We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Birds Nest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birds Nest Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We attended a wedding and this motel was on the list the bride's family suggested. I called and asked questions about internet access and the breakfast and was assured on both items. If having to leave the room and sit outside near the office is internet access, then there is internet access. If a breakfast, except for bananas, is entirely pre-packaged items with artificial dry creamer for coffee and instant de-caf coffee, then there is a breakfast. And, get your shower early for the hot water supply is sporadic. Very disappointed. Some office staff was very responsive, others seemed to care less. This place needs a lot of up-grading!

Room Tip: Unless there are no other options, I would not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 531fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Called and made reservations for September 30 - October 2 at the beginning of August. Arrived to find the front door locked and 'nobody home.' Called the number and received a rec I ring asking me to leave my info and he would call me back in a few minutes. Fortunately a passerby saw us and stopped to tell us they closed their door for good on September 30. Seems we were not the first customer to be left stranded.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank lynn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here over Labor day weekend for a reunion. Really nice appearing from the outside. That all changed on the inside of room 41. The door sticks a little trying to get it unlocked. The room is an old pine board room. First thing you notice is the age and the old smell. The king size bed has an old flowery bedspread and the pillows are quite flat. There is one night Stand with a lamp. My side of the bed, I had to use a chair to put my glasses and my reading book on. I didn't have a lamp on my side of the bed because of the lack of the night stand and no outlet for a lamp. There was a light by the tv on the table the tv was on, but there was no outlet to plug it into. One lamp was usable in the room because of the outlet on my husband s side of the bed. There was a table in the room but only one chair. When you went and used the toilet in the bathroom, be prepared because the toilet tilted forward 2 inches down when you sat on it. The only amenity in the bathroom was a bar of soap. They did have towels. The curtain in the bathroom was red. The curtain on the far side of the small room was pink and the front window by the bed had a white curtain. There was tape covering the light switch as you walked in the bedroom. Rug is old and lumpy as is the bathroom linoleum. Breakfast was bagels and stale packaged pastries. Go to the hilltop restaurant for breakfast. I would stay away from here, or ask to look at a room. At $129.00 a night rate I expect better than what we got. This place needs Anthony melcuri from hotel impossible. Go find a Hampton Inn, or best Western etc. The area is beautiful but motels are less desirable.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank carjar95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Everything was clean and functional. Staff was informative and helpful. Directions to area attractions and eating places were right on. Would be my first choice next time I am traveling that way. Easy to find.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron0043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

My wife and I along with two other couples stayed here for a family wedding in early August. The couple in the newer (east) side of the motel had amenities that were not available in the older (west) side--including a small refrigerator and microwave--although we all paid the same price. The toilets in the west side rooms rocked forward and backward. The carpet was torn in our room, the entry door was difficult to push open, and the only outlet in the bathroom was attached to the fluorescent light. If your family is connected, you will need to bring chargers. The WiFi connection was not available in our room. You had to sit outside. The WiFi was usable in the east wing. Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: WiFi available outside and in east wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
6.1 km away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
736 reviews
2.9 km away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
4.1 km away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Skaneateles Inn on 20
Skaneateles Inn on 20
#2 of 7 in Auburn
70 reviews
4 km away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
2.6 km away
34 State Historic Luxury Suites Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Nest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Nest Motel

Address: 1601 US Route 20, Skaneateles, NY 13152-8870
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Hotel Class:2 star — Birds Nest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lakeside town of Skaneateles, the Birds Nest offers you 31 rooms and suites on a quiet country setting. All rooms and suites are non-smoking. The standard rooms are 400 square feet and all feature high speed internet, Climate control heating and cooling, flat screen cable television, phone and private bath. The suites are 600 square feet and addition to the room amenities they also include coffee and tea service, full bath, microwave and refrigerator. They are great for families and the business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Birds Nest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird`s Nest Hotel Skaneateles
The Birds Nest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing