We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
551
160
40
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
160
40
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews austral suite boutique hotel colonial style our honeymoon half board beachfront room small hotel outdoor shower free boat shuttle hobie cat great boutique mauritian buffet degrees south private jacuzzi tea and cake free standing bath boutique nature
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Our first stay on Mauritius was at Sugar Beach and I have already written about that very positive experience. We are now in a hotel on the north of the island, the hotel in question being 20 Degrees South.
This is a very much smaller establishment but lacks nothing. Our room opens directly onto the beach and is adjacent to the restaurant. Being a comparatively small hotel it is delightfully quiet, with a warm, blue calm sea.
The hotel has a complementary sailing boat shuttle service to take you across the bay if you have the need to shop or explore further afield plus the use of bikes should you wish to investigate the local environment.
Buffet breakfasts are something to savour and a long, slow breakfast will keep you going all day. A superb selection of foods and drinks with excellent service from the extremely cheerful and friendly staff.
The a la carte evening menu is superb (I must admit here that my evening choice would once again be a buffet - but that is only because I am ‘not refined ‘) and as at Sugar Beach, guests are expected to dress for the occasion. A far nicer dining experience because of it.
Beautifully ‘chic’ room with a large modern double bed, bath (deep enough to swim in) plus all the usual quality ‘paraphernalia’ to be expected in a high quality hotel.
It has a very ‘family feel’ above the running and staff and guests become acquainted very quickly.
Would I recommend this hotel ... yes, unreservedly we would like to stay. Each day, the weather forecast has been slightly negative but I guess this hotel has its own microclimate. Occasionally clouds protect us from the searing heat but sunshine wins on a daily basis! Fabulous!

Room Tip: Beachfront room
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier G, Director of Sales at 20 Degres Sud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear Alan R,

We would like to start by thanking you for choosing the 20 Degrés Sud - Relais & Châteaux for your stay in Mauritius.

We are more than happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience you had with us. Feedbacks from our valued guest are always most welcomed.

Your positive review gives us an immense pleasure that we will not miss to share with our team. In fact, we do our best to make our guests to feel welcomed and most importantly at home!

Again, we thank you for your kind review on our charming boutique hotel.

Warm regards,

Xavier G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

holet interior is very cozy. room was clean. we had half board. breakfast was very ordinary but good: eggs cooked for your choice, crepes, selection of fresh fruits and so on. dinner was good as well specially Mauritius cuisine open buffet which was amazing!!! but i recommend to try menu position with extra pay, tgey are not expansive like under 10$ but we felt the difference. tea hour pies were terrible: very simple, uncooked dough, tasteless. in general your sweet tooth will not be satisfied evet at dinner. desserts are very simplified, ice cream is bad with piece of ice.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier G, Guest Relation Manager at 20 Degres Sud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear Maya,

Thank you for having taken time reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Furthermore, we note your comments in regards to the pies and ice cream. This will help us provide a better service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

After Luxe le Morne this was just what we needed. We spent 5 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The upstairs suite was extremely spacious, clean, comfortable and private. Our balcony was a Godsend as we had a stunning view over the bay to the township in the distance. When the weather was inclement we had a huge balcony to ourselves. I think the only other room we had "roomenvy" for was the one below with a private pool and direct access to the beach.
The Hotel is boutique , refurbished and the staff were wonderful. The GM was on hand every day speaking with all the guests and generally making everyone's stay a pleasure. Breakfast was a buffet style with a pretty good selection, lunch and dinner menu's were fantastic and the cellar selection outstanding. The entertainment during "Happy Hour" was not too intrusive if you wanted a quiet drink. We would definitely go back, but maybe a little earlier in the season as it gets windy nearing the rainy season.

Room Tip: Room with beach access and private pool.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier G, Director of Sales at 20 Degres Sud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear tony f,

Thank you very much for your kind review on your recent experience at the 20 Degrés Sud - Relais & Châteaux.

We are delighted and honoured to read that you have enjoyed every moment and aspect of your stay with us. had an enjoyable stay with us and that our services, as well as our hospitality was up to your expectations.

We sincerely appreciate your comments and hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Xavier G



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Despite 4 days of heavy wind and rain we greatly enjoyed our 2 weeks at '20 Degrees Sud' during January 2018. The staff are professional and friendly; the setting by the sea is idyllic and relaxing the meals provide a good choice of local and international cuisine; and the hotel has small boats for guests (a Hobie Cat; a Topper , canoes etc).

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RichardLegge914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier G, Director of Sales at 20 Degres Sud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Dear RichardLegge914,

Thank you for your positive feedbacks on your experience with us.

We are glad to read that you have had an enjoyabe stay with us and that our services have met your expectations.

It is with great pleasure that we shall share your impressions with our team.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you very soon.

Warm regards,

Xavier G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

This is a small boutique hotel with lovely rooms styled as shabby chic crossed with french. Lots of white simplicity and great touches such as outdoor showers and roll top baths. Beach is small but good selection of sunbeds if you can fight off the people who put their towels out at 7am. Stylish pools and plenty of water activities. Dinner is mostly good quality but breakfast needs some attention, particularly the eggs.....beware the poached egg! Service a bit erratic but always with a smile. We would return but would take our own beach towels (they run out at 11am) and would have the delicious smoked Marlin for breakfast but without the eggs. Perfect spot to hide and relax.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier G, Director of Sales at 20 Degres Sud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear mishm54,

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the 20 Degrés Sud - Relais & Châteaux.

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that the charm of our hotel leaves up to your expectations. Thank you for highlighting the quality of our fine cuisine which conveys a distinctive style and our diverse activities. We also appreciate your compliments on the 'smiles' of team members.

Please rest assured that we taken good note of your comments in regards to our breakfast service as we strive to remedy the situation in order to provide the best service to our valued guests.

We will be more than happy to welcoming you again, for another getaway.

Warm regards,

Xavier G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews