We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Labor Day Love Affair with The Roxbury”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roxbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“My Labor Day Love Affair with The Roxbury”
Reviewed 9 September 2010

This is my second trip to The Roxbury, again on Labor Day weekend. My husband and I have decided again that this will be our go to spot every Labor Day. Greg and Joe have continued to raise the bar and I was beyond impressed with the new wing of the hotel. Before I get to that one thing about these gentlemen; never in my entire life have I met such creative and extraordinary people. They are the definition of hospitality and their TripAdvisor award is well deserved. In less than a year they have built from the ground up an entire new building across the street of their hotel. I had the privilege of getting a behind the scene tour of the new rooms and suites. To say they are gorgeous and outrageous is an understatement. The amount of detail put into each individual room is insane! We had the honor to stay one night in the room titled THE FINAL FRONTIER. This suite was beyond comprehension, it truly was the final frontier! First off this suite is huge! Two full size bathrooms, one of which has a huge soaking tub for two! Both bathroom have double shower heads. The tile work is gorgeous! And you will be surprised at night as the wet bar is completely covered in glow in the dark tile! There is a feature in the living room area that must be seen. You truly feel like you are watching shooting stars with the led effects. The furniture is custom made, a spiral staircase, a chandelier that's shaped like Jupiter! Crazy, I loved it ! I can't say anything else other than it was perfect. Actually it exceeds perfection! I cannot wait another year to stay at The Roxbury and I'm cooking up a scheme to get there sooner. Over the top or not, what really makes this hotel tick are the wonderful people who run it and their dedicated team. Bravo! Greg and Joe! I have fallen in love all over again! I'll post some pics but you really must see it to believe it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    51
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
122
356
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oxford,ny
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I stayed in the holly go lightly room ..it's beautiful..this whole place is beautiful and or fun!!it depends on what room you stay in...the spa is small but it has all you need..there's a larger one in the new building openning soon..i had a massage from danelle and it was heaven...greg one of the owner's could not have been nicer!!..I'm sorry i don't remember the other man's name but he's always around with a friendly smile & a hello and fire wood....we had a fire and roasted marshmellow with some of the other guest one of our nights there..we started are day with a heathly breakfast,that seem to have something to fit everyones tastes,greg was so nice to give me & some of the other guest a tour of the new building and it's already wonderful..their attention to the smallest detail is amazing!!!the only thing I can stay that's not a plus is food is not always easy to come by so make sure you check times & days for diners...I so want to visit this place again..I plan on going to see the wizard.....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommypersonny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Great stay. Loved the decor, friendly hosts as well as the other guests. The fire pit was truly memorable. I could have sat next to it all day just socializing. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtberNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Moriches
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Everything was better then perfect, exceeded our expectations! The room was immaculate with a surprise around every corner. Luxorious soaps, complimentary water bottles, Godiva chocolates and of course wine and champagne accessible at any point. We ate at the Public House Restaurant, literally next door which was fantastic. Everyone should stay here!! It is an experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savanahlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

the roxbury is one of the best hotels ive ever stayed in! for that price i was NOT expecting the level of amenities and interior that was given. we stayed in the Mod Pod, which was GREAT! the designer of the room (and rest of the hotel) has impeccable taste. there was a nice balance of modern chic and "warmth" that you would get at most country inns.
ROOM - i was very pleased with how well the room was presented, it was spotless, the towels/bedsheets were crisp and warm, we even had Godviva chocolates by the bedside!
OTHER - the continental breakfast selection was very nice, there was home-made blueberry jam, exquisite chocolate spread, fancy teas and "from crop to cup" coffee. the staff members were all very friendly and stopped to greet you all the time :)
the only "down" side would be the location in that it wasnt near most touristy places, BUT if you rented a car like i did, its worth the extra 30-45min drive.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for people who want to get top class service & amenities for a great price! the different themed rooms are very unique too!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LingQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roxbury
28.1 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
288 reviews
27.9 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
25.2 km away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 km away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
434 reviews
20.1 km away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
214 reviews
14.3 km away
Stamford Gables
Stamford Gables
#1 of 4 in Stamford
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging

Property: The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging
Address: 2258 County Highway 41, Roxbury, NY 12474-1465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
Price range (per night): $131 - $1,122
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Roxbury, a supercool boutique hotel nestled amongst the picturesque Catskill Mountains. Whether you call it "cool design," "whimsical elegance," or, our favorite, "decadently over-the top," we're all about design and how it makes your feel. At The Roxbury, we want to make you smile. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging Hotel Roxbury
The Hotel Roxbury
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging New York - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing