We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull food and super waiter”

Gourmet Grill Mauritius
Ranked #6 of 164 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 18 - USD 30
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: This is a nice & festive restaurant with lots of character located in the famous Banana Beach Club. The Gourmet Grill is much more than a grill, we feature local seafood and weekly specials. Our menu includes Seafood Risotto, Camarons (Giant fresh water shrimps), Sushi, Lobster, fresh Foie Gras, and tasty vegetarian dishes. For lovers of beef our Steaks, Entrocote and Burgers are legendary made with the best Australian beef. For deserts you have to try the Fondant or the Banana Nut Flambe, we do have a great homemade NY Cheese cake and French apple tart as well. The musical decor displays the owners passion for music with a collection of memorabilia. A little warning for the light hearted, being part of the Banana it can be a bit noisy and festive later in the evening with live music and an active bar scene. The Banana a lively night spot so do plan to stay on for a memorable night out. Bon Appetite!
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

The groumet grill is a little slice of heaven nested close to the banana club were u can listen to live music and enjoy wonderfull food, the palmheart with shrimp (plantation platter), the risitto, the wonderfull rum flambe all served by the ever delightfull head waiter Jean Francois one of the best conversationalists we ever had a chance to meet and who keeps a smile on your faces all night long... would definitly come back (and we did)

Thank Eddydac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your dinner enough to come back and see us again, and thanks for mentioning Jean Francois he has worked at the restaurant for over 20 years. We do hope to see you again soon, all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

The first couple of days in Grand Bay we just walked by this place, thinking it was only a bar. Actually the bar, Banana Beach Club, very famous for its live music, is connected to the restaurant and it is a must visit if you are in GB. The food is fantastic, especially their steaks comes highly recommended, they are so tender that you can chew them even if you don't have any teeth. When finished dining you can enjoy the live music while having a drink or two. Price is a little to the high end for some, but absolutely worth the money.

Thank Klaj2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your great recommendation, we do appreciate your taking the time to review us and giving us your very kind recommendation. Some can be a little confused and even put off by the view from the street since, as you said the Banana is in front, so thank you for pointing that out. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed the Banana after dinner we are very proud of her and what she has become. We hope to see you back again soon, all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Cool place with a great atmosphere! I had the salmon and I promise it was the best salmon I have EVER eaten! Lovely attentive waitors. I have clicked on 'cheap eats' as it was ridiculously cheap, would have paid at least double!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank juhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Oh its fantastic to read your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your dinner with us and loved the atmosphere, that means a lot to us. its also great to hear that you found us a good value for money, with most products imported it is very expensive to run a restaurant such as this in Mauritius. We do hope that you will return to see us very soon. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Delicious food made by an awesome chef. He makes the best creamed spinach EVER!
All served up by the very slick Jean Francois. He runs a smooth restaurant.
Live music and a DJ set to finish the night. What more could you ask

Thank shazcarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Wow..thanks so much for your great review, we do appreciate your taking the time to review us. We are very proud of our chef who runs a great staff and puts out superb food night after night with pride unwaivering energy. We are blessed to have chef Payen and very thankful to have the staff we have along with the atmosphere of the restaurant and the Banana accompanying her. I am personally so happy to see that you enjoyed the restaurant and finished your evening with live music and DJ Henri at the Banana, what more could I ask for? We hope to see you back soon, all the best to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at the Gourmet Grill and had a fantastic night. The food was amazing (thumbs up for the beef carpaccio and for the wine reduction served with the delicious beef fillet ;)) and the service was very professional (we really appreciated the soup and the garlic focaccia served as hors d'oeuvres while waiting for our dishes). The restaurant was crowded but the staff always made sure that we were ok.
The live band playing at the Banana makes for a relaxed and jazzy atmosphere.
Very nice place

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gaittet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thanks so much for your amazing review we very much appreciate your taking the time and mentioning so many positive things about your experience. We are so pleased to know that you had a fantastic night and enjoyed the food and felt that the service was up to par, especially since as you pointed out the restaurant was crowded. The restaurant can be very busy on the weekends and during the week in high season, however we do try to keep our service level as high as possible. Its also great to hear that you enjoyed the live music at the Banana since music is at the heart of what we do. We do hope to see you back again soon, all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Grill Mauritius also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Pereybere, Grand Baie
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Gourmet Grill Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing