We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The position is the best - directly at the sea, reef, good possibilities for snorkeling and diving, windsurfing.., very kind and helpful staff at the water sport centre.
Rooms - nice, spacious,good minibar, also service - the greatest advantage is that everything is very close to the beech.
Restaurant is much better at La Residence. Breakfast is v average, lunch at the beach restaurant is quite poor as there is very poor choise and mainly because of the staff - "give me tip at first and I will give you my service..." This is probably their philosophy and its a pity... Dinner is OK, but nothing special.
Good choice if you have children or you want to use sport options, and if you want to enjoy quiet place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alen214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    241
    51
    25
    14
See reviews for
398
384
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights after a trip to Cairo and we took the All Inclusive option.

On arrival my first thought was that the entrance to the hotel and the hotel itself was spectacular. And on further looking around the pools, restaurants and beach lived up to this same initial thought. Our rooms had a joining door which made it a lot more sociable than splitting into 2 separate rooms as we were travelling with children aged 17 and 15. The room had a view onto a bit of unused ground and really there was no view but really we didnt spend that much time in the room to notice, although id say the bathroom was starting to show signs of wear and wasnt that big, although it was definately kept really clean.

The mini bar was kept well stocked with soft drinks and a beer with chocolate and nuts.

The all-inlcusive for evening meal was from a set menu or alternatively selecting items from Al-a-carte up to a set limit and then you pay the difference. I first thought this would be a bit of a disappointment, but we were able to choose from the set menu most evenings. Lunch was lovely and the restaurant staff really helpful and got to know us even after one meal to the extent that they knew what drinks we would order, or we would want dessert etc, very personalised. Breakfast was a huge array of food choice to suit everyone and an omelette chef who made delicious omelettes to order - my only regret is that I only had one on my last morning and wish I could have eaten more of them.

Being all inclusive was great for just grabbing a water, a beer or a pot of tea whenever you felt like it and there were several bars inside and outside to get this from.

We used the beach, the pool, the gym, my husband and daughter did scuba diving and my son tried windsurfing.

The holiday was very relaxing and exactly what I had hope it would be.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine66UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sheraton Soma Bay and have already shared with the entire team.

The entire team is delighted to learn that you had such an excellent stay with us. It is very pleasing to know you have been able to take full advantage of our location and enjoy the hotel's other facilities like the beach, pool, water sports and other activities and meals, cleanness and service. Also we are happy to know that you have enjoyed our connecting rooms system.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience on Trip Advisor page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I've was here with my friends for vacation and all I can say I was very pleased with this resort. It is wonder in itself. Staff was patient and help full. Rooms are superb and sleep is a beauty. Lot of space to wonder around and food from restaurant was exquisite. If you are considering where to stay look no more, this is good choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at Sheraton Soma Bay and for taking the time to post your favourable feedback to the Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed our facilities and we are pleased to read that our staffs were patient provided a friendly and helpful service, and you found the rooms and outlets are very spacious.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again to Sheraton Soma Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

just returned from a wonderful weeks stay at the Sheraton in soma bay. the hotel was really lovely and all the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly- nothing seemed too much trouble. The rooms were clean and spacious , the food was good- we opted for half board which probably did not work out any cheaper than all inclusive but we got to drink really nice wine and only ate what we actually wanted. This is a fantastic place if you want quality and tranquility rather than noisy night life and late nights. The evenings under the stars on the beach were really chilled. The house reef just off the hotel was fantastic for snorkelling and there was fantastic diving all around, the wind was also good this week for windsurfing.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are nice but we spent so little time in our room that i dont think spending th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacsMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Sheraton Soma Bay, have shared with our staffs, they very happy to know that you were impressed with their service.
We are glad that you found your room spacious and clean, have enjoyed the facilities like diving , snorkelling and above all, the tranquil atmosphere.

We hope to welcome you again back to Sheraton Soma Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

it was a total retreat, there's so many isolated spots on the beach (which gives you enough privacy) I was totally impressed by the location, service was great, food very tasty. I'd love to revisit this place !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nzeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments with regard to your stay at Sheraton Soma Bay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. Thank you for recommending Sheraton Soma Bay's location, service and meals.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Sheraton Soma Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soma Bay hotels
0.3 km away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
0.6 km away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#1 of 10 in Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 km away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
1.7 km away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
5.7 km away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 10 in Soma Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Soma Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Property: Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
Address: P.O. Box 71 | Hurghada, Soma Bay, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
Price range (per night): $93 - $234
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Soma Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Somabay is a unique gem of a resort on the Somabay peninsula: with stunning architecture inspired by Luxor's magnificent Karnak Temple, the hotel is situated directly on 800 meters of beautiful beachfront. Its spacious 326 guest rooms and suites are all beautifully designed with chic décor featuring wooden and pastel-colored furnishings. If you are on the lookout for an active holiday, The Sheraton supplies no end of options. Spend your days experimenting with scuba diving, snorkeling, water skiing, windsurfing, sailing, tennis, squash and a well equipped gymnasium. For golfers, the 18-hole Cascades Golf Course lies within five minutes walking distance of the resort with the spectacular greens directly on the coast line. Guests of Sheraton Somabay have the chance to find renewed harmony of mind, body, and spirit with the restorative powers of thalassic treatments at the nearby The Cascades Spa & Thalasso, the region's largest and most comprehensive facility for thalasso therapy. The No Mummies Kids Club gives parents a much-needed break to enjoy their stay in the resort. The club provides daily sports and activities programs for children 4 to 12 years old. Food is a unique experience at Sheraton Somabay, where a variety of cuisines are provided all day long through different restaurants and bars such as L'Abydos Brasserie, L'Emporio Ristorante, Copper Crescent Grill and the Beach Hut. The Sheraton Somabay Convention Center has five meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 800 guests. With the Sheraton's exquisite culinary staff, incomparable service, and stylish décor, the hotel caters to all kinds of events and makes special occasions unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Soma Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Soma Bay Hotel Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing