We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
30
26
22
18
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
26
22
18
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews summer weekend beach side ferry ride vibe dj luxe
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We have been coming to Shelter Island for 38 years. Many of the last several years have been spent here at Sunset Beach Hotel. The property, hotel and management have gone down exponentially. This year, to start, the person checking us in didn't realize we had paid for half our stay when we booked in May. We did not receive the room we requested. The refrigerator did not work. The remote control would not change any channels. The rug is dirty. The restaurant is no longer open for breakfast at all and the restaurant is closed on Tuesdays. In season? Really? When we told the manager about our disappointment, she was nonplussed. On another note......back in the day, you were greeted with a bottle of wine in your room, pamphlets with "things to do" on the island, a beach ball, post cards, a lovely tote to use for the beach........now, with prices much higher, you receive far less. Actually, you receive nothing! Less is more? Not in this situation. This week will be our last stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank angeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Overpriced and sub par drinks and food.The bartender was unfriendly and dismissive and did not even give a full pour for $20 drinks.

I live on the North Shore and I am accustomed to good restaurants with nice ambience and high standards. This restaurant fell short of my expectations.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChristinaGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

For sure there are nicer more luxurious hotels to stay in the Hamptons, however few are as fun and great for people watching at Sunset Beach! And they have their own Rose' so what's not to like. Yeah the rooms are not super luxe and are a little rustic but you don't come here to stay in your room!

The vibe is cool, slightly hipster vey media and certainly fashion!

The food is good the cocktails better! But the summer weekend nights partying is what it's all about... when that sun sets the DJ turns up the bass!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BobsieStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Must visit if you are in Hamptons.,nice lunch with a magnificent sunset.First we had a dew drinks at the bar,then we ate lunch and for the sunaet we stayed in the terrace.Service & Price very good for what you get.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Celia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

$10 for a medium sized bottle of Evian. $28 for a small Niçoise salad with tinned tuna and old cherry tomatoes.
Very average service.
What a rip off!
Only plus is great view and great beach - hugely disappointing otherwise!!
Come for the beach but bring your own food and drinks!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank timetomeeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews