We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Blue Zone" in New York!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shandaken
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copperhood Retreat & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Shandaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2016

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights mid-February 2016. It was our first time there and we didn't know what to expect. Happily, we found everything to be top notch and we were treated very well. It was evident that the hosts' desire is to please. The services offered are plentiful and professional. Our massage was the best ever! The juice diet and meals are of excellent quality, fresh as can be, beautifully prepared and delicious! The other guests were the nicest people. Everyone was welcoming and supportive. I would definitely feel comfortable staying at Copperhood alone. It was a very healthy experience all around. Next time, I plan to book for a longer duration.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dfelago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

26 - 30 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2016

I was visiting here to book another trip to Copperhood and noticed a negative review (2 before this one) from the same woman that I saw on Yelp. I never do this, but this really upsets me. If you mouse over her name, she bills herself a "luxury traveler". As I told you in Yelp, if you want Luxury, go to Mexico or wherever you go to get pampered. CEO's of huge organizations and presidents of countries come here because they get it. You obviously do not. Read the positive reviews and I hope you understand what this place is about. This is a gem and I too have traveled to many luxury places all over the world and this is the only time that I feel defensive about something that so amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

I was greeted warmly by the owner and Tort! As I walked through the building, you smell clean air. For a place with a pool and Sauna I was shocked. Some other spas, you smell chlorine or mold, but here was crisp clean air. As I continued to the spa area, I was so relaxed already. The decor is clean and beautiful. Mary Ellen began to scrub away the stress, followed by herbal wrap and ended with massaging every knot of tension away! I left transformed and planning to go back as soon as possible! Marj

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Marjorie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

My friend and I were unhappy with the cold (no heat) environment which was also full of flies in bedrooms. Difficult to say anything good about the shabby "spa" and it's hostile owner who made us feel unwelcome in her hotel. She was obviously upset with our complaints but didn't do anything about it. Their advertisements on their website don't represent what is actually offered. There are no real classes as you would expect in a health spa/retreat. We left early and I am also surprised that there are positive reviews online. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 10964j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copperhood, Owner at Copperhood Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

While our retreat is a highly respected and admired destination spa, it is not for everyone and I regret that we didn’t meet your expectations. In our initial communications with potential guests, we attempt to determine whether the individual is a good fit for our spa and whether we can fulfill his visit goals. Our concern is not to fill our facility with clients who are looking for something different. Many of our guests come here for a quiet, healthy environment where they can detox, heal and establish healthy living patterns. This is another reason that we try to avoid taking in a guest who has different goals; one disappointed person can alter the positive vibe that makes the Copperhood a happy, laid back place.
Sometimes, however, someone who may have preferred a different type of a resort does arrive. We regret that this happens and do everything we can to steer people the right way.

To accomplish this objective we try to ensure that each guest has a full understanding of our policies, which unfortunately did not happen prior to and during your stay. While we did email you all the information (which is also posted on our web site) to make your visit a success, it seems you may not have fully understood our policies such as early check in, environmental and cancellation policies.

I am sorry your stay was not to your expectation even though I tried my best as it is our passion and desire to make everyone's stay at Copperhood exactly what they are seeking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

My goal was to get back on track after too much fun over the summer. I only planed on a short stay & was so sorry to have to leave when I did. I met such a nice group of people! Hiking, biking, yoga class, meditation, water aerobics, or just relaxing. Spa treatments, wonderful meals! Clean, wonderful service from the owners & staff! Looking forward to going back!!!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank DianeConti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shandaken
9.7 km away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
93 reviews
23.8 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
311 reviews
21 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
520 reviews
22.9 km away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
4.6 km away
Catskill Seasons Inn
Catskill Seasons Inn
#2 of 3 in Shandaken
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copperhood Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperhood Retreat & Spa

Address: 7039 State Route 28, Shandaken, NY 12480-5008
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Shandaken
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shandaken
Price Range: $348 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning boutique destination, where for last 32 years guests found the perfect environment for transformative vacations of wellness and rejuvenation. Nestled in the lush Catskill Mountains, a two-hour drive from New York City, the 15 room sanctuary provides an ideal balance of comfort and elegance, relaxation and fitness, gourmet and healthful. We offer a range of result-driven programs for accelerated weight-loss, detox, juice fasting, raw food diet, fitness renewal and stress relief as well as classic restorative spa holidays. Hike, bike, snow-shoe or ski; relax in the sun or wade in the creek; fish, play tennis, bird-watch or spot wildlife while dining on gourmet, local farm to table meals, Our ultimate goal is always to help you bring healthy new habits back home. Visit us here amid our lovely mountains and come away slimmer, healthier and assured: the universe is evolving, as it should! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copperhood Retreat And Spa
Copperhood Retreat Hotel Shandaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing