have eaten much for lunch and snacks from the local shop at lunchtime were more than adequate (along with the free water, fruit etc).

Drinks - drinks for those on the half board option are not cheap. A pint of Phoenix (excellent locally brewed beer) will set you back approx £6 a pint and cocktails are between £8 and £10. A bottle of wine is approx £30. In comparison, a bottle of a beer from the local shop (see tip below) was 25 MRs (50p). The bars offer a very extensive choice of cocktails and spirits and the standard of all the drinks (especially the coffee) is high.

Activities - the hotel offers a very extensive array of activities which are advertised daily. None of the activities are intrusive nor do they spoil the peace and quiet of the resort (save for the aqua aerobics at the quieter beach - but it only lasts for 30 mins!). There is vast selection of watersports with great attention paid to safety. All of the equipment (including life jackets) is in excellent condition. The guys at the boat house are really friendly and provide an excellent service. They are also happy to provide free tuition. Both my partner and I can now sail a catamaran and water ski thanks to them.

The Beach - as many of the previous reviews have already stated, the sea is tidal (the times of high and low tides are advertised at the boat house). At low tide you cannot swim save at the main beach where there is quite a lot of seaweed but there are 2 decent size pools - the quieter pool being near the Banyan Tree.

Spa - my partner booked a massage with the 'Spa Me'. She thought the service was mediocre and the staff attempted to charge her full price having offered the massage at a special promotional rate.

Trips - some places worth visiting (and not too far from the hotel) include Grande Baie (but not on a Sunday when the shops are closed), Pamplemouses (the botanical gardens) and Goodlands (which has an open air market twice a week).

Some tips:

- if the hotel is full, book the a la carte restaurants as soon as possible at the start of your stay to guarantee your choice of restaurant. Menus for all the restaurants are available to view at reception;
- enjoy fresh coconuts and pineapple (free of charge) which are prepared by a chef every morning at the back of the main beach;
- cold water can be found in what looks like a BBQ amongst the hammocks by the main beach and by the Banyan tree at the quieter beach;
- all of the watersports (kayaking, pedalo, catamaran, water skiing, glass bottom boat, water skiing etc) are free so use them ! The water skiing is limited to 2-3 hours a day and the time changes due to high/low tide. Go skiing around lunchtime to avoid a wait;
- tennis - book tennis courts in advance (1 day max) - the best time of the day to play is 5/6 pm, floodlighting is free of charge and bring your own balls (to avoid being charged);
- use the games room - often not discovered by many guests but located next to the gym. The room is air-conditioned and has 2 pool tables, table tennis and a games machine;
- hire a mountain bike by the tennis courts (max 1 hour) and turn right out of the main entrance and cycle for 10-15 minutes until you come to a local shop on your left called 'Basing Hill'. It stocks everything your local corner shop would stock including a great selection of crisps, peanuts and booze (at a fraction of what the hotel charges);
- check the board outside the Kitchen for a summary of the day's activities (including aqua aerobics, yoga, Tai Chi, painting with an artist etc) as well as a daily weather forecast;
- visit the cinema behind the Kitchen (which is a proper cinema) as well as the cinema beneath the stars (outdoor screen and seating near the Banyan tree);
- hail a taxi from outside the main gate (where the price is cheaper) and practice your haggling skills. Note that having a driver (who will wait for you while you shop/sightsee for say 4-5 hours) will cost around 1,500 MR (approx £34 on current exchange rates). The taxi drivers can also arrange other trips again at a fraction of the cost charged by the hotel;
- try the unusual flavours of sorbet served from a traditional ice cream cart on a bike (its arrival is heralded by a horn to raise you from your sunbed) - flavours include passion fruit and chili, lemon and basil, tamarind and chocolate.

Overall, the hotel has so much to offer and it clearly prides itself on outstanding customer service. We throughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel - so much so that we are already planning on returning in April 2013.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Superior Ocean View rooms for an amazing view when you open your curtains in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rob007Kent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Lux Grand Gaube, is nice located resort, with all rooms sea facing, offers absolute privacy. Rooms are spacious with private sit out or balcony. Various restaurant options, with a Beach club. Enjoyed African Folk dance in the evening, with drinks on the beach. Offers wi-fi free in all rooms. Very good services.

Room Tip: Please choose superior rooms , it is lovely view and access to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArpitaChowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rørvik, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Lux Grand Gaube - 18 days in March 2012.
The service from the staff was very good; they all were very nice, friendly and helpful - all the time from check-in until departure.
A recommandation: Try a 1-day "private cruise " with Tom - you will meet him by the boat-house!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svein55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
61.9 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,891 reviews
18.2 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
1.5 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 2 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
17.6 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
8.2 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#3 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price range (per night): $171 - $925
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing