We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
65
89
71
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
89
71
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attached garage wedding venue cocktail hour hudson river walking bridge lobby bar son's wedding shuttle bus buffet style decent size stayed two nights poughkeepsie area grandview maureen thermostat walkway
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We had hoped this might be a well-refurbished old hotel. Alas, no. Just old in a bad way -- tired. The breakfast was filling, but a decidedly down-market version of the now standard buffet. Won a road trip, and have enjoyed much nicer accommodations for $50 less a night. You would think, for $200 a night, they could do better than plastic glasses. The key advantage is that it's one block from the excellent Millhouse Brew Pub.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank museum-a-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for your comments, sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

This place is horrible!!! From the gross parking garage, to the nasty elevators to get you from the parking garage, to the carpets in the hall, to the stinky smelly hallways. If it wasn’t for the fact that I was here for a wedding, I’d had left. The room smelled musty. I sprayed it with perfume to help us get through the night. There is no fitness center, no pool, no spa. Their breakfast is nasty. I had to leave to find a restaurant to eat and get some coffee. Please don’t waste your time if you can help it.

Stayed: July 2018
2  Thank enjoyinglifelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your review! We're so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

In town for a class reunion and thought booking in the city a good idea versus the plentiful chain hotels out on Rt 9, and of course intrigued by the "Grand" in the name. While the lobby and bar look good -- and were chock full of wedding guests getting ready for their main events -- and there are plentiful function rooms, when I got to my room -- after having to park in an adjacent multi story garage, drag suitcase to garage elevator, down to hotel lobby and then up to my room (unpleasant also late at night) -- it was decent motel quality at best. Spacious room, big bed, tons of pillows, desk, table and chair with window overlooking the parking garage roof and bridges over Hudson beyond. As one other reviewer said, hard finding an outlet including nothing near bed with which to charge the phone I also use as my alarm clock. Boring decor, but again, not critical as long as amenities ok. Towels were more cheap motel grade, and although there was a refrigerator and microwave, with "Grand" in the name, I had rather thought there might be a mini bar. If you have to stay in the city, ok, but brace yourself for basic motel everything at what was a very high price for the June weekend. If you don't fancy wandering around a parking garage alone at night looking for the elevator, you won't care that parking is free. Breakfast is too. That's something suppose. Never again.

Room Tip: As for room with view toward the river
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear of your complaints, we do appreciate that you stayed with us for 2 nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

What a dump. The room was worse than you might find at Motel 8 spartan. Disgusting Bathroom had a tiny sink and a tub. They wanted a deposit for the remote on the TV!

There are no good hotels in Poughkeepsie. So if thinking of sending your kid to school here consider Boston or Baltimore Great schools and hotels!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JazzyMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you for your review! Our bathrooms come equipped with all standard size sinks, bathtubs, showers, and toilets. We don't understand your comment about the TV remote, since we have NEVER ask any guest to "leave a deposit for the TV remote"! We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you disliked the great outstanding Marist College, Vassar College and The Culinary Institute of America, all in Poughkeepsie. Good luck on your journey for a great school!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We started planning our wedding 2yrs ago. We were suppose to get married in November 2017 and we had to moved it to yesterday April 29th due to the fact that my Mother passed away and my spouse was diagnosed with ALS so needless to say it was a very difficult year. Our banquet manager was Gina she could not have done more for us! She would converse with Maureen who is the hotel manager they both were extremely sympathetic and empathetic they just could not have been more accomadating to our needs, nothing was a problem with all the obstacles we endured while planning our beautiful wedding! The whole staff within the hotel were all great!
I highly recommend this BEAUTIFUL hotel to cater whatever event you may have in the future you will not be sorry!!
God Bless You, Gina and Maureen and all who work at the very amazing Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel you all made what was like a dark cloud into a very beautiful, clear and sunny day for us! We love you all and we will never forget any of you!!! Thank You for EVERYTHING!!

Paul and Tom Haywood

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for your review! We cannot express how wonderful it is to hear your comments about your Wedding day! We are so pleased you enjoyed your special day and it was everything you had wished for. Congratulations to the both of you and enjoy your life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews