We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very friendly but great location”
Review of New Haroula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Haroula Hotel
Ranked #76 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Reviewed 3 October 2006

We stayed here for a week in September (we were getting married on Santorini). The room was ok but the bathroom was pretty awful. Balcony and pool were amazing and the location was great. The staff were very unfriendly, the mother of the family was nice but her children and elderly parents were very rude. One example makes me laugh even now - you can't bring your own food to the pool so the hotel sells sandwiches. We wanted some lunch so asked if we could order some sandwiches - it was like we had asked them to sell their children into slavery. After much moaning they said that they didn't want to make us sandwiches so thrust a local pizza delivery menu at us. We chose our pizza and asked if the hotel could phone the order through (we can't speak Greek). This they did but charged us 50 cents for the phone call!!

We didn't mind so much because we hardly spent any time at all in the hotel (due to the wedding) but I wouldn't have liked to have stayed there any longer.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank np2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2006

My husband, in-laws and I were very disappointed with this hotel. It's location is very convenient but that is its only redeeming feature. The showers (I checked in a few other rooms not just the two where we were staying) are extremely small and the shower curtains hung on clothes lines do little to prevent the bathroom from flooding. The towels were old and looked like they were constantly used for wiping floors. The bathroom was not very clean either. Breakfast was even worse. The bowls and plates were plastic, and on our first morning the milk was sour. My father-in-law couldn't even drink the coffee. Travelling quite regularly I am used to staying in basic hotels, but this was dreadful. Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Santorini I will forever remember it as that place with the great views but that awful hotel.

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank tomo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2006

We are a family of four who stayed in this hotel for 3 days in June 2006. My children are two boys 13 and 15 years old.
This hotel may be family run but we did not find it friendly at all. Every time my children used the pool they were yelled at in Greek by an old man who i assume was part of the "friendly family". We were also told they could't use the pool until an hour after their breakfast- what an old wives tale!.
The rooms were okay but the breakfast was dreadful, warm juice, warm milk_ yuk.

I would'nt recommend this hotel for a family.

1  Thank vickimichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Casselberry, FL
25
Reviewed 12 June 2006

We booked the New Haroula through a travel agent (for about 50 euros/night) and found it to be a great deal. The location was great (not too far from Fira's central square and the bus station), the room was nice size w/ refrigerator and hair dryer, the pool was very nice, great view of beach side and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurizia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#51 of 81 in Fira
213 reviews
1.2 km away
The Dahlia & Jasmine Collection by Angel Studios
0.6 km away
King Thiras Hotel
King Thiras Hotel
#37 of 81 in Fira
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Nissos Thira Hotel
Nissos Thira Hotel
#49 of 81 in Fira
171 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Thirasia
Hotel Thirasia
#68 of 81 in Fira
89 reviews
0.7 km away
Amerisa Suites
Amerisa Suites
#67 of 81 in Fira
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haroula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haroula Hotel

Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Price Range: AU$110 - AU$253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Haroula Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your New Haroula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Haroula Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing