We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Total class, top notch inn!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renwick Clifton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Renwick Clifton House
Ranked #5 of 15 Saugerties B&B and Inns
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Total class, top notch inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

The Renwick Clifton House is by far, the BEST B & B that Ulster County has to offer if you want elegance, great views, and authentic Hudson Valley atmosphere. Everything from the decor of the entire property, to the bed linens, to the back patio view of the Hudson, to the delectable breakfast, the owners dotted EVERY "i" and crossed EVERY "t". Each room is decorated with taste that reflects the time period-no gaude, just class. Wine and cheese is served late afternoon, and any wish is your command.
This place says 5 stars with relaxation in mind. Even the bathrooms are luxurious with marble tiles and jacuzzi tubs! Wow!

Room Tip: Stay in the Mary Powell room -the best!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gcaNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

Coming from the South we dont get to see much snow. We arrived in Saugerties during a blizzard. Miriam and Eric greeted us with a much welcomed cup of house made hot chocolate. Waking up at The Renwick Clifton House, after a winter storm, is a spectacular sight. The trees were covered in a fresh blanket of snow and the Hudson River was peacefully still. We even saw a family of deer moving through the woods right from our bedroom window. The gas fireplaces in the library and parlor made for a toasty winter's night and breakfast was a hearty delight.

While the travel was rough our stay at The Renwick Clifton House made it all worth while.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masonjerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

My husband have gone to the Renwick Clifton house several times now. It's like stepping back in time. Just beautiful! We love the breakfast, the view, the Mary Powell Room and even the owners! It's hard to get up and leave. Whenever we need a break from city life, we book a night or 2 at this B&B. I highly recommend. BTW the BEST scones you'll EVER have.

Mr and Mrs Roe

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinita1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Renwick Clifton house for our 1st anniversary and absolutely enjoyed every moment we were there. Usually I prefer other accomodations over B&Bs but this was Top Notch! Beautifully decorated, great hospitality, delicious food and very clean! The hosts were very attentive to my food allergies when it came to breakfast. We stayed in the Chancellor Livingston room which faces the rear of the house and grounds and was very comfortable. All rooms seemed to be beautifully appointed as we had the opportunity to peek into them since we arrived early. My husband and I spent some time in the cozy library reading and playing board games (they have a well-stocked supply of games and books for guest use). The location worked well for us, its very close to the town of Saugerties and short 10 minute drive to Woodstock. The hosts can recommend restaurants for you, and they also have a clip board with info on restaurants and things to do in the area (the restaurant Lucy's Kitchen was great). We are looking forward to going back when the weather is a bit warmer so that we can enjoy spending time on the deck in the rear of the house with the view of the river and a nice glass of wine!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcannizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

What can I say that I haven't said before? This was our 3rd visit to the Renwick, so that surely is a compliment. This hidden gem in Saugerties is the spot for recharging batteries, relaxing, romance the most delicious breakfasts on earth.... No detail is too small or over-looked. Hosts Miriam and Eric make sure your stay is comfortable and will do whatever necessary to accomodate their guests and treat them as though they are family visiting their lovely home. As far as B&B's go, look no further, this will not dissapoint! We are already planning visit # 4 and we will be bringing friends along.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalineLovesRoadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
0.8 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
11.4 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
14.8 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.2 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
12.0 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renwick Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renwick Clifton House

Property: Renwick Clifton House
Address: 27 Barclay St, Saugerties, NY 12477-1905
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saugerties
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing