We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Halsey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Halsey House
Ranked #1 of 9 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Halsey House Labor Day weekend 2017. We were looking to get away for the long weekend and enjoy the beauty that the Finger Lakes Region has to offer. Before we even arrived we appreciated the three emails that we received from David and David letting us know about what there was to do in the area and the upcoming forecast the weekend.
David greeted us in the car park when we arrived and helped us carry our bags in. He showed us around the house to make us feel at home. The house, room and property as excellently maintained. Our room, Indulgence, had everything that we could think of needing for the weekend. it included a two person jacuzzi tub, walk in shower with a rain shower head, mini fridge, corkscrew and wine glasses, comfortable king bed and reading area.
The next morning we were greeted with amazing smells coming from the kitchen and the breakfast did not disappoint. Each morning was a completely different meal of locally sourced fruit, bread and meats. We sat with the other couples and families staying at the house. It was a great way to chat and learn about what other people were doing in the area.
After breakfast we spoke with David and he gave us recommendations on the best wineries to visit on the Cayuga and Seneca Wine Trails. We also discussed hiking opportunities and when was the best time to visit everything.
My husband and I can't recommend this B&B more highly! If you are looking to visit the wineries, hiking or visiting your child at Ithaca College or Cornell this is the prefect spot for you. David and David are outstanding hosts that think of everything and make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kayaker5629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David ., Owner at Halsey House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

We do pride our selves on hospitality as we determined early on that the best way to approach satisfying guests would be to treat them as we want to be treated when we travel. Our emails pre arrival are part and partial of that belief as it is important to give guests some information about the area and our home before they arrive so that many questions can be answered in advance. We have noticed that many guests actually print out copies and bring them with them for future reference.
We support our local farmers and food suppliers as bet we can and it allows us to then provide our guests with the freshest possible fruits and vegetables, eggs and dairy products which then makes unique breakfasts very easy to prepare.
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that we were able to meet and exceed your needs/expectations. Have safe travels, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Historic home with warmth, comfort, and chocolate chip cookies! David and Dave were the consummate hosts. Their home is inviting, our room, Serenity, was a large comfortable king with a 'waterfall' fireplace that lulled us to sleep and added charm and comfort. We arrived on a low note, as neither of us were feeling well and one of us was ill. The Davids went out of their way to make us comfortable. They called it 'hospitality', we called it "nurturing" . . . either way it did the trick. Spent five nights with them, enjoyed five creative and delicious breakfasts, great conversations, thoughtful suggestions on restaurants, and activities. Came as guests and left as friends. If five stars is the best, then they are 6!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Anne1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David ., Owner at Halsey House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Many guests arrive at Halsey House feeling exhausted from a long car ride and or time on the wine trail and seek only to get settled and relax. Unfortunately, you arrived with one member feeling ill from a bad meal the night before and the other feeling stressed because of the situation. We are so glad that we were able to ease that stress and assist in attending to your needs so that the balance of your stay was enjoyable. Personally, I love the waterfall feature and, like you, find it very soothing.
We do try to make our breakfasts delicious, imaginative and filled with local produce, dairy and meat as without our local farms, we'd have no food on the table and this area is a garden belt. Even more fun are the foragers and wild mushroom growers who use the natural woods as their fields; this past weekend we had oyster, cremini and shiitaki mushrooms available and what fun we had with quiches and frittatas.
Please come back again no dining out the night before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

My fiance' and I spent four days with "the Davids" at Halsey House, and could not have had a better stay than at a 5 star hotel. I have always been a bit leery of "B&B's", but this trip completely changed my opinion. We will absolutely return, and maybe even spend our honeymoon there!

The charming and charismatic hosts endeared us to them.The Davids were so welcoming and informative about the local area, intuitively knew our needs and suggested outings and restaurants that appealed to our tastes- so much so it was if they had known us forever. Beyond that, the breakfasts were of a quality one would find at a Michelin starred restaurant- I am only regretful that David could not make dinners for us as well.

Our room "Margaret's Retreat" was beautifully appointed with a canopy bed, writing desk and adjoining bathroom with a jet tub for two. In our new home, I hope to re-create the feeling I had at Halsey House.

I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay at Halsey House was.

Angela

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amg72017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David ., Owner at Halsey House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Angela thank you for that review, wow. We do try hard to keep our guests happy and relaxed so it is rewarding for us to know that we have succeeded. This is even more true when the guests have a busy/driven work life and just need a few days off the grid to relax and recharge. We are so glad that Halsey House accomplished that for you and your soon to be husband (congrats again) and we are thrilled that your experience here has revised your thoughts regarding B&Bs; while all are different, the vast majority have knowledgeable and caring hosts.The best part of your kind review was your announced desire to recreate the felling you had while staying here...thank you so much. That says it all in our book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

My parents, sister and I stayed July 4th weekend. My parents were in the serenity suite and my sister and I stayed in the Chamber. The chamber is quoted as the smallest room, but it was incredibly spacious with a nice queen bed, sitting area, and a very large bathroom. The Serenity suite was massive with a gorgeous fireplace, large king bed, sitting area and nice bathroom. Both rooms were extremely clean and well taken care of with extremely comfortable beds.
The location was perfect for hitting all the wine trails. It was only about a 20 minute drive to Seneca Lake and Cayuga lake is about 10 minutes. The house is just off the main road so very easy to get to.
The Davids were wonderful hosts. If you are unsure of something, make sure to ask for their opinion. They will have a list ready for you to choose from in no time.
The breakfast was outstanding. Everyday was something completely different from the last and just as delicious. I think a cookbook should be in the works....
Definitely worth the stay here. I will make sure to return and stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David ., Owner at Halsey House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Tracey, we so enjoyed having you and your family here over the holiday weekend and while we appreciate your comments about our being there to assist, you were the well researched tour guide and our input was hardly needed. It is wonderful when guests have done their homework pre arrival and have definite plans in mind as there is so much to see and do in this beautiful part of the USA. We also love Chamber despite it being smaller than the other rooms as it has a coziness that envelopes and relaxes you...and we want everyone ot feel relaxed and comfortable in our home.
Yes, David #2 is constantly pushing for a cook book so it may happen down the road I love all the locally sourced, organic foods available to me as it makes for more imaginative and hopefully memorable breakfasts. Please do come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

My wife and I stayed here during the Grassroots festival and our experience was amazing! The room was spacious, the connected bathroom huge (tub and shower), and the hosts were terrific. I would HIGHLY recommend the place to anyone looking for a room in the area.

- Mark & Bronwynne

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eygabma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David ., Owner at Halsey House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for you kind review; we do appreciate those guests who take the time to tell others about their experience here at Halsey House and we are so glad that you enjoyed yuor stay and had fun at GrassRoots. Perhaps we will see you again next year as we are an easy walk to the Fairgrounds so no need to pay for parking elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumansburg
3.5 km away
Inn at Taughannock
Inn at Taughannock
#5 of 9 in Trumansburg
128 reviews
39.4 km away
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Penn Yan
504 reviews
25.5 km away
Hudson Manor Bed & Breakfast
Hudson Manor Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 17 in Watkins Glen
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 km away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
185 reviews
27.8 km away
1897 Beekman House
1897 Beekman House
#1 of 11 in Dundee
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halsey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsey House

Address: 2057 State Route 96, Trumansburg, NY 14886-9129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range: AU$307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and romantic Finger Lakes bed & breakfast inn near Ithaca, NY, Cornell University, Ithaca College, Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails and many waterfalls. Located across from Taughannock Falls State Park, we feature private, luxuriously comfortable guestrooms which may include 2-person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and/or large custom showers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing