We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of Shangri-La

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Terrible
1 review
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Old Forge, New York

Reviews from our community

Terrible - based on 1 review
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Anthony31...
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pass on this place”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
23
people found this review helpful

The scenery was very nice but the house was lacking from old furniture and uncomfortable old beds. The refrigerator was also very old and in need of updating. The so called gourmet kitchen which does not offer much counterspace and a oven that that needs the boiler to be on to heat up the oven before use of oven along with poor utensils and 1 cooking pan. I wouldn't recommend swimming on the small sandbeach two of the kids had to have leeches removed from there body after swimming "twice" by the third day we couldn't allow them to go swimming anymore this is an OK place if you plan to do a lot of sightseeing and not spend much time at the house be careful of the owner he over sells a lot and under delivers we also had an issue with bogus charges after the vacation was over a way that the owner could try to get more money

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2016
For your very special family:

Anthony DeMarchi, alias 315 Anthony, posted the ONLY negative review in Shangri-La's entire 26 years of renting. From the beginning to the very end of his tenancy, he expressed to me a strong positive conviction about Shangri-La. Only after I was needed to debit part of his security deposit for damages that his group clearly caused, did he become negative.

Henry Connelly, one of his guests, fraudulently caused a chargeback of $450 of the DeMarchis' security deposit by knowingly and falsely claiming Shangri-La’s cleaning charges were invalid, ignoring the documented damage to Shangri-La presented to him.

Contrary to Mr. DeMarchi, it is not necessary to turn the oven to broil to cook pizza and we found the oven a charred mess. That was their clear responsibility to clean. Further, diametrically contrary to my instructions, Mr. DeMarchi kept and left refrigerators overworking to the max with a resultant frozen cucumber left behind in one refrigerator.

Also contrary to Mr. DeMarchi's allegations, Shangri-La offers a 175 foot private sandy beach; I have never experienced or seen a single leech at or near the beach or in or near Rondaxe Lake, the lake was thoroughly iced over on February 20, 2016, the day that he claimed he rented from me. Shangri-La provides 4 iron cooking pans of different sizes, plus an array of 14 additional pans and pots, largely stainless steel and Pyrex, and the Scheidelmans’ took pains to deliver everything they promised.

Further, he never rented from me from this website.

Kitchen workspace is more than adequate, especially as the solid oak table there can serve as an island for extra area.

Mr. DeMarchi takes exception to the antique furniture and the three perfectly functioning refrigerator-freezers, consonant with comfort, utility and decorum. I am 6'2" and comfortably slept on both the great room couches and relished it. It is a wonder Mr. DeMarchi felt any discomfort having 20 empty bottles of hard liquor and wine and 79 empty ale and beer cans left behind.

Wholly inconsistent with Mr. Demarche’s allegations is the fact that now for 12 consecutive years Shangri-La was rented for a summer week to the same extended family of professionals.

As an example of DeMarchis’ damage, Shangri-La’s solid oak family heirloom chest of drawers and matching nightstand were virtually flawless before the DeMarchis' tenancy. Immediately thereafter we found them obviously scratched and/or chipped.

In violation of the lease, the DeMarchis vacated, leaving 6 trash cans filled with garbage and trash, plus 7 large bags of garbage and trash including the79 empty ale and beer cans and 20 empty bottles of hard liquor and wine mentioned above.

In addition, I made no charge for: causing a crease on a bedroom back wall by slamming the door knob into the wall, damning-up the brook, causing flooding of the sidewalk, leaving clothes hangers on the railing of the overhead door of the garage, because of the extensive time we were required to invest in extra work and cleaning, we were unable to complete the inventory for the next guests.

The crux of the concept of Shangri-La is to emulate the fictional Shangri-La in The Lost Horizon by James Hilton. As such Shangri-La is nestled in the Adirondack Mountains on a private lake with its own library; Mr. DeMarchi makes no mention of the new and modern facilities and the many amenities.

It would appear that honesty, truthfulness, respect or accountability is not among Mr. DeMarchi’s most noteworthy virtues.


Dr. Ronald J Scheidelman
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing