We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Official Site
Travelocity
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,683)
Filter reviews
3,683 results
Traveller rating
2,640
716
195
85
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,640
716
195
85
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teak elephant le sirius water sports thai restaurant wild beach water skiing sirius restaurant all inclusive package golf course main bar a la carte restaurants porto vecchio our honeymoon le grand port close to the airport our favourite tennis courts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,405 - 1,410 of 3,683 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Spent 2 weeks here in May with my husband. First time at a beach resort. This hotel is isolated and down a 2 mile narrow road through high sugar cane with the only options for going out limited to taxi or hiring a car, no opportunity to take a walk anywhere. Tour operators on site were very unhelpful and would give no information on what we could do. Our room was large with good facilities (although it took 3 days to finally get our air conditioning fixed!) and was kept very clean twice daily. Buffet restaurant was the worst we have ever experienced, with eggs very undercooked, we gave up eventually! Did not like Sirius restaurant food, Italian was good and the Thai restaurant the best. All in all, definitely not our type of holiday and one we would not experience again.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

My Husband and I went to Shandrani in November 2014 for a 2 week, all inclusive Honeymoon.

In 2011 my husband stayed at Shandrani and loved it so much that he thought it would be perfect for us - it also coincided with the start of their Summer, so we booked.

On arrival we were met with Cocktails while we were checked in and given vouchers for a free gift in the gift shop (I think everyone who is on Honeymoon gets this and its a nice touch).

The good points about Shandrani are: The staff (for the most part) are lovely, a great selection of restaurants, its so big you don't feel like you're on a resort, the rooms are lovely, the communal areas are really well kept, the Wifi is good in the rooms.

The not so good points are: Although the restaurants are lovely, the main buffet restaurnat (that you will mainly eat at) doesn't have a great deal of variety and if you're all inclusive this can get a little boring. Not all of the restaurants were open at lunch time, meaning you were forced to eat at the buffet. There was no wifi in the communal areas, there was no air-con anywhere apart from your room, it was difficult to stock the mini bar in your room as the automated phone service didn't always work properly.

We also used the Spa as we had complimentary treatments as part of our all inclusive package to use and we chose to have full body massages. That was lovely and the Spa was really beautiful.

On one day in our second week we decided to take a boat trip to Il Aux Cerf - further up the coast and this was booked through the resort. It was a good price and out guide was lovely. He plied us with rum punch and had some humorous stories. Our boat was called "One Love" which was really cute.

All in all I enjoyed my 2 week stay here, it was just a shame that the restaurants were a bit of a let down due to not always being open - quite frustrating when you're there for a longer break and would like a bit of variety.

Room tip: Upgrade your room to a deluxe - really worth the money!
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole_Drama_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We came to the Shandrani for the first week of our 3 week Mauritian honeymoon. Overall, we had a nice stay, though there was quite a lot of inconsistency in terms of the attitude of staff and the service and we could not help thinking that many things were much more expensive than they needed to be.

What you need to know: the hotel is located to the south of the SSR international airport, so it is pretty much isolated in miles of sugar cane in all directions. In addition, there are quite a few flights leaving daily so if you do not want to see aircraft every day on your holiday, then this place is not for you. That said, the flight path didn't affect us too much. The location of the hotel should not affect you if you are on full board. We were on bed and breakfast only as we wanted to experience Mauritius on our honeymoon, instead of be locked in a hotel eating in the same restaurants.

Thank God we hired a car is all that I can say as after two dinners in the hotel, we felt no inclination to eat there again. The thai restaurant served good food but at a set menu priced at £30 a head and no other choices and a complete absence of anything other than dry red wine (not a single Pinotage, Malbec, or full-bodied Cabernet) on the wine list, we felt underwhelmed, especially for a 5 star hotel. The Mauritian restaurant at the southern end of the resort was better located, with a beautiful view and friendly staff, but the food was quite bland (having later tried real Mauritian food in local restaurants) and overpriced.

The breakfast was generally good, with quite a lot of variety though if you came later, often the fruit was not replenished, or had been out for a long time and had dried out. The eggs were very good but we found the breakfast staff varied enormously from very friendly and charming to cold and clinical.

We were disappointed at the lack of bar lunches as most days we were still full from breakfast and just wanted a snack - the last thing we wanted was to have another large, expensive sit-down meal that we won't be able to finish. Alas, the bar snacks were only available from 3pm to 5pm - seemingly strategically designed to extort more money from you at the restaurants.

Credit where credit is due - the sports trips were great fun and Patrick was friendly and knowledgeable. We went on a bike trip to the natural rock bridge which was gorgeous - a wild rocky coastline with phenomenal waves crashing into the cliffs - simply beautiful. To get there,we went through sugar cane fields and Patrick told us about the history of the island, both geological and agricultural, which was all very interesting. Note: bring bug spray.

We also went with Patrick to Ile Aux Aigrettes, which was great. A protected island dedicated to conservation efforts of NGOs such as Durrell. We saw many endemic birds including the endangered pink pigeon and the olive white eye, and met Big Daddy, the enormous tortoise thought to be between 150 and 200 years old! Definitely worth a visit and reasonably priced. Don't forget some money for the shop on the island to help further their research and conservation and get a keepsake at the same time!

We found the beaches at the hotel quite nice, particularly the ones towards the south as they were less busy. We found the main beach in front of the main buffet restaurant unappealing as the boat owners were too persistent for my liking and constantly tried to convince you to go on a boat trip with them, even when you were clearly relaxing.

WE thought the boathouse staff were FANTASTIC. I learned to wakeboard thanks to their patience, great advice and friendliness. They even made a huge fort to fit is in at the end of the day when we had lost track of time on the beach. Couldn't recommend the water sports enough - they are a lovely team and it's super fun!

We went on one dive and although it was beautiful and we went through a few tiny canyons (pretty cool), the dive master was not as conscious of air remaining as he perhaps should have been with 2 newly qualified PADI divers on the dive. We voiced our concerns to the establishments and they assured us this was the first concerning event in 10 years, so perhaps it was an unlucky one off. If you do dive with them, just make sure you check your own air very regularly and inform the dive master by actively swimming up to him and showing him.

A huge benefit of the resort for me was the copious green space bursting with wildlife. I went on many morning walks to photograph the birds and reptiles and it makes you feel far from a densely populated resort and at one with nature.

We were surprised to find that Wifi in our room was exceptionally slow and that there was no Wifi in the public places in the hotel.

On balance, we had a pleasant stay but there was some room for improvement.

Room tip: Ground floor rooms have little privacy - go for first or second floor.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Excellent unmatched hospitality, good liquor available through the day (complimentary!) and a huge property, so even when it's at 80% occupancy you don't find it crowded. Try and get a Deluxe room - they're huge, and the proximity to the garden / beach is a big plus!
The food (for vegetarians) wasn't as exciting, but you won't go hungry here!
Complimentary (& unlimited!) glass bottom boat rides as well as snorkelling add to the excitement!
Great place to go no matter who you're with - whether it's a couple, friends, or even with family & kids. We went with a 3 yr. old who had a great time!

Date of stay: September 2014
5  Thank JediKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

This resort is located in the most magical lagoon for snorkeling, if you're looking for a quiet relaxing holiday this is the place. Beautiful beaches, the staff is incredibly accommodating and friendly. We chose the all inclusive package which was well worth it. The food was absolutely delicious, everything on offer, and staff willing to cater for your desires. So many beach activities available. I would come back I'm a heart beat.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank shannonhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews