We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach in room 218” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Suffern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Suffern
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Longueuil, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cockroach in room 218”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Reading other review with same problem prompt me into reporting our experience.
Unfriendly staff.
We were sleeping one night transitting the Jersey shore.
Dusty lamps, smelly A/C,dirty furniture, questionable water pressure and drainage in the
shower and most of all multiple cockroach in bathroom and sink area found during the night.
Value was good but i'd rather pay a bit more if it was to make it clean and bugless.
We left very early in the morning and skipped the breakfast area for obvious reason.
We will not return in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 672Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    57
    59
    55
    52
See reviews for
105
51
32
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Suffern Howard Johnson was conveniently located off of I 287. It was a good place for us to stay for a family reunion in Northern New Jersey. The rooms were comfortable with good beds and ample space. Our room was clean and well kept up with good A/C although the hallways seemed a little worn. A complimentary breakfast was included but we chose to eat breakfast at a nice Friendly's which was connected to the hotel lobby. The $62 per night price seemed very reasonable for the location and busy season.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balto, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a nice hotel-to bad it had bedbugs. Double check the room and the bed before you stay.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MORMORPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Suffern hotels

Holbæk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We just had one night sleep and it was ok. Breakfast was good. the room was ok. there was clean but we had a cochroach in the room in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Looks like they renovated lobby and breakfast are. Hot breakfast is very excellent including scrammbled eggs and hot waffles. Breakfast area looks elegent. Room is nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NY391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffern
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
4.4 km away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
7.7 km away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
4.6 km away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Suffern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Suffern

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Suffern
Address: 17 North Airmont Road, Suffern, NY 10901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Suffern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Price range (per night): $123 - $162
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Suffern 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Suffern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Suffern Hotel Suffern
Howard Johnson Suffern
Suffern Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Suffern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing