We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (2,184)
Filter reviews
2,184 results
Traveller rating
1,195
695
172
68
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,195
695
172
68
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfort room fashion show privilege room glass bottom boat head chef the hotel manager dance floor entertainment team evening entertainment small beach special thanks walk along the beach boat house la cuvette family room plenty of sunbeds kids club
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 2,184 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

This hotel does not look anything like the pictures. Its small with nothing going on at all. We had a damp room with mold all over the ceiling. This then started to spread to our clothes. We asked to move room but was told the hotel was full. The food was freezing cold!! We complained on our second day to be told "sorry to chefs forgot to turn on the hot plates" the variety of food was terrible. If you want to eat rice, curry and veg for breakfast lunch and dinner then you will love this hotel. They dont serve chips or anything unless you ask for them but be prepared for a half an hour wait. The beach is as big as your back garden, if you want a sun bed on the beach you need to get up early. Only good thing about this hotel is the entertainment staff and bar staff!! very friendly and happy to help out where ever they can

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank vicki443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear guest,
We value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Additionally, while we are pleased to learn that you found the entertainment & bar staff helpful and friendly. We are especially disappointed to learn about the room and food issue. It seems that your stay coincided during the cyclone period and we apologise. We have forward your feedback to the rest of the team and we hope to be given another opportunity to welcome to experience all improvement in a different weather conditions.

Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We were 3 families at the hotel.
The positive things- the team is very kind and generous and tries its best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Good location at the grand baie.nice pool.

Unfortunately, the rooms are very small and not the cleanest. There us no room service at the hotel. The cleaners were not professional and did the minimum needed, breakfast is poor, too many mosquitos in the rooms, price was expensive to What We got....

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank talr768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear guest,
We value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Additionally, while we are pleased to learn that you like the hotel location and found our team kind and generous. We are concerned over the inconvenience you have encountered mainly with the room cleanliness and breakfast choices. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a better stay experience in future.

Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Returned from a fantastic 2 week stay with wife and "20 something" son and daughter.
Fantastic position for both a pool and beach experience. Hotel was apparently full, but with only 90 rooms did not feel crowded. Always plenty of choice of sunbeds, restaurant and bar were busy enough to give a great atmosphere, but not too crowded that you could not find anywhere to sit.
Food excellent and varied with some great local influences.
Staff were fantastic, especially Parwan, Brian and Amit in the bar. Staff in the bar were also excellent, always smiling and friendly during long shifts! It was my 60th birthday when we were there, we had Lobster on the beach, and staff made sure it was a special occasion.
Some free water sports, and a had great value day out on a Catamaran trip to deserted islands surrounded by amazing coral reefs for snorkelling.
Threatened by Cyclone Buergitta, was not as severe as originally thought, but affected by rain and very strong winds for a couple of days. Staff kept us regularly informed of the Cyclones progress, and made sure that safety was paramount.
All in all a fantastic experience, thank you Veranda Grand Baie

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Good afternoon Andy,
Thank you for the fabulous review. We have passed on your appreciation to the bar staff. This is what we love hearing... that our staff helped make your stay memorable! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experiences, we appreciate all your compliments about the resort. We are impatient to welcome you soon again

Warmest regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

I've been to mauritius on many occasions and this hotel was slightly below expectation.

Service and location was excellent but the entire hotel is little outdated and stuck in the 80s.

Pricey for what I call a 3 star hotel. Dinner at the hotel for 1 was 1200 rupees.. even if one takes a taxi to the a restaurant it would be cheaper.

The pool area is the best with constant activities and a view to die.

Overall I enjoyed my stay.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mohammed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Good afternoon Mr Mohammed,
We have taken good note of your comments regarding the diner price. However we are happy that you really like the pool and view overlooking the bay. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I think it would be nice to know that we have planned to refurbish the hotel next year in June and we look forward to welcome you again next year.

Best regards
Vikash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

loved the location. only 1 thing....tea/coffee is charged for in the room. :-(
paddleboats and other water activities only offered at certain times. we could only use the paddleboats from 12h30 and its extremely hot! safety in the water is of an issue because they dont provide you with life jackets. staff were superb and very helpful and friendly! will definitely return..

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank farida-eventplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Good afternoon Farida,
We are happy to have contributed to a memorable holiday for your first visit to out hotel. Thank you for your constructive feedback. We look forward to welcome you again for another memorable stay.

Warmest regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews