We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop here if you haven't experienced it!”
Review of Mac's Drive-In

Mac's Drive-In
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Another great dinner at Mac's Drive-In. We didn't have the drive-in experience, but it looks like fun - you pull up and they attach the trays like the old-time drive-in dinner places! We had a club sandwich (very good) and cheese steak sandwich (delicious). The macaroni salad is really good - house made. Great milkshakes and root beer floats as well. Price point - great - cheap eats - we ate for ~$24 with tip (and we had a milkshake too). Nice stop!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

We have driven by many times. Decided to sit out front (nice weather) and it was a good decision. Reminds you of a 50's drive in.....we loved it! Portions are plentiful and the Richardson's root beer is served in frosted mugs. Delicious! Will definitely stop again!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 447charlenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

First time here. Wanted to stop many times. Good prices and good portions. You can park out back for car window service or eat at picnic table. Great nostalgia type atmosphere.good service. Take cash or personal check. Do not accept credit or debit. We did not know, luckily there was an atm nearby.will be back again. Be sure to read the history of Macs on back,side of menu.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Fun old time place for milkshakes, rootbeer floats & baskets. Our group had shrimp, cheeseburger & philly cheesesteak. Shrimp was great, fried were ok at best. Great shakes & floats.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank LPLoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We stop by on a warm and sunny Sunday afternoon for lunch. This is the first time I had been to Mac's but I had heard a lot of various opinions. The atmosphere is great, you can either choose to stay in your car and be served in the drive in area or take a seat at the counter or nearby tables. We chose the counter which is bustling with servers working on people's orders. It is fun to watch. I ordered the fish basket (fish sandwich, fries and cup of coleslaw) and a large Richardson rootbeer while my companion ordered the double burger (lettuce, tomato, cheese, pickle with added bacon) and a side of onion rings and a banana milkshake. I saw some fish dinners being put together with great looking pieces of fish so I was excited only to be disappointed that I got the equivalent of a Filet O Fish in a bun for the fish basket. The fries were not cooked enough so they were slightly soggy. Coleslaw was decent but in small quantity. The double burger was cooked correctly and was tasty and messy, just as expected. The onion rings were a standout being crisp and flavorful. The rootbeer was a little flat but tasty and the banana milkshake was great although my companion mentioned he should have had them add a little chocolate syrup to the mix. Overall Mac's has a good and entertaining environment but just keep in mind the food is of average quality.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malizki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mac's Drive-In also viewed

Waterloo, Finger Lakes
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 
Waterloo, Finger Lakes
 
Waterloo, Finger Lakes
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mac's Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing