We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers in a relaxed atmosphere”
Review of Barrister's - CLOSED

Barrister's
Price range: USD 0 - USD 30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great burgers in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We found Barrister's to be a relaxed friendly restaurant with great service and fine food. We both ate the house speciality of burgers, which were extremely tasty. A good option for a relatively inexpensive evening meal out in The Hamptons

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waitknowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk County< NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I always get take out so I am not in the position to answer anything about the service. The veggie melt is out of this world..so delicous and you can eat it guiltfree!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Interiors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Nice respite from shopping and sight seeing. Outdoor seating in good weather and good food and service. Thought it was a coffee shop but they have soooo much more.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Debi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“affordable and easy atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

What we really liked the two times we have been to Barristers was the Gazpacho soup. It really stands out. My wife said it is the best she has ever had.

I made the same mistake twice on my main course. I had a chicken and arugula salad. I liked the taste combination very much. There just was not enough substance to it.. Even if they did not give a starch, some vegetables such as zucchini would have rounded out the value of the meal. I was hungry two hours later.

The maitre'd and servers were very nice and tolerant of our taking time to figure out what we wanted. Perhaps they need a better method of recording who ordered what, such as numbering the seats on the order ticket. When they came to the table, they didn't always know where the place the items. Minor issue.

We found the back tables comfortable and in an open air area, so a little less noisy than the front. We sat 10 comfortably there.

Barrister's is generally more affordable and less stuffy than some of the other restaurants in Southampton.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loud, and they wanted us out fast”
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Sitting in the corner of the restaurant next to a wonderful window looking out into the village, it was extremely difficult to hear the person sitting across the table from me. The tables are packed closely together and you can hear every conversation around you.
We were attended to quickly and decided to share a salad. Upon hearing this, our waitress moved quickly. Apparently we weren't worth the table space anymore, so she rushed us our food and rushed us the check as soon as we finished. The salad was OK tasting, but very expensive for some spinach and vinaigrette with 5 skewered shrimp on top. We were in and out of the restaurant in less than 15 minutes- hardly relaxing at all.
I would recommend Barrister's over most other restaurants in Southampton village, but this experience was very disappointing.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank track_kayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barrister's also viewed

Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing