We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
159
17
20
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
17
20
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriesling roomrose suitewedding partybed was very comfortableroom was largebellayardpinottownsherwood
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2015

This was our second stay at this location. Very clean. There are quite a few rooms at this location, but it feels like no one is there but you. You get keys, you come and go as you please. It is located off the main drag, but close enough to walk everywhere. Grocery store is across the street just in case you need a late night snack. Not real sure these beds were queen sized, we were tight, but comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the front porch. Don't hesitate about staying here. I will not think twice.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank winechick329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

I am at the Arbor house now for the second night having come here for a wedding. I found this place really lackluster and tired. I will say that the rooms are clean but that is about it. It might be called quaint although the rooms is pretty spartan with a basic bed and chest and a tv that looks to be 15 years old. It is warm but we are saved by a bit of a cross breeze. There is no lovely little garden or patio but they did stick a few rocking chairs on a small side patio.

I really feel that with a little thought this place could be "charming" and the current lack of care for patrons is so evident. The bathroom has no place to put anything down other than a tiny table. I could barely put on mascara because there is no mirror with a light anywhere. A small flat screen tv would have been a nice touch. There is a pretty little kitchen downstairs and i thought I could make tea in the am but no deal. They apparently can't be bothered to put some fresh milk and half and half cream in the refrigerator and instead have powdered canned creamer on the table. The coffee in the kitchen was a tired can of Folgers; why not get some fresh ground beans from one of the lovely coffee shops in town? The dresser was too musty to actually put my clothes in. There is no jacuzzi and one should note that breakfast is served in the larger inn a few blocks away. It was standard fruit, cereal and pastries although a pretty dining room and attentive staff. I think this place is way over rated and over priced... maybe it is hard to come by a decent room in this town (which is cute) and people think this is really great but I did not.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSherwoodInn, Hotel Operations at Arbor House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Thank you for your feedback and critique of your experience at the Arbor House Inn.

We have listened carefully to what you have said and have since instituted a light breakfast service of tea, coffee, juice, fruit, assorted hot and cold cereals and breakfast breads at the Arbor House. This is set-up in the kitchen and dining areas from 8am-10am complete with a service hostess to refresh and assist as needed.

Guests are still encouraged to take advantage of the full continental buffet at the Sherwood Inn which includes all the above plus fresh made granola, yogurt, fruit salad, sliced Virginia baked breakfast ham, assorted cheeses, croissants, Danish Pastries, cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs and home-fried breakfast potatoes.

Both breakfast services are complimentary and included with a room stay at the Arbor House.

We are convinced that the Arbor House represents real value in the market, and we are continuing to strive to achieve the highest level of service for our guests. To this end we are eager to hear from our guests and to improve in any area that we can. We hope that you will return in the future and see the progress that we have made.


Sincerely,

Nancy Ranieri
The Sherwood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Was looking for a quiet cozy get away and didn't get it here. The rooms do not offer much privacy as we could hear every other couple in the house. The Niagara Room has a shared bath in the hallway. The couple who stayed in that room used the bath 4 times in the middle of the night which meant hearing all of the locks unlocking and the loudness of the footsteps in the hall. The rooms advertised Wi-Fi in all rooms and we did not get any service in our Glenora Room. The room keys were hard to work in the front door. Breakfast was served down the road at the Sherwood Inn. TV was old and small. It did offer a VHS player, but no DVD. The antiques were cute, bed comfy and Jacuzzi great. There are no phones in the rooms and very few towels. We had to go back to the Sherwood Inn to get more towels.

Room Tip: They advertised Wi-Fi in the rooms, but we did not get service until we were in the living room/kitchen area.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSherwoodInn, Hotel Operations at Arbor House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Once again, we appreciate feedback about your experience at the Arbor House Inn.

With this information, we can address any shortcomings in a timely manner. To this end, we are in the process of replacing many of the old televisions with new flat screen ones as well as adding updated interior decorating touches to many of the guest rooms.

Also, we have since instituted a light breakfast service of tea, coffee, juice, fruit, assorted hot and cold cereals and breakfast breads at the Arbor House. Guests are still encouraged to take advantage of the full continental buffet at the Sherwood Inn. Both are complimentary and guests can take advantage of either or both if they so desire.

The Arbor House Inn also has complimentary WIFI that is available throughout the property as well as a front desk staff at the Sherwood Inn that is available 24 hours to help with any service needs such as towels, WIFI issues, etc. We will be making strides to better communicate this information in the check-in process so that guests are aware that there is someone to assist them whenever they may need, throughout their stay.

Again, we thank you for all of your helpful feedback and assure you that we are listening and taking corrective measures to ensure the very best of guest experience at the Arbor House Inn as well as at any of our Sherwood Inn Properties. We look forward to your next visit so that you can see your words in action.

Sincerely,

Nancy Ranieri
The Sherwood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

My two stays at the Arbor House Inn were a great respite during a difficult family time. You can sink into the warmth of a jacuzzi, sit by a warm fire and nuzzle into a comfy bed. The breakfasts were generous and very tasty. I was so completely at home, if my home looked as good as this! There are rooms in the main house and in an annex separate from it. I stayed in both and found the Annex a tad less charming than the main house but nonetheless would be great for families in that the room was more spacious. In any season, this Fingerlakes town offers a perfect base for travel in the region, or even for visiting Syracuse. I can't wait for my next trip to the region and a visit to Arbor `house.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms in the main house which have historic charm.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SighledeBarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile

What an amazing experience! We stayed in the carriage house of the Arbor House Inn and were blown away by the cozy fireplace, jacuzzi tub and wonderful ambiance of the Victorian style room. The continental breakfast at the nearby Sherwood Inn was superb and we also thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary access to the classes at the Skaeneateles YMCA. Not to mention the extremely courteous staff and wonderful restaurant at the main Sherwood Inn. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews