We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience you'll never forget!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roxbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I planned a girl's weekend for my sister's 30 something birthday, 5 of us stayed at the Roxbury for one night. We were in a suite with two bedrooms with HUGE king beds, SUPER COMFY, 2 large bathrooms, and a large living room area. The suite itself, besides the large size, was the most amazing room I have ever stayed in. The decor, lighting, and attention to detail was like no other I have ever experienced. Every inch of our room had something to enjoy, from the full armor above our heads, the skeleton toilet paper dispensor, the cousin It lamps, black tiled counters, textured wall paper, to the animal heads, simply incredible. The price was much cheaper than any other hotel/spa I researched, in fact, the exprience I had was priceless. The staff was so welcoming, the room clean as could be, and despite the Roxury being pleasently full, we didn't hear a peep from any of the other rooms. I HIGHLY recommend that anyone who can, experience this place for themselves. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vixs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 415 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

stayed at the Roxbury last night (4th April 2012) and had a fabulous time. My sister, nephew (aged 6 yrs) and i stayed in the Coconut Cream Pie Room. I have stayed at many top class hotels all over the world and this was definately one of the best that i have experienced. The room had a great theme but was also very functional. It had the main double bed and two pull out sofas. The room was spacious enough for the three of us and was very clean. The bathroom had the deepest bath tub i have ever been in and also a range of high quality beauty products. The bedsheets and towels were top quality.
I thought that it was a very nice touch that in the main reception, there were snacks such as fresh cookies and candy as well as iced water avaliable on arrival. Also in our block of suites there was a conference room from which we were also able to obtain free tea/coffee and cakes/cookies. The reception also had a large cupboard full of DVD's that we free to loan. The TV in the bedroom also had free access to Netflicks.
We saw Greg one of the owners a few times during our stay, who was extremely friendly. The other staff there were also very friendly and made sure that we had everything we needed.
The hotel was top quality and i would definately recommend it to others. My only criticism would be of the location as it is located in a rural village and the nearby resturant was shut on a Tuesday which meant that we had to drive a few miles to another small town to eat out. having said that we were advised by hotel reception that we could order in food and unlike us most people travelling to this area, would be engaging in sports activities such as ziplining and skiing. However i cannot fault the hotel facilities and the quality of staff and service is excellent.

Room Tip: I liked the Coconut Cream Pie room, as right outside the door there was a large table and seating lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I loved the kitschy and campiness of the motel’s décor, so don’t assume it’s a luxury hotel in the Catskills, because it’s not. The beds were not all that comfy and small (it’s a double bed), so if you are travelling with friends and you are taller than average you will hang off the bed. The rooms are eccentrically decorated, and cozy. The continental breakfast is a nice treat if you don’t feel like leaving for breakfast too early. We had a great time, and were able to relax and get in early watch a movie. We stayed in room 5, which felt like we were in a wierd version of Tim Burton's Nightmare Before Christmas.Loved it!

Be advised, take a GPS or get excellent directions, because there is absolutely no cel reception in the area, you’ll see as you get closer, maybe 30-45 minutes away. My only peeve was that I felt the room was a bit over-priced, but in comparison to other motels in the area, I was alright with the bump in price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melladrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This place is crazy - in a good way! A fantasy boutique hotel hidden in a tiny town just outside the Catskills park, with a cocktail bar next door that serves pink martinis and excellent food. My husband and I booked the cheapest double, which was snazzy enough, but in the morning we met one of the owners, Gary, and toured the other rooms...wow – check out Maryann's Coconut Cream Pie (meringue on the ceiling) or George's Spacepad (shooting laser stars).

Breakfast was very generous, help-yourself, and there are always snacks available in the main lobby/lounge. Staff all super-friendly. Highly recommended for a fantasy party in one of the big suites...

Room Tip: Just look at the photos – all are fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monicaiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

A wonderful place to stay. The staff is extremely nice and very helpful. Everything was very clean. The rooms are fabulous we were given a tour of a few rooms and wre amazed at the attention to detail. The amount of time out into each of the rooms is amazing. I can't wait to go back and experience a different room!!! The spa rooms are wonderful to relax in and the decor is beautiful. We stayed in a kitchenette room, it was the blac & white room, it was gorgeous even though it was not a full on themed room it definitely felt like it was because of all the detail and decor that was in it. We already have our next room picked out for next year :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnB186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roxbury
28 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
307 reviews
27.8 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
517 reviews
25.2 km away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 km away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#2 of 5 in Hunter
135 reviews
30.2 km away
Kaatskill Mountain Club
35.9 km away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 2 in Tannersville
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging

Address: 2258 County Highway 41, Roxbury, NY 12474-1465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
Price Range: $127 - $1,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Roxbury, a supercool boutique hotel nestled amongst the picturesque Catskill Mountains. Whether you call it "cool design," "whimsical elegance," or, our favorite, "decadently over-the top," we're all about design and how it makes your feel. At The Roxbury, we want to make you smile. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging Hotel Roxbury
The Hotel Roxbury
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging New York - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing