We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saratoga Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saratoga Arms
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Saratoga Arms exudes turn-of-the-(previous)-century charm, with contemporary conveniences. Clean and well-maintained, it has WIFI, a basket of umbrellas by the front doors in case you’re caught in an unexpected rainstorm, a beautiful oak banister that sweeps up three floors, and thick, fluffy luxury towels in the baths. In the morning you’re greeted by a hot breakfast in addition to the usual continental fare, with hot beverages, fruit and muffins for very early risers. One of the “parlors” appeared to be discreetly outfitted as a meeting room, though the hidden drop-down screen and projector didn’t distract from the charming character of the room. Though we were there as a romantic getaway, it would also have been appropriate for solo travel or a business engagement.
Though we arrived fairly late at night, the staff greeted us warmly and made us feel welcomed. All the staff, from the front desk to the breakfast waitstaff, were pleasant, positive, and polite. It’s located right on Broadway, a very short walk to City Center, Music Hall, and wonderful shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    49
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
73
321
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We started our last minute weekend get away heading north. We were able to stay the night at Saratoga Arms. Our stay couldn't have been better. The staff was welcoming and helpful in getting reservations for dinner. The room was beautiful and very comfortable with small amenities that you don't always get. The breakfast was excellent. The Saratoga eggs were wonderful and the fact that regular tea was available made my breakfast perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easton,ct
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a unique property operated by its proprietors who live on-site.
Everything about this Inn says "welcome" .
I never felt so at home at a hotel. Location is unbeatable.
The Inn is immaculately maintained and the staff truly cares.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have fireplaces.....be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeEaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Perfect is the word you can use to describe Saratoga Arms. Staff was very friendly and professional. The property was exquisite, I stayed in one of their Parlor Suites, it was one of the best I have been in. They have free bottles of Saratoga water in the rooms and there spa services are great. The location is great, especially during First Night, that is when I stayed. I would recommend this property to anyone. An historic building owned by people who care about keeping history alive.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCNewYork_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England, Novi Anglia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed here over the holidays on a brief trip to escape and relax. It is a beautiful, luxurious and very well-restored old hotel. Having not been to Saratoga Springs previously, I was expecting a small pedestrian-friendly town, when in fact the hotel and the surrounding destination restaurants and shops make up two sides of the street for a few blocks along busy Route 9, a 4-lane state road that runs through town. As a result there is a good deal of traffic noise to be heard inside the hotel. It is within a brief walk of a number of interesting restaurants and shops however. If I return to Saratoga Springs looking for R&R, I might opt for the Gideon Putnam, which the reviewers say doesn't have as nice facilities but it is in the quiet state park. I would also add that parking is in a lot across the street from the side entrance to the hotel. I did not feel that I or my car were 100% safe there at night as it was somewhat deserted and out of sight.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett2, General Manager at Saratoga Arms, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Saratoga Springs is a small city that is fortunate to be on a popular north/south route offering travelers easy access to our beautiful city. Broadway (Rt.9) is a wide street not usually found in a city our size. It was designed by Gideon Putnam, a famous name around Saratoga Springs, as he laid out the town around the springs, so that he could drive his wagon with a team of horses from one end of town to the other and turn around without unhitching the horse team. The speed limit through town is only 30MPH with stoplights every 2-3 blocks to keep traffic moving at a controlled pace and traffic slows considerably after hours.

Our hotel has some rooms that overlook Broadway and others that overlook a side street. Many of our romantic fireplace rooms are located on the front of the house with a view of our historic downtown area adding to the romantic atmosphere. We certainly can offer other options for guests who may be light sleepers, just let us know, we are happy to accommodate your needs.

Saratoga Arms is located downtown in the heart of the city and offers guests the opportunity to walk to fine dining, upscale shopping and interesting night life without having to get in a car, a luxury not available to guests of properties located in the park or on the outskirts of town. Our guests find this to be a real plus that allows them freedom from parking or the chance to enjoy that bottle of fine wine.

There is ample, safe, well lit parking within a half block of the hotel. The lot that this reviewer refers to is privately owned by Saratoga Arms just across the street from our side entrance, and is visible from several points in the hotel and it is adjacent to other privately owned parking opportunities behind residential houses.

Amy Smith
The Smith Family
Saratoga Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.2 km away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
3.2 km away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.5 km away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#15 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 km away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#13 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Arms

Property: Saratoga Arms
Address: 497 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price range (per night): $309 - $608
Hotel Class:4 star — Saratoga Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning Saratoga Springs luxury hotel located in the heart of beautiful downtown steps to the Thoroughbred Races, shopping, restaurants, and museums. Our Saratoga Springs bed & breakfast features 31 individually appointed rooms with fireplaces & whirlpool tubs, combining historic elegance and modern amenities. A delicious full breakfast, Wi-Fi & concierge service is included at our romantic Saratoga Springs lodging. Experience why the Saratoga Arms stand apart from all other hotels in Saratoga Springs, NY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saratoga Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Arms Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Arms Springs
Saratoga Arms Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing