We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read this review before you eat at the Mandana Inn.”
Review of Mandana Inn

Mandana Inn
Ranked #18 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Price range: USD 0 - USD 20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Read this review before you eat at the Mandana Inn.”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We visited the Mandana in 2X in the span of a couple of weeks this summer and had two totally different experiences. At one visit we were part of a large group and ate in the dining room. The food was awful and the service worse. Our other visit was to the tavern area of the restaurant. We stood at the bar and were well tended to by Dave the bartender. We ordered off the Tavern menu. The quality of the food was excellent. One of my well-traveled (and picky) companions said the soft shell crab (ordered by the crab) was the best he had ever eaten. We also had a delicious burger. The management would not allow us to order off the tavern menu while in the dining room which I felt was especially mean since our large party ranged in age from 2-75.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolalemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ca.
1 review
“always a treat and one of our favorites in the world!”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

consistent good food.. something for every pallete....known for their scrod...local color...fun bar and attentive service.. a beautiful drive up the lake to arrive.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desertrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“needs updating but good food”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Better choices in town .Restaurant needs updating. I think original carpeting from 1800's. Despite the needed facelift the food was surprisingly good. Steaks cooked perfectly and good selection of apps. we will visit again if we are in the nieghborhood.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hch1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Genuine Skaneateles”
Reviewed 13 July 2010

While the Mandana Inn is not a "Fine" dining experience, it is an excellent choice when visiting the Skaneateles area. It represents the local hospilatility like no other restaurant on the Lake. The tables are set with white table cloths & wait staff are very professional. The bread basket & relish are a great start. It is located outside of the village on the west side of Skaneateles Lake in Mandana. It is not an Inn. It is known for its baked scrod and frog legs as well as beef entrees. Specials are always a good choice. Service is awesome. If you are lucky, James will be your waiter, this will add to your positive experience at the Mandana Inn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Syracuse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owasco Lake, NY
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easily one of the best places to dine on Skan. Lake”
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Kept quite secret by the locals, the Mandana Inn, in the hamlet of Mandana on Skaneateles Lake. Easily one of the best places to go for dinner. Many specials every night, you cannot go wrong with the Fried Frog Legs, or the Baked Scrod. The Filet is to die for, although a bit expensive (30$) it's not unreasonable for the quality of the food. Ask for the Onion Rings, not on the menu, but they are excellent, and home made. Service is excellent as well, the main waiter James is excellent. He will make sure your experance at the Mandana is one to remember. We are very much regulars at the Mandana at least once a week, I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a dining experience in Skaneateles

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Karp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandana Inn also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mandana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing