We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rensselaer County Historical Society
Open today: 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Holiday Green's show!

Troy has an annual Victorian Stroll at Holiday time. I have been the this Historical Society... read more

Reviewed 28 August 2018
195carld
Army

Fantastic stay, wonderful breakfast, cleaning service was amazing, friendly staff and 100... read more

Reviewed 15 July 2018
Elijah P
via mobile
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
11
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews research library changing exhibits uncle sam information annual victorian stroll tours century
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Troy has an annual Victorian Stroll at Holiday time. I have been the this Historical Society several times for that and toured the house. It's a great snapshot of the history of not only the house, family but also includes a glimpse of a manufacturing families life style of the time including some mystery of the city itself.

Thank 195carld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensselaerCount... H, Manager at Rensselaer County Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visits to The Holiday Greens Show here at RCHS! This year again the Hart-Cluett Historic House Museum will be lavishly decked out in lush holiday greens and fresh flowers. We hope you will return again this year Nov. 29th thru Dec 2nd. Please also consider visiting our five galleries which are open nearly year-round; no need to wait for the winter holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Fantastic stay, wonderful breakfast, cleaning service was amazing, friendly staff and 100% professionalism through and through!

1  Thank Elijah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa-B-RCHS, Front Office Manager at Rensselaer County Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

We are sorry, but you've apparently reviewed the wrong business! We are the Rensselaer County Historical Society, (we also have galleries, a research library, and The Hart-Cluett Historic House Museum). Please remove this review when you have the chance. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Our son who lives in Troy took us to the Historical Society. We like it. Gives a sense of American history (including Uncle Sam from Troy) . what we found most interesting were the old radiators (used for heating in the early 20th. century). They were crafted beautifully with different forms & shapes. Some old stoves & ovens were interesting too. There was an old carriage ( not in great shape) which belonged to a rich family of Troy. Do visit this place. It is located in a quiet lane and is recommended for all. Though young kids are not likely to enjoy it.

Thank prabharao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karinkl57, Manager at Rensselaer County Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for this thoughtful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Bring the grandchildren here for a delightful visit and see how the Historical Society decorated a Christmas tree each year. Absolutely breathtaking and very different each year. Besides the tree mostly the whole inside was also decorated and it was gorgeous

Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensselaerCount... H, Manager at Rensselaer County Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Nancy F.
Great to hear you and your grandchildren enjoyed your visit here! Our many Van Rensselaer Garden Club volunteers and RCHS staff will be pleased to know their work was a joy to both generations. Each year there is a different theme and each season new exhibits in the galleries so you are correct, there is much more than a spectacular tree. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

This is a very small and well-done site to visit to learn about the area. The exhibits are thoughtfully assembled and informative. It doesn't take a lot of time to get a sense for what's there, and you can also immerse yourself in the information. We just missed the tour of the house next door, and it looks amazing. We'll time our visit next time so we can get the full tour. Their offerings of walking tours look amazingly wonderful.

Thank CGUrbanaIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensselaerCount... H, Manager at Rensselaer County Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

CGUrbanaIllinois, Thanks for the informative review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and plan to return! Our small staff & many volunteers seek to strike exactly the balance you observed in our galleries. Please introduce yourself to us when next you visit for a tour of the Hart-Cluett House Museum. Its a gem!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The changing exhibits highlight the history of Troy and the surrounding towns. The staff is always welcoming and happy to answer questions. There is also a research library available with a unique collection of resources. I also enjoy their walking tours, so look on their web page for upcoming events.

Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensselaerCount... H, Manager at Rensselaer County Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Sarah C, Thanks for your input. Our staff members pride themselves on remaining accessible to all visitors so we pleased they were able to answer your questions. We are always glad to have our visitors and researchers enjoy their time with us. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

What a surprise we had when we were exploring Troy for the first time, and we walked into the Historical Society and saw the Uncle Sam exhibit. They were actually closed the day we went, but they let us look at the Uncle Sam exhibit. We hadn't noticed that the whole town was full of references about Uncle Sam! You should go here and read the story about how he came about being one of our national icons. The women who work here are very nice and helpful. We bought ornaments and books galore.

Thank KayM506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensselaerCount... H, Manager at Rensselaer County Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Hello Kay M, I recall your special visit here. We are pleased to know you appreciated your time with us! I hope you are continue to enjoy your books and gift items to remind you of your fun visit to Troy. Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

If you want to learn about the history of the area in particular Troy this is the place to visit. This is the location for doing research about Troy too. The staff is wonderful and most helpful in all regards.

Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The Historical Society displays were very interesting and gave us information on the history of the county as well as what is going on in the county.

2  Thank roy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

There are many things ,they offer,but you must join or kee pup on them to know,sometimes they travel,there is a very large history libaray,so much to learn ,if you are that ttype did include a number to call,good hunting.
Discover the many unique opportunities for learning that the Rensselaer County Historical Society offers to visitors. Our extensive object and library collections, historic buildings, and historic neighborhood allow educators, students and adult groups to experience history firsthand.

Unless otherwise noted, all events take place at RCHS, 57 Second Street in historic downtown Troy. Street parking is available.
Call 518-272-7232 for more information. Some of our events require pre-registration.

History Comes to You
RCHS can bring history to you! We bring special presentations on the history of Rensselaer County to groups in and around the Capital Region. Potential presentation topics include an introduction to Rensselaer County history, the Underground Railroad, Uncle Sam, and more. For a brochure of Bringing Historyt oyou,there are many differant things to do during the year,some for many ages,including children you have to ck it out ,

Thank LaCat304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karinkl57, Executive Director at Rensselaer County Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Brenda L.,
Nice to to read that you enjoyed RCHS and the great variety of treasures housed here! Yes, we do have "history on the go" presentations and they are popular with young students and adults. Do let us know if you have a special area of historical interest.
As you referenced our vast collection in our Research Library, I wish to let you know that you can call our main number, 518-272-7232 ext 11 for information on the library, programs, galleries & gift shop. Our staff is small (so we share one main phone line) but dedicated and your call will be returned if not answered on the spot. We hope that in future you will call again and we can assist you in the library.
Thanks for writing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews