We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach in room 218”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Suffern
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Reading other review with same problem prompt me into reporting our experience.
Unfriendly staff.
We were sleeping one night transitting the Jersey shore.
Dusty lamps, smelly A/C,dirty furniture, questionable water pressure and drainage in the
shower and most of all multiple cockroach in bathroom and sink area found during the night.
Value was good but i'd rather pay a bit more if it was to make it clean and bugless.
We left very early in the morning and skipped the breakfast area for obvious reason.
We will not return in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 672Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 385 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Suffern Howard Johnson was conveniently located off of I 287. It was a good place for us to stay for a family reunion in Northern New Jersey. The rooms were comfortable with good beds and ample space. Our room was clean and well kept up with good A/C although the hallways seemed a little worn. A complimentary breakfast was included but we chose to eat breakfast at a nice Friendly's which was connected to the hotel lobby. The $62 per night price seemed very reasonable for the location and busy season.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a nice hotel-to bad it had bedbugs. Double check the room and the bed before you stay.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank MORMORPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We just had one night sleep and it was ok. Breakfast was good. the room was ok. there was clean but we had a cochroach in the room in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Looks like they renovated lobby and breakfast are. Hot breakfast is very excellent including scrammbled eggs and hot waffles. Breakfast area looks elegent. Room is nice and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NY391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffern
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
434 reviews
5.4 km away
Best Western The Inn At Ramsey
7.2 km away
Candlewood Suites - Nanuet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Days Inn Nanuet Spring Valley
7.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Spring Valley
186 reviews
7.7 km away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Suffern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Suffern

Address: 17 N Airmont Rd, Suffern, NY 10901-4215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Suffern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Price Range: AU$99 - AU$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Suffern 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Suffern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Suffern Hotel Suffern
Howard Johnson Suffern
Suffern Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Suffern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing