We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely the best German food on SI!”

Nurnberger Bierhaus
Ranked #24 of 818 Restaurants in Staten Island
Price range: USD 20 - USD 90
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Definitely the best German food on SI!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I've been going to Nurnberger for years now and it never fails to disappoint. They have a varied menu and the food is much better than other German establishments on SI. The potato pancakes are awesome and come with the requisite sour cream and applesauce. Their birch beer is delicious and cold just as it should be. Every single dish I've ordered here has been fantastic and I've tried 2/3s of the menu. The service is friendly and the atmosphere is very comfortable, it's just obvious that it's full of people have great conversation and a good time. Try Nurnberger, you won't be disappointed!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank guenie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    37
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good German food”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

if i want excellent German food I go to Zum's in Queens but if I don't feel like trekking over the bridge I will go to Nernbergers. They have a great beer selection and the food is always good. I ordered their wurst platter and all three were cooked well and tasty. Will go back when I want German food quickly.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dchrysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Hopping Bar”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Great German food. Bar area is always hopping...fun to people watch. Sometimes you have to wait for a table for a while. Can get coupons for meal online.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debdoodleNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent German food for the value and great German beer”
Reviewed 6 April 2011

the exterior throws you off - on the main street, very small; sports bar in the front, dining in the back with only maybe a dozen at most small tables. if you're looking for an intimate, romantic setting - this is not it. but if you want a somewhat noisy venue, with very good German food for the value and great German tap beer, then this is where to go. Service was very good. red cabbage a bit too corn starchy, but i had the sausage variety platter and my wife had the saurbraten and the were both excellent and almost too much food. we were too full for dessert, so can't comment on that.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tamoshanter1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great find. Staff were sincere and knew...”
Reviewed 20 March 2010

A great find. Staff were sincere and knew their stuff! Beer was fabulous. Food was tasty but stay to the simple items such as bratwurst, it was great. We would definitley return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oyster62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nurnberger Bierhaus also viewed

 

Been to Nurnberger Bierhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing