We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“blue waters”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Waters Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Waters Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ocean Beach
elmwood park, nj
2 reviews
“blue waters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The experience was nothing short of wonderful.The staff treated us like we were the only ones staying there. They answered all of our questions and made the whole experience worth coming from nj. I would highly recommend everyone staying at the Blue Waters as the staff is extrmeely helpful and knowledgeable of the island. As far as the rates go, they are as competitive as the island allows -- we stayed one week and cannot believe how inexpensive the cost was compared to other hotels there. The cleansiness in addition was excellent. They sure do take pride in making patrons welcome. I already book 2012 again.

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what you are looking for and they will steer you in the right direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    16
    6
    3
    13
See reviews for
11
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

As I was writing a review for another hotel, I remembered I had never written a review for the Blue Waters Hotel and had to immediately. Back in August, a group of girlfriends and I had rented 4 rooms and had several issues with the hotel.

1) check-in took forever and it was messy
2) surprise change in hotel rates
3) they dont clean your room every day unless "requested" and they still have the audacity to charge you $15 additional per day for a "cleaning service"
4) we were given a "suite" that included two full beds and a door to the bathroom that didnt even close
5) we were the only room that opened to the patio and our door didnt lock. Instead a bar was put in place of a lock.
6) they threatened to charge us $100 if anyone smoked on the patio, but the patio was open to all guests so this was unrealistic

***THE WORST of it all was that as we were quietly drinking in our room w/about 5 girls, management came up and threatened to charge us a noise fee. It was absolutely ridiculous as there was a club blasting music from below. We even overheard the ladies at the front desk talking about how they could get us with additional charges.

Needless to say I will never be back as this was the worst hotel experience I have ever had and the staff is a joke.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amai1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean Beach hotels

ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We booked this hotel for our son's wedding weekend. Was told it had a roof top deck for our use. Unfortunately for us, the hotel used this room to make money by renting it out for a rehersal party and we could not use it. So, instead of our guests enjoying all the food and drinks we brought from the Mainland, we ended up spending a few hundred dollars bringing them to the local pub. REDICULOUS. If they tell you that the roof top deck is for your use, then they should have called us to be sure we didn't plan on using it.
They also tacked on a $10.00 gratuity - the dictionary lists a gratuity as: An award (as for meritorious service) given without claim or obligation.
Yet, we were not asked to leave a gratuity, it was added to our bill.
I must say it was clean, but very very very tiny.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wonder2Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We cannot say enough positive things about The Blue Waters Hotel. The staff goes out of their way to help with every need. Karen and Elaine are always available to answer questions or help find a beach chair, umbrella, towels, extra linens, anything that is desired!!
This was our second stay and we booked already for next summer. Harvey is just wonderful and warm and always willing to help as well. His rooftop deck is so serene, with beautiful plants everywhere. We loved starting our day with early morning coffee there and a sunset cocktail to kick off the evening. Our room was clean and the linens fresh. The location is also perfect being right in town, very convenient to all. Looking forward to summer 2012 at The Blue Waters!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wende B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed at one of Blue Waters family of properties, The Bay House, which is apartment style. It 's our second time at Bay House and third with Blue Waters. The management is very friendly, efficient and always willing to accommodate any requests you may have. We stay in the apartments because we're a family of 4 and they provide plenty of room and comfort. All of Blue Waters properties are well maintained, clean and situated perfectly around F.I. We're always greeted with a warm welcome and leave saying, "See ya next year!!" For consistency, value and variety, you can't go wrong with Blue Waters - Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Beach
0.0 km away
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
#1 of 4 in Ocean Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.0 km away
Clegg's Hotel
Clegg's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ocean Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 km away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
0.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
0.0 km away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#2 of 5 in Shelter Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Property: Blue Waters Hotel
Address: Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ocean Beach
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Fire Island/Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing