We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Dinosaur now”
Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
Reserve with OpenTable
Dinosaur Bar-B-Que is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,293 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Burlington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Just a Dinosaur now”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Setted imeddiately at 4pm one day. Sat 10 min. before someone strolled over and took order. Arrived fairly quick. Small portions for the money. Had pork sandwich platter for $10 and was still hungry. Need more meat on the sandwich. Cucumber salad was soaked and was probably sitting for a day or two. Need to get back to what made them famous years ago.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjcvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,119
    564
    151
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best BBQ and Soup Ever On Birthday”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

It was my birthday and me and my dad decided to go to the Dinosaur Bar-B-Que because they not only have the best chicken and wings we've ever had, even bettter than in NYC. I've had tomatoe soup at the best places imaginable even soup and salad places and the Dinosaur Bar-B-Que had the best ever.
The service is always fast and courteous and the place is very clean. And don't forget to try the coffee either.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank athonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanham, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious, Southerner approved!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Loved the half (or maybe it was a quarter) chicken. The way in which Dinosaur smokes it beforehand, with aromatic spices and seasoning, is AH-MAY-ZING! I have a tomato allergy, so I can't enjoy BBQ sauces (boohoo), but the meat is so good here that it doesn't need sauce! :) The sides were pretty awesome as well: spicy corn, mac 'n cheese, collards with turkey neck, sweet cornbread. They serve sweet tea, a true Southern staple, and the atmosphere is rustic and fun. I know they were featured on the Food Network or the Travel Channel, and they definitely deserve the attention!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank affordabletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in Downtown Rochester”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I've visited Dinosaur a few times. The BBQ is very good here! The location is right on the river downtown. Parking is along a bridge over the river, and can be difficult at times.

I usually get some kind of Combo platter so I can try different types of BBQ. Everything I've tried so far has been excellent! (beef, pork, chicken). The sides are great too.

I've visited BBQ restaurants throughout the country and this one is just as good as any of them, including those in the South, which tend to be the best.

This is a staple restaurant in Rochester, and it is a very entertaining place to visit with friends and co-workers. I highly recommend it!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank frekwentflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Smoked Food”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I've been to many bbq down south. What tey're missing down there is Dinosaur bbq. This is the standard for bbq. If you like blues music they always have it live at night.

Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing