We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,364)
Filter reviews
1,364 results
Traveller rating
1,087
172
62
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,087
172
62
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool garden suite our honeymoon salt water pool beach front sorbet f b spa staff front office special thanks port louis executive chef breakfast and dinner restaurant staff the general manager memorable stay steam room
Filter
Updating list...
851 - 856 of 1,364 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Angsana Balaclava is in my opinion quite simply fantastic.

Starting with it's location: It is far enough from any village to give you the (accurate) feeling of beeing out in the beautiful mauritian nature (you won't hear any noise apart from the waves of the sea) and yet it takes just a 15-20 minute drive to be in the middle of the lively capital city Port Louis. The hotel is situated right on the beach, fantastic views from your terrace and sunsets included.

The hotel is rather small which is perfect for anyone who doesn't like big crowds and feeling like a mass tourist. I guess you could call it a boutique hotel, all it's rooms are suites of unbelievable quality (since we were there quite early, we got the chance of seeing different rooms). Very spacious, top quality furniture, lovely bathrooms (which actually feel more like little spas than just bathrooms). And if you can manage to get either a Seafront Suite or a Spa Suite, you will get your own private pool! Perfect for relaxation after a day of exploring the island.

The different restaurants are very good too, serving a well balanced mixture of kreol (local mauritian), asian, indian and european/western food of excellent quality.

The staff is just excellent, friendly nearly beyond belief, well informed, very competent and anticipatory. Sometimes they seemed to know what we wanted almost before we did ourselves.

If you feel like relaxing and enjoying the sun, you've got the beach and the sea right in front of your room as well as two swimming pools, one fresh water, one salt water (actually three pools, counting the private one on your terrace) and the beautiful Spa.

Should you feel more explorative and adventurous, you can either still stay at the hotel and take advantage of the (free) bike rides, snorkeling/boating tours or other water sport facilities. Or you can take one of the taxis waiting by the hotel and explore this fantastic tropic island. These taxis are in close contact to the hotel management and know the island like the back of they're hand. For fixed and very reasonable fees, they'll show you whatever you like to see and will act as your private driver all day long (shopping, nature, cities, you name it)!

Bearing in mind that the hotel had only been open for about a month when we stayed there and will certainly have improved even more by now, I can absolutely recommend it to everyone who is looking for a top class hotel in Mauritius. Should I spend another holiday in Mauritius, I know where I would stay.

Room Tip: Try to get either a Seafront Suite or Spa Suite since they both feature a fantastic private pool.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Olivier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruud H, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you and your partner were able to have a relaxing and rejuvenating time with us and that you found Angsana Balaclava to be exceptional overall.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you felt the personal touch from our various departments.
We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our resort and services, in particular about the quality of our rooms, the excellent food and service minded staff. Your gracious comments have been passed to them, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.


Yours sincerely,



Ruud Hulscher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is my first time writing a review. However, before I book a hotel I always look at Tripadvisor. We arrived at the hotel with a certain amount of trepidation as it has only been opened a couple of months. These were quickly put aside after 5 minutes. The GM (Ruud) and manager (Khamlesh) quickly welcomed us to the hotel as we were checking. This level of attention is what one expects, but doesn't always get. We had a garden suite with a fantastic balcony. The room was very nicely furnished and planned. We were able to have two children and two adults in the room without feeling cramped. Khamlesh was there to assist and both the GM and manager don't just stay in their offices as they walk around the resort.

The pools were excellent and it is interesting to note that one was a salt water pool. The kids were in the pools all day and because of the nature of the resort there were few guests at the pool. That is to say that many people have private pools.

The meals were nice and dinner often was the highlight of the day. The head chef "Chef" was service minded and made spaghetti bolognaise for our youngest son. Nothing was a problem. Nicolas and his assistant Trishin make sure everything functions. If there is a problem, tell them and they will correct it.

The resort has kayaking and water skiing as well as small beach.

We had a relaxing visit.

In terms of future development, perhaps the resort can offer an all-inclusive package in the future or a full board package as like the other resorts in Mauritius wine and food is not inexpensive. Having said that, if the latter is a problem, perhaps one is not at the right resort or in the "right" country.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stockholm1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

It was my first time in mauritius and i ve really like it.
The food was excellent and all the staffs was kind.
I really like Preetam who took good care of me.
Roopesh a very talented boy who plays piano for breakfast and its a really good standard.
And the yoga class was very good and its a great performance by Roopesh who shows a great energy in the morning.
Special thanks to all the staff and to the spa services.
From Lilin

Room Tip: if you want to get a good service choose the room 319.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lilin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Still new but very promising!!! The service is excellent. The personnel is very courteous, the food exquisite, the room is modern and hi-tech & the spa is a pure Jewel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Veronique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed there on 31 Dec 2012. Given hotel just opened there are some fine tunings to be completed. Room is quite comfy and service was good. Notwithstanding low occupancy the Chef provided a superb buffet on the 31st - foie gras, oysters, caviar, giant shrimps, lamp chop, steaks etc... Breakfast was up to standard. To make up for the few minor incidents, we were all offered all you can drink champagne + other drinks. Manager of Boat House quite helpful. Those who hate crowds and do not need to play tennis or take advantage of a kids club will appreicate this hotel.

Room Tip: Room with sea view may be worth the additional cost since private pool and jaccuzi included.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CCFC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews