We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay more if you want to be ok”
Review of Ocean Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Villas
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Grand Baie
Escalante
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pay more if you want to be ok”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I am spanish so my English is not as good as i would like.
The hotel is ok : the swimming pool, the bar, the private beach, breakfast, the garden and specially the STAFF( very friendly and helpful ).
I advice you not to take the basic rooms, the ones above the recepcion area. They are really basic and from 5 in the morning you can`t sleep : a lot of light coming in from everywhere, a lot of noise from the road, a lot of noise also from the birds on the roof,...
We had to change rooms and we saw lots of people doing the same as we did. So we had to pay 75 euros extra per night. The other room was quite nice but too expensive in my opinion.
For the price i paid, we have much better rooms in Spain.
Anyway, i really enjoyed my stay in Mauritius and also at the ocean beach hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarisolEscalante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    117
    64
    36
    28
See reviews for
75
169
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We were very impressed with the room, expecially the bathroom which has been recently renovated. In particular the shower rose was large and very enjoyable to shower under. The egg chef at breakfast was very friendly and did nice omlettes too. We got to experience dinner and were impressed by the effort in creating a positive atmosphere with a local band and the food themes are great too. The young, shy housekeeper did a wonderful job in cleaning our room. She even polished the tapware which were shining like new.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellotsallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We found Ocean Villas after an extensive online search and booked via their website on a bed and breakfast basis. We paid 653 Euros for 9 night's accommodation, including airport transfers, which was amazing value. Please note that this is a low season rate, and only available when booking directly on their website. We did not expect a lot at that price, but when we arrived, we were blown away!

Doo, the man meeting us at the airport for the transfer, was very friendly and told us about the different parts of Mauritius as we drove through them. Upon arrival as Ocean Villas, we were given a welcome drink (which was welcome indeed) and the check in proceeded smoothly. We were shown around by Jean Paul - the resort consists of a few basic rooms in the main building, and a number of larger villas that provide some self-catering facilities. Most of these are facing a nice pool and the bar and restaurant area. There is another part of the resort where some newly renovated rooms are situated with their own pool area. However, we were staying at the bungalow on the beach call Nid d'Amour - our room was perfect! We had an amazing view of the bay. The beach was only 10m from our doorstep and we had our own private patio where we would sit in the evenings with a cocktail in hand and enjoy the sound of the sea. The room is air conditioned and has a lovely king sized bed. There is also a good sized bar fridge, a kettle and a microwave, so one can do some basic self-catering and keep the beers cold!

The breakfast at the resort was good, consisting of fresh juices, yoghurt, French bread, pastries, fresh fruit, pancakes, eggs, bacon and sausages. We ate dinner at the hotel on one occasion - we found it quite expensive as we were not on full board. The meal was ok, but we would recommend that you skip the resort dinners and head into Grand Baie itself for dinner - there are some excellent places to eat. Or, failing that, head to Super U and pick up a French loaf, some of the excellent (and well-priced) cheeses and some smoked marlin, and have a picnic on the beach under the moonlight.

There is a private beach at Ocean Villas with coconut trees, very comfortable lounge chairs and thatch umbrellas. The sea in Grand Baie is very calm and shallow which made it nice for swimming. We spent a lot of time on the beach and found it very convenient to be in close proximity to our room and the hotel facilities. Guests are also invited to go on free trips in a glass-bottomed boat which includes snorkelling at the reef in the bay.

Ocean Villas is located on the western side of Grand Baie, close to Pointe aux Cannoniers. There is a bus stop about 50m from the hotel entrance, and we took the bus almost daily. It is a wonderfully cheap way to get around. Opposite the hotel are two restaurants - La Langouste Grisee, for fine dining, and La Casetta, for pizzas and pastas. There are also a number of other restaurants within walking distance (1-2 km). We felt very safe in the area and walked around often in the evenings.

We were sad when it came time to leave Ocean Villas and definitely recommend this resort for its excellent value, great location and lovely beach.

Room Tip: Couples should try to book the love nest - Nid d'Amour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-fantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We were persuaded to book 2 nights here at the airport. From the brochure it looked lovely, but of course the price reflected the room which was above the reception front door, on the busy road (either room number 1 or 5). The traffic was very noisy and to top it all there were birds or rats scratching on top of the roof the entire night. I barely slept an hour the whole night. The room was very small and there was no mattress protector, which is unbelievable for a hotel. Imagine all those sweaty nights spent on a mattress which is only covered by an old threadbare sheet. The sheet and pillow covers may have been clean, but they were smelly. We were moved to a quieter room above the reception area, away from the road, which was much better, but still no mattress protector. The breakfast was okay, a bit tatty and disappointing. I'd rather go back to Ti Fleur, which isn't on the beach (just across the road), but is very clean and cheaper. Otherwise, Le Beach Club is so much better, especially if you get a room on the beach. Idyllic swimming.

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Baie hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed at Ocean Villas for 9 nights. The rooms are really nice and have aircon - which was necessary as it gets so hot and humid on Mauritius. It is definitely a good value for the money. The food in the restaurant was rather average - but the service friendly. There is a small private beach to the hotel - but it is really small and as it is in the bay of Grand Baie the water is quiet like in a lake and there is no open sea with waves. I would nevertheless stay there again - you are very central and can go everywhere from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maren-Maus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
2.0 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,349 reviews
1.2 km away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
2.0 km away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
3.2 km away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
500 reviews
0.6 km away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Villas

Property: Ocean Villas
Address: Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#13 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
Price range (per night): $116 - $248
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Villas Hotel Grand Baie
Ocean Hotel Grand Baie
Ocean Villas Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing