We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"no english" an easy excuse”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Leta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Leta
Ranked #42 of 82 Hotels in Fira
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“"no english" an easy excuse”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Starting with the positive, this hotel is clean, close to the centre of town, the cable car, as well as all the restaurants and shops overlooking the Caldera. Our 6 days stay, however was the least pleasant on our 3 weeks in Greece.
Firstly, we were to be picked up at the airport, but when no one was there at the pre-determined time, we called the hotel and could only understand that the brother was at the "boat". The next day I found by anotehr guest that the hotel van had been at the ferry boat at that time enticing them to come to Hotel Leta. Meanwhile we had taken an 18 euros taxi.. Not a good first impression.
Secondly, it was very difficult to relax during the day if we happen to come back for a rest. Two young children of the owner's family member (I think) were in the pool, on the terrace, at times screaming, at times crying, always quite loudly. We stopped going to the pool, closed our window and turned on the A/C, not very pleasant.
Finally,as we are leaving after 6 nights and checking out, the lady tells us that we have to pay cash. Yet, the reservation stated that we could credit cards were accpeted. "no English" was the only answer I could get and I had to quickly walk to the city centre. Who needs this stress on the way to the airport ? Why they did not tell me the day before ? "no English".
Minor but added factors were the poor breakfast and the busy street on which this hotel is located.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBellerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    76
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
25
88
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

We had booked Hotel Leta for our stay, but were put into Villa Popi next door. Villa Popi was very basic but with a great location 5 minutes from the city centre of Fira. Our door was broken and was very squeaky, the shower was tiny and messy with no screen and the room had a smell to it. Room was neat and air condtioning worked which was good. room had view of opposite side of the island and a small pool close to our room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterinaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We had a very nice stay at Hotel Leta. They picked us up from the ferry and took us back when we departed. The rooms were nicely decorated and roomy. The location was quiet, but just across the street from the main shopping area in Thira. It was only a 5 minute walk to views of the Caldera. There is a small pool that was great for cooling off, and a great terrace that had views of the sea (not the caldera side). We spent a lot of time relaxing on the terrace. The staff was friendly, but did not speak very much English, so our conversations were limited. Overall, a very nice place to stay that I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALMS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Really nice accomodation near the heart of Thira. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The roof terrace was nice too.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights. I booked 2 nights by email and had to extend my stay because my ferry was cancelled due to bad weather.

I payed an astoshing 30 euros per day (in mid-october) for a beautiful room with a double bed, TV, A/C and mini-fridge with good furniture and a great bathroom. Everything was impeccable and looked brand new. The price also included transport from and to the port (Athinios), and the use of a nice pool which also has bathrooms with showers, useful if you must leave the room many hours before you departure. And there is free wifi in public areas!

You must pay cash and leave your passport to the hotel owner, who lives in a house right there and usually can be found only in the morning. That might not be a disadvantage if you plan to go to the beach and don´t feel safe keeping it in the room.

The location is great, on Fira's main road, 200 meters from the caldera and close to bus station and all popular areas.

I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone, at least in low season.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namreg-namreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 km away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.3 km away
Galatia Villas
Galatia Villas
#38 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.7 km away
The Dahlia & Jasmine Collection by Angel Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#57 of 82 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Golden Star
Hotel Golden Star
#56 of 82 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.2 km away
Villa Ilios
Villa Ilios
#58 of 82 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leta

Property: Hotel Leta
Address: 25is Martiou, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Fira
Price range (per night): $51 - $153
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Leta 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leta Hotel Santorini
Hotel Leta Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing