We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended family run hotel”
Review of Dream Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dream Island Hotel
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommended family run hotel”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We celebrated our honeymoon at the Dream Island Hotel in Sept of this year and couldn’t have been happier with the choice. I completely agree with others that the hosts made us feel part of the family for the duration of our stay. The hotel is situated 5 minutes walk from the centre of town close to the shopping, cable car and restaurants with the sunset view. The pool is a highlight with excellent sunlight until late afternoon and an array of beds, couches and hammocks. Breakfast offers a good selection and Wifi was available throughout.

Tips from the trip:-

- Explore the island. Wait until 11am and any cars still available for rent drop to half price. (Peugeot 207 cabriolet- 60 Euros ) You can see the whole island in half a day. We loved the ancient ruins, it’s a tricky drive getting there but worth it and the 2 hours exploring the site offers excellent photo opportunities.

- Sunset boat trip- Spiridakos tour booked through through the hotel was stunning. Lovely views of the island and volcano, great BBQ, swimming at the hot springs and free flowing local wine.

- Donkey Ride- Plenty of negative reviews on here but we really enjoyed it

- Restaurants- Our favourites were:-

- Naoussa Tavern- Truly outstanding food and service. Try anything with seafood or the local eggplant. The Moussaka is a world-beater!!

- Mama’s- Service is hit and miss but the food is excellent. Eggplant nests, baked lamb and the fava beans are amazing.

Overall I can’t recommend this hotel ( and island ) enough. There were so many great touches; nothing was ever too much trouble. The owners daughter Constantina is studying hotel management at university, if our experience was anything to go by this hotel will be in safe hands for years to come. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Northernmonkeydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    88
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
96
227
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Thanks to the lovely family-run Dream Island Hotel, I have the most amazing memories from my visit to Santorini in August 2008. Aside from all the other wonderful things that I could say (and have already been said) about the island itself, the Dream Island Hotel never ceased to amaze me with its degree of hospitality. I will never forget that when my friend and I missed the ferry from Santorini to Athens (due to our own negligence), the owners not only let us come back to the hotel and kill time by the swimming pool, they actually drove us to and from the airport. They went way above and beyond, and it's that kind of hospitality that will inspire me to return to Santorini--and this hotel specifically--at some point in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This hotel is in a great location, 2 minute walk down the hill into the main shopping/eating area of Fira, which is very lively and entertaining in the evenings. The hotel itself is really nice with all rooms facing to the sea- the pool area is lovely, as are the rooms. The suites are obviously much nicer than the standard rooms, but the standard rooms are more than adequate, with really nice bathrooms and a small outside seating area.

The only thing that lets this hotel down is the breakfast. There were very little options and those options that were available weren't the best. We went elsewhere for breakfast everyday after the 1st day!

The hotel does not offer lunch or dinner, but being so close to so many restaurants means this is not a problem. There is a takeaway 'gyro' cafe in Fira called 'Obelix', which will deliver take away great greek kebabs and salads up to the hotel, and the hotel staff are happy for you to eat around the pool!!

We opted to hire a quad bike for 25 euro's a day, which meant we were able to get around the island at our leisure. You can get around the entire island and back in a few hours, it really is quite small, but travelling around is very enjoyable as there is so much to see on the way. we found some great Taverna's on our travels that we would have missed otherwise! The Dream Island hotel have a car park by the entrance, where we parked our quad bike.

Our favorite places were Fira, Oia and the Harbour, where there are some of the most fantastic fish restaurants I've ever seen- the sunset here is amazing. We LOVED Santorini !

Room Tip: All of the rooms are sea facing, there are arranged like small maisonettes (one up, one down) arrang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We changed our plans at the last minute due to the protests in Athens in July and decided to travel direct to Santorini instead of staying a night in Athens. The hotel we booked in Santorini could not accommodate us for the extra night and so we came across Dream Island on trip advisor.

The hotel is family run and we were picked up from the airport late at night by the owner and his and son for no extra charge. The owners were lovely and very helpful with directions and giving us free bottles of water on arrival because the water is not safe to drink on Santorini.

The hotel is built around a beautiful pool area with deck chairs overlooking the sea. The rooms and hotel are well decorated and clean. There was a large choice of foods available for breakfast which was included in the room rate.

The hotel is conveniently located about a 10 minute walk from the centre of the main town of Fira which is very busy with tourists from the cruise ships. The only negative for this lovely hotel is that it does not have views of the amazing Santorini caldera, however to compensate the price is a lot less than other hotels that do have those views. The views of the ocean from Dream Island are beautiful, they just aren't amazing like the caldera views. Despite this I would still recommend this hotel to family and friends because I could have easily spent a relaxing week there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmc2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Firstly, everything you have read by other reviewers is mostly all true. Dream Island Hotel is an oasis with in an oasis. The hotel is about less than 10 mins walk north of the main hub of Fira. This is ideal as it is away from the clubs and hussle and bussle of the main town on Santorini.

The pool and deck chairs around the magnificent pool is my favorite spot for sun rise.

The free airport/hotel transfers is a god send. The family atmosphere and attention to service should be the envy of the 5* hotel chains.

This place has made my "must return to" list. Enough said.

Positives: Inclusive transfers, swimming pool and deck chair area, free wifi, great service, renovated rooms and excellent communications prior and during visit with management.

Challenges: I really wanted to give this place a 5* rating BUT to be fair to my other reviews i had to note things like; the beds are a touch harder than what some people may be use to AND the breakfast offering could be improved.

Would I come back? ABSOLUTELY. Make no mistake. this is the place for you on Satorini.

Room Tip: Best views of the town can be found going to the cable car and then continuing up the hill behind t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eekthecat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.3 km away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.5 km away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 79 in Fira
786 reviews
0.7 km away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.6 km away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.4 km away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Island Hotel

Property: Dream Island Hotel
Address: 25th March, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Fira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price range (per night): $152 - $398
Hotel Class:3 star — Dream Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This "dreamy" hotel was built in 2006 according to the best requirements and specifications for you, since our aim is your best stay on our island all year long. We provide transport to and from the harbour and the airport. Our services include daily room cleaning, laundry, internet, safe box, mini bar, hair dryers, television, telephone, air-conditioning and best of all dreamy holidays and exceptional experiences for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Island Fira
Hotel Dream Island
Dream Island Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing