We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lobby - rooms okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great lobby - rooms okay”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night while in town for work. The lobby and lounge were honestly the best part of the hotel. They had free freshly popped popcorn to enjoy while watching Thursday night football. The Starbucks cafe was also great in the morning for a quick fix before heading out. The layout of the rooms seemed odd and way too spread out. The rooms themselves were okay, very dark with views of the parking lot. Staff was friendly and helpful. Other negatives included not having an atm machine on site.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    187
    64
    13
    8
See reviews for
125
123
22
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berks County, PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Let me start by mentioning that we have stayed at a number of hotels in this area because of its proximity to a nearby college. Three of us recently stayed here for the first time. Our stay was for one night.

Check-in was smooth and the front desk staff was friendly. The spacious lobby included a fireplace with seating, and a bar/cafe area where Starbucks coffee, bar drinks, and limited menu items were available for purchase. There was plenty of seating available in the lobby to sit and relax. The decor was modern and pleasant.

Our room had a bit of a musty odor, which was disappointing. We had two double beds and there were three adults staying in the room. We had plenty of space in the main room. The beds were clean and comfortable. In the bathroom, the sink area seemed a little small with only one sink and somewhat limited counter area. It appeared that the space could have used a facelift, but it was clean and comfortable. I mention this only because it seemed limited in comparison to what we had experienced at some other nearby (and likely less expensive) hotels.

Two of us used the fitness facilities in the morning. The space was small and included 3-4 treadmills, a recumbant bicycle, a weight bench and free weights. There was a TV monitor on the wall and there were small individual monitors on some of the equipment. The equipment seemed new and everything worked well. Towels, sanitary wipes, and a water cooler were provided. Since we were the first to get to the facility in the morning, we had our choice of equipment, and our experience with the fitness center went well. Another couple arrived shortly after us, taking two other available treadmills, which left few options for anyone else who would have arrived at that time. We looked at the pool in the evening, but did not use it. It was small, but looked nice and several people were using it.

Although there was Starbucks coffee available for purchase in the lobby, there was also free coffee (another brand) available in the lobby in the morning. We appreciated the coffee. It was also nice to have a bar available in the lobby for the evening. This feature was not available in any of the other places we had stayed in the area. The bar/lobby was empty when two of us had an evening drink. We sat at a small round booth that included its own small TV monitor.

Overall, our stay was pleasant and we would return if the price was competitive with other places in the area at the time of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dreamer21361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights this month while taking a class at the CIA. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, but that is the only good thing I can say about the hotel. My colleague had to switch rooms because her room was full of bugs. My room was completely 100% NOT soundproof. I spent all 5 nights tossing and turning because I could hear EVERYTHING my neighbors were saying(and doing). It was so loud I felt like we were in the same room! The bed was uncomfortable due to the fact that the sheets were cheap and itchy, maybe due to a very low quality laundry detergent? The heating system was extremely loud as well.
The lobby cafe doesn't open until 7 am. I went down at 6:30 the first morning and was quite surprised. Why even have a Starbucks cafe if it opens that late?
I wouldn't stay here again and I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlyGirlHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery Village, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The Bistro concept put in during the recent renovation really elevates this hotel. The staff were all very friendly. Try the oatmeal for breakfast - it is outstanding! Starbucks coffee is also a very "nice to have"!

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel (opposite Rt 9) is VERY quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights last weekend. The lobby is beautiful (you can easily find pictures online), the rest of the hotel is ok. It struck me as an older hotel owned by someone else, and then the Marriotts came in and redid it in their style. The old doors are still there, the walls are very thin, and our moth-eaten shades seemed right out of the Carter presidency. Free wi-fi was good, our flat screen tv was great, the ala carte breakfast seemed nice (had they actually made our food promptly - unfortunately ours took forever and we had to leave before it was ever ready), and the parking was free. I didn't think it was worth $159 a night at all though, especially for this region (strangely, I got this rate on hotels.com, which was $20 cheaper than the Marriott site). I'd stay here again if the boutique inns were all booked (which they were for this trip)...but only if I was convinced this was the best rate for the quality in the area. I'm not sure I'm convinced right now.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
1.0 km away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
3.9 km away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
3.9 km away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Poughkeepsie

Property: Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Address: 2641 South Rd, Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5273
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#2 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price range (per night): $180 - $352
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Poughkeepsie boasts a convenient location to popular area attractions, local businesses and top corporations, including Marist College, The Culinary Institute of America, and the IBM Poughkeepsie facility. Our Poughkeepsie, NY hotel features 149 renovated guest rooms and suites with luxury bedding, a comfortable seating area, large work desk with ergonomic chair, high-speed Internet access, well-lit bathroom vanities with Paul Mitchell(R) products, and more. Unique among hotels in Poughkeepsie, NY, our interactive GoBoard(R) enables guests to view the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - at our Poughkeepsie hotel offers cafe-style meals, Starbucks(R) coffee, and an evening cocktail service. Standing out among other Poughkeepsie hotels, we offer a state-of-the-art busines center with high-speed Internet, boarding pass station, and free printing services. Guests will experience a new perspective on travel when staying at the Courtyard Poughkeepsie hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Marriott, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Courtyard
Poughkeepsie Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing