We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
USD 143
USD 140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 138
USD 116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 196
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 137
USD 122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 107
USD 84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relax Inn(Rome)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
147
134
83
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
134
83
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturning stonesmoking roomgaming floorjacuzzi tublate checkevent centeremerald restaurantnon smoking areaupstate nyeasy accesspeach blossomenjoyed my stayget awaygreat roomgolf coursesmokeplay
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I have now stayed at all three lodging options at Turning Stone (The Lodge, the Tower, and now the Hotel. Our king room at the hotel was decent, both the bathroom and sleeping are were clean and decorated attractively. We had a nice view out the front of the property facing the main entrance. But they've missed the mark just a bit - a shame because the hotel is so close to being a premiere option. For instance, the bathroom sink was placed so close to the wall that it was inconvenient to use. And the hand towels right next to the sink cover over the outlet. Also, the pull out make up mirror opens up in front of the sink, blocking other potential users of the sink. Also, our king bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. Our room was on the 4th floor (the top floor of the hotel), and we did not smell cigarette smoke as other reviewers have commented.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less chance of cigarette smoke smell
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snert41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The hotel was very accommodating and every single staff member was friendly and asked if they could help us as we walked throughout the property. The room was huge even with the king size bed. Furnishing looked new and bed linens were excellent - no old spread on the bed here. The hotel pool area was small and left a lot to be desired. Only a few chairs around a small indoor pool at the hotel. Not an attractive setting.

I visited the spa and enjoyed the facility. Cost of massage was a very attractive price. Everything at the spa was top shelf.

The casino was very smoky and the non-smoking area was only a little better. We have visited a lot of casino's around the country and this was the worst as far as smoke.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasidewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The room had some good points to be fair. Shower was nice with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel but don't forget your toothpaste! Room was large enough with a great view of the tree lit up outfront. Cute gingerbread house exhibition like you would see on a cruise ship in the lobby. Good meal ($100 for 2 with a bottle of wine) in the churrascaria.

However, the entire hotel (the casino is on the bottom floor) stunk of cigarette smoke. We were in a nonsmoking room and were a little worried when we walked in and could already smell the smoke of the room but thought maybe it was because of the casino affecting us downstairs. The sheets stank of cigarette smoke. Our clothes stunk of cigarette smoke when we got home.

The waiter in the restaurant was great and we tipped him accordingly. However, the rest of the staff was to put it bluntly, rude. They weren't welcoming at all which surprised me for a casino/resort. For example, we got free play cards in the casino and it was our first time there and I told the lady at the desk that and she scoffed at me, demanded our IDs, told us it would be a few minutes while we waited quietly, then told us to stop talking a couple minutes later and to listen closely because she was only going to repeat the directions once when she was ready to explain how to use a free play card- it was really abrupt treatment and not pleasant at all. When we checked out the girl asked me if it was ok to charge the credit card I checked in with and I said yes, and then she had us sign for the charges, took our room cards and said "That's it." No questions about how our dinner was the night before, noting it was our first stay and asking how the room was, asking about the show we attended or asking if we had a good trip and intended or were interested in returning. Very abrupt and very curt service despite there not being a line of people or anything. I don't know why people were so rushed in dealing with customers-- unless people who go there are usually not interested in talking and are just interested in quickly getting to the gaming area to throw a hundred dollars away on slots. It was awful.

Finally, the show. So the show itself was amazing! However, the venue was terrible. We were at kings table which I assumed was a front row spot. It is not. Apparently the king is not the frontmost set of seating. I don't know what is. However, if you can get A BOOTH I highly recommend it. Our 20 something backs were aching because the tables face opposite the direction of the stage. So you're required to turn your body around (there is no room to turn your chair because they pack 6-8 people in around a table built for 4) and sit without a back to your chair. There is NO ROOM to stand around the table if you are at a concert and if you are 100 lbs soaking wet and can squeeze in to stand you would be blocking the view of the people behind you-- so that would be inappropriate as well. If you happen to be the person on the end of the table you will need to hope your fellow tablemates aren't too tall (and are too big to stand) or you will not be able to see. While the booths are more comfortable to sit in (the backs are built in to face the stage) you will also need to hope the people sitting at the long tables ahead of you are not too tall or you will not be able to see performances easily either. Drinks were available but we were packed in so tightly we were afraid to order them and spill them and we opted not to drink. It was a disappointing venue due to the cramped seating assignments.

Overall, a very poor stay and we won't be driving back across NY state to visit there again despite a lot of great performances.

Room Tip: Perhaps consider a hotel not sharing space with the casino-- maybe the rooms are newer and don't smell of smoke in those areas.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrnMtnGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed here for a special night, and were very pleased. We stayed in a jacuzzi suite on the fourth floor. Upon check-in, I went through my inspection of the room. The housekeeping staff is to be commended; the room was spotless in every area, and everything was placed perfectly. We had more than enough towels and nice Gilchrist and Soames amenities. The heating/cooling system was effective and simple to adjust. The room also included a safe for valuables.
We went down to play in the casino and also had dinner. There are many restaurant selections on property, ranging from the food court to upscale dining.
Upon our return to the room around 9 pm, the turndown staff had already come in and tidied the room, replaced our used soaps and towels, turned down the bed, pulled the drapes, turned the radio/cd player on, turned on ambient lighting, and left four chocolate treats on our bed. Almost forgot, they also left us two blue glass bottles of Saratoga Spring water on one bedside table.
We enjoyed the jacuzzi tub, which was clean and functional. Very pretty glass bricks on the curved wall between the jacuzzi tub and the bathroom. The king bed was clean, comfortable and triple-sheeted. There were plenty of bed pillows, and one extra was stowed in the closet, along with an extra cotton blanket.
All staff with whom we had contact were professional and helpful. I would recommend staying here, especially if you enjoy a hotel that pays attention to details.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Two work friends went here almost 3 years ago and came back boyfriend and girlfriend and have been together ever since. *sigh* Boyfriend and I like to go back 3 or 4 times a year and we always have a fabulous time. The hotel is clean, modern, and has a lot of amenities....we love the casino and restaurants too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrabbyClaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews