We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Anniversary Dinner”

Joelles French Bistro
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

We came into the entrance where we were warmly greeted with the fireplace and candle ambiance and the maitre'd saying"Bonsoir" . Loved the French bistro decor and the Leg of Lamb was so tender. Definitely will go back in the summer to sit out on the patio!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank skap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017

From the moment we were greeted with a "bonjour" by a personable maitre d, and saw the old world interior design, we knew we were in for a treat. Our waiter was wonderful and the food we were served was even better. Those who imbibed said they were served the best manhattans they had ever had in a restaurant. We each had an appetizer and entree, and shared desserts. Everything was absolutely delicious. The chef thanked us for coming as we left. Wonderful experience. We will be back.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

After years of visiting the Finger Lakes - and thinking we would likely never have a dining experience that as actually good - we went out of our way to stop at Joelle's French Bistro in Skaneateles.
Our experience was nothing short of superb. The service was genuinely warm and welcoming. The wine (we bought by-the-glass) was unusually good, so much so that we made a note of the name of the excellent Bordeaux for later use. Due to the lateness of the season, and the evening, we ate inside, although we understand that they have a view from the patio, we did not see it.

Then we sampled the food, which was amazing. My wife is French, and we have often vacationed in France, so the frequent experiences we've had with wannabe "French" restaurants have often fallen short. Joelle's cooking was genuinely French, excellent, flavorful, perfectly done; and unlike many French restaurants, the cuisine here did not leave us feeling heavy or overly full. We started with the crab soufflé, which was amazing. My wife had the duck confit, and I had the cassoulet. The cassoulet was inventively presented, not the usual "bean stew". To our surprise we had room for dessert.

We visited at the end of September and the place was almost empty - I think that just 3 tables were occupied. Apparently .the off season had already started.

We paid $177 for the meal including (2) appetizers. 2 entrees, dessert, and (3) glasses of wine, and espresso. We felt this was very reasonable for the superb meal that we enjoyed here.

Joelle's is well worth the drive if you are staying elsewhere in the Finger Lakes. It is now our first-choice go-to for our future visits.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Woofy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Miam miam! Que c'est bon! A la campagne, à quelques kilomètres du centre-ville de Syracuse, ce petit resto qui a un charme très authentique gagne à être connu.

On acclame:
Le repas delicieux. Le confit de canard, l'agneau, la vichyssoise...tout était impeccable!
La chaleur des restaurateurs/serveurs, l'acceuil aimable, souriant...
La vue pittoresque!

On aime moins:
Les moustiques...nous avons été bouffés par les moustiques...!!
Ce n'est pas trop mon truc le "lobster & shrimp cigar"

Un conseil: Il faut faire une réservation à l'avance

Eng: What a lovely restaurant with a charming, authentic feel to it! We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed excellent service for our meal. We ordered the vichyssoise (it is a potato and leek soup, traditionally served cold), the lobster and shrimp cigar, the duck confit, and the lamb...all was very good except that I was not a big fan of the lobster & shrimp cigar appetizer; it was a bit too heavily fried for my taste. We loved sitting outside with the beautiful view, our only regret was that we were eaten alive by the mosquitos...have to take the bad with the good though, I suppose. Maybe we could've avoided this by coming earlier. We recommend making a reservation in advance (call ahead), as this is a small restaurant and (deservedly) quite popular.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

We were invited to Joelle's French Bistro for a private dinner. It was a preset dinner menu with your choice of 4 different entrees. We chose the grilled salmon with a basil sauce and the Moroccan chicken meatballs with couscous. Both were hot and delicious. An appetizer plate consisted of samples of leek, spinach and potato soup, beet, apple and walnut salad, crispy Boursin roll and a sun-dried tomato creme brûlée. The dessert plate consisted of samples of chocolate mousse, biscotti and a wonderful mango panacotta. It was a great meal and the special menu was perfect. We would definitely return. The perfect spot for a special evening.

Date of visit: June 2017
2  Thank Katherine8183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joelles French Bistro also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Joelles French Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing