We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashioned but warm”
Review of Porcupine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porcupine Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Saranac Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

you can breath the atmosphere of the past here. We stayed in the Bartlett suite which is very big and confortable, but the room we liked best is the beautiful dining room where Amy (the innkeeper) served us a delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

It was our first stay ever at a B&B and when we first drove up we were a little reluctant that we had made the right choice choosing a B&B over a hotel, based on the outside appearance of the Porcupine. It has a very "haunting" look to it! However, once we were greeted at the front door by Meg, and we stepped inside, our whole opinion changed. The inside was very clean and cozy and Meg was very informative as to sites and restaurants to visit. If you are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay after site seeing all day, the Porcupine is the place to staty. Thanks for everything Meg!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5greatkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

It is not the lap of luxury, but that's not why we come to the Adirondacks or Saranac Lake for. The Porcupine Inn was built as a 'cure home' for a TB patient and has a lovely back porch where you can envision patients taking the outdoor 'cure'. It was stifling hot outside but the non-airconditioned home stayed cool and we slept under blankets with only a ceiling fan on low and windows open.

Meg, the owner, was helpful and well meaning, anxious to give a real B+B experience and succeeded with a wonderful breakfast, helpful advice, and nurturing a welcoming atmosphere (the pool table lighting is cool).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChasFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Pros: Quiet location, large rooms, decent breakfast (although meager in size), pool table, hottub

Cons: The place is run down,not clean, beds are from Motel 6, the property is overgrown and not well tended. I paid $543 for two nights and and would say this is surely not a luxury Inn...I would expect the price for this to be in the $90 to $100 per night range based on how tired and unattractive the whole property is.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TinaFaye48301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had an absolutely fantastic time at this beautiful b&b. The property is very well cared-for and the owner is very charming and very knowledgeable about the area. The bed was very comfortable and luxurious and the breakfasts were outstanding. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellieM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
2.3 km away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
498 reviews
11.3 km away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
352 reviews
12.2 km away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
6 km away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
109 reviews
11.2 km away
Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge
Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge
#5 of 14 in Lake Placid
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porcupine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Inn

Address: 350 Park Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-5525
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saranac Lake
Price Range: $200 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself with Adirondack charm in Saranac Lake's largest, luxury inn overlooking the forest and mountains. This one-of-a-kind historic lodge features 6 fireplaces, an outdoor jacuzzi, a billiard lounge, wine & beer bar, gourmet kitchen ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porcupine Hotel Saranac Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing