We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
81
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews southwest room skaneateles lake bed and breakfast the lower level welcoming hosts beautifully set table the upper deck family photos three rooms amazing hospitality each morning pleasant conversation fell in love guest rooms in town my husband and i home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Pine Grove B&B in Skaneateles, NY! The location is perfect and the accommodations are very comfortable. Anne & Charlie are fantastic (and generous) hosts and we loved Boris (the dog). Note that the B&B does not have lake access, but if you aren't inclined to swim in a cold NY lake, that's no problem. The lake view is beautiful. We had a delicious breakfast every day, and as a very special, generous treat, Anne & Charlie invited our traveling companions (who were staying at a rental cottage on the lake) to join us for breakfast one day. This was no small matter, since our traveling companions consisted of 2 families of 2 adults & 2 kids each! It was a very special extension of their generosity to do this, and we all enjoyed it very much. Thank you Anne & Charlie for a wonderful visit, and we look forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Southwest" room but all three rooms looked wonderful.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GBMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

If you're looking for a place to getaway, somewhere romantic, or even to just stay the night to rest your head, this place is the bees knees!

My husband and I were invited to a wedding in Skaneateles. Where you say? Indeed, that's what I wondered as I continued to butcher the pronunciation time and time again. I'm still not entirely convinced of the correct way to say it. However, I can tell you, if you're looking for a cute, fun, quaint township amongst the Finger Lakes, this is the only atlas you'll be needing.

This might be a mute point, but it just happened to be our anniversary also, but we kept that under wraps because of steeling the thunder bla bla bla.

When you book a place to stay on line, there's always the wonderment of...hhmm perhaps we should have looked around more. Or...great the Thompsons are here with their perfect family and their perfect hotel that is always better than the one we're staying at. (The Thompsons are obviously fictional, but you get my point).

Well, when you book The Pine Grove B&B. Relax. We had such a lovely stay and as it turned out, it was a place where we got to get spoiled a little too. Deep down we were also pretty stoked that we had up'd the "Thompsons" and had found the best place to stay in town.

In all seriousness, our stay was truly perfect. The grounds are beautiful, peaceful and tranquil. The decor is inviting, stylish the beds are very cozy & comfy AND french doors that invite you to explore the property right from your own room. The owners Anne & Charlie are lovely people, great cooks and exceptional hosts. You'll really love it. Say hi to Boris for us!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LillyandLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I am hard-pressed to add anything not already touched upon or more glowing by other guest's reviews. Read them all!

While the home, grounds, gardens and spectacular view of the lake are beyond delightful, more than anything else, Anne and Charlie became, for me, the main attraction. They are two of the lovliest human beings I've met in my travels.

Staying at Pine Grove is a singular, exquisite experience. If necessary, go out of your way or adjust your travel plans to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Min L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just completed a trip to the Finger Lakes and a stay at the Pine Grove Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the Fireplace room. It was large and nicely appointed. Given it was summer we did not use the fireplace but could imagine a stay here on a winter day. The owners, Charlie and Ann, we're very nice and extremely accommodating. The breakfast they prepared was great. They provided lots of useful information regarding the area. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting the area. This is definitely a do-over when we visit the NY Wine Country again.

Room Tip: The Fireplace Room is a nice suite. It has a large Living Room, bedroom, walk in closet, bathroom with a whirlpool bath and a walkout where you can sit and enjoy the view of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M102129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We asked Boris if he would come home with us, but he refused – and who can blame him! I wouldn’t either if I lived as he does, with the wonderfully charming Anne and Charlie, in the most beautifully elegant home with the fabulous view.

If you are visiting the Finger Lakes, stay with Anne, Charlie and Boris - you will be hard pressed to find a better place to stay.

Both Anne and Charlie went out of their way to make our stay memorable, they were on hand offering lots of advice on places to visit and yet not intrusive at all, Boris, oh Boris he is wonderful! Boris is a huge, well behaved, gentle dog, who like Anne and Charlie will make you feel as if you are the most important people in the world without being in your space. Boris will run up to you when you come back from your travels as if he has been waiting on your return all day, and then stand very nicely waiting to see if you will give him a stroke, before he runs back to tell the family you are home.

Anne and Charlie’s home is absolutely fabulous; it is beautiful and elegantly decorated, with sweeping views across the lake from every room. The house was built to Anne and Charlie’s spec, prepare to say wow as you walk in for the first time. If you want flowery wallpaper, bric-a-brac and dollies then this is not for you, but if you want to stay in a tastefully decorated home with lots of interesting artefacts dotted around the home, then look no further.

We stayed in the Southwest Room, because we were the only visitors we were given the choice of the other room and the suite all for our original rate, but because we couldn’t make up our mind they were all so beautiful, we stuck with our original choice and Anne told us if we wanted we could use the suite sitting room and sleep in our chosen bedroom, but as the weather was so lovely we spent our time sitting outside our French Doors on the Adirondack chairs watching the swallows and the sun go down.

We really enjoyed our breakfasts which set us up for the day - homemade breads, muesli, local fruits, yoghurt and fruit juices to start and then a main course to follow, all of which were delicious. Anne and Charlie catered for our dietary requirements adjusting the breakfasts, even though we only booked the day before and they had no prior notice.

I could go on, quick summary – lovely comfy bed and pillows, good quality and plentiful toiletries, free mineral water in the room, speedy Wi-Fi, we didn’t try the Jacuzzi as we showered but it looked good, great location. We will definitely be back, loved it!

Room Tip: All lovely, if you want a suite - its huge, seen smaller apartments. The Northwest has a sofa and chair - no TV, Southwest has wing chair and TV - all have outside space.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews