We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Waters Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 100*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 210*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 166*
USD 150*
Courtyard
View Deal
Bay Shore Inn(Bay Shore)
USD 109*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 121*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Clegg's Hotel(Ocean Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
34
18
5
3
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
18
5
3
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach chairsyogurtfrench toaststay there againhard boiled eggsbeautiful rooftopfree breakfastrooms are smallwe've stayedharveydeckferryislandweekendstepsaccommodationsbedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

As I was writing a review for another hotel, I remembered I had never written a review for the Blue Waters Hotel and had to immediately. Back in August, a group of girlfriends and I had rented 4 rooms and had several issues with the hotel.

1) check-in took forever and it was messy
2) surprise change in hotel rates
3) they dont clean your room every day unless "requested" and they still have the audacity to charge you $15 additional per day for a "cleaning service"
4) we were given a "suite" that included two full beds and a door to the bathroom that didnt even close
5) we were the only room that opened to the patio and our door didnt lock. Instead a bar was put in place of a lock.
6) they threatened to charge us $100 if anyone smoked on the patio, but the patio was open to all guests so this was unrealistic

***THE WORST of it all was that as we were quietly drinking in our room w/about 5 girls, management came up and threatened to charge us a noise fee. It was absolutely ridiculous as there was a club blasting music from below. We even overheard the ladies at the front desk talking about how they could get us with additional charges.

Needless to say I will never be back as this was the worst hotel experience I have ever had and the staff is a joke.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank amai1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We booked this hotel for our son's wedding weekend. Was told it had a roof top deck for our use. Unfortunately for us, the hotel used this room to make money by renting it out for a rehersal party and we could not use it. So, instead of our guests enjoying all the food and drinks we brought from the Mainland, we ended up spending a few hundred dollars bringing them to the local pub. REDICULOUS. If they tell you that the roof top deck is for your use, then they should have called us to be sure we didn't plan on using it.
They also tacked on a $10.00 gratuity - the dictionary lists a gratuity as: An award (as for meritorious service) given without claim or obligation.
Yet, we were not asked to leave a gratuity, it was added to our bill.
I must say it was clean, but very very very tiny.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wonder2Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We cannot say enough positive things about The Blue Waters Hotel. The staff goes out of their way to help with every need. Karen and Elaine are always available to answer questions or help find a beach chair, umbrella, towels, extra linens, anything that is desired!!
This was our second stay and we booked already for next summer. Harvey is just wonderful and warm and always willing to help as well. His rooftop deck is so serene, with beautiful plants everywhere. We loved starting our day with early morning coffee there and a sunset cocktail to kick off the evening. Our room was clean and the linens fresh. The location is also perfect being right in town, very convenient to all. Looking forward to summer 2012 at The Blue Waters!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wende B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed at one of Blue Waters family of properties, The Bay House, which is apartment style. It 's our second time at Bay House and third with Blue Waters. The management is very friendly, efficient and always willing to accommodate any requests you may have. We stay in the apartments because we're a family of 4 and they provide plenty of room and comfort. All of Blue Waters properties are well maintained, clean and situated perfectly around F.I. We're always greeted with a warm welcome and leave saying, "See ya next year!!" For consistency, value and variety, you can't go wrong with Blue Waters - Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Our family was good enough to arrange a 3 night stay for our 35th wedding anniversary.
The front staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel provides sand chairs, umbrellas and beach towels at no additional cost. The room was simple but clean. The deck on the roof was very nice to enjoy a cup of coffee or look at the stars. Fire Island is a very relaxed atmosphere and if you are expecting a five star hotel, Fire Island should not be your destination. It is a beautiful spot to enjoy the beach and sunsets. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katahy1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews