We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TravelerCY
Nicosia

Average Hotel

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 July 2009
We have stayed at the Caldera Lilium for 3 nights early in July after reading the positive reviews here. The hotel is average with nothing exceptional besides the view that you can get at any hotel overlooking the caldera. The staff is very helpful but the rooms and breakfast are average. The hotel is outside Fira - you need a taxi (hard to get in Santorini during summer months). I would not recommend the hotel. You will be better off picking a hotel in Firostefani or even Oia.
Date of stay: July 2009
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$322
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.1 km from Lilium Santorini Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$189
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
2.8 km from Lilium Santorini Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$279
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.7 km from Lilium Santorini Hotel
Free Wifi
AU$364
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$364
3.1 km from Lilium Santorini Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Two hot tubs in the upper deck. One belongs to senior and the other to the superior suite
AU$629
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Lilium Santorini Hotel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$422
  • Expedia.com
    AU$553
2.5 km from Lilium Santorini Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$1,089
  • Algotels
2.6 km from Lilium Santorini Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$447
  • Expedia.com
    AU$631
0.2 km from Lilium Santorini Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$514
  • Expedia.com
    AU$635
0.2 km from Lilium Santorini Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$335
  • Official Site
2.5 km from Lilium Santorini Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Fira
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveller rating
814
164
43
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
814
164
43
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle pool level pool area amazing views shuttle service our honeymoon hot tub beautiful hotel min drive rented a car hotel restaurant aegean sea watching the sunset the entire staff the cliff maria island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
726 - 731 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Caldera Lilium Villas were legit. This was a beautiful hotel with great service, a stunning pool and friendly staff. I went with two buddies and we had a great stay. The one negative is that it is a bit outside Thira town. It's definitely not walking distance so we cabbed it daily (cost about 5 Euro each ride). The rooms were nice and the balconies overlooking the Caldera were great for pictures. We were coming back at 6 or 7 in the morning so this was a good hotel to sleep at during the day, very quiet. Make sure you don't get a room RIGHT UNDER THE POOL area where the tables and chairs are. We did hear some scraping and banging from people moving tables. There were many couples here, so if you are looking to link up with other travelers in the 25-35 range at your hotel, this isn't the hotel for you.

3  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Unfortunately we decided to spend the last night of our Greek Isles trip at this hotel as we were hoping for a beautiful place with lovely atmosphere. What a disappointment! The pictures look great. Certainly, the setting on the edge of the caldera is excellent, however that is about all this "resort" has to offer.

For the price we paid, we should have stayed at our hotel in Firostefani, which also had great views and a pool.

This resort is quite a way out of town - a 5 euro taxi ride back in, or you can take one of the very irregular free shuttles that the hotel provides (they stop too early in the night to be of use in the evening). One of the worst things about the resort is the complete lack of atmosphere. Loudspeakers in reception and throughout the entire pool area and restaurant continually repeat a short playlist of tragic 80s love songs. Lucky I wasn't there to get over a broken relationship, otherwise I would have thrown myself over the edge of the caldera, it was that depressing.

There are NO decent restaurants anywhere nearby – again you need to go into Fira for this. We contemplated the restaurant at the resort, however the tragic music and absence of any guests whatsoever (which speaks volumes in itself) made us head to the resort next door (which also served up old, tasteless fodder).

Customer service was fairly ordinary - e.g. you had to walk around to the front of the resort to get a towel for the pool. This wasn't mentioned when we checked in, nor were there pool towels in our room.

Rooms were nothing special. I definitely don't expect to fight with a shower curtain when I stay at a place that bills itself as a higher end resort.

Conclusion - spend your money elsewhere. This place would die a quick death if Santorini didn't get so crowded in summer.

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oztravelbugs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Calderas Lilium, Fira - Santorini, is just the best with an astonishing view over the Aegaen Sea and the Caldera from the rooms and from the pool.
The whole staff was so kind and helpfull - Maria at the reception even arranged cleaning of my favorite dress!
The restaurant made such faboulous and tasty food. Even though the portions were not huge, we just shared one of the delicate salads along with (while we watched the sun go down) and we were so full we couldn't eat dessert.....
During the 2 weeks stay at Calderas Lilium I tried the Shiatsu massage 3 times and it was fantastic and made me feel so refreshed and lighthearted. Thank you Theo Haralabides!
We lived in a suite for 1 week (thank you, Maria), the next week in a studio and the view was breathtaking from both. We used the hotel shuttle bus if we wanted to go to Fira or just walked to the nearby Lidl.
Maria, Igor, Markos, the kitchen-chef and the rest of the staff gave us a wonderfull honeymoon.

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanneCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2009

There couldn't have been a more perfect place to begin our Greek Island journey! Upon our arrival we were immediately informed that we had upgraded to the VIP suite! For three days we enjoyed an amazing view of the Caldera from our deck with our very own private pool and spa.
The staff was great to us and the food was delicious! i would definately stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weetie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Stayed two nights. Check in no problem. took free shuttle to and from Fira city center. room was clean with balcony and kitchenette. room 302. Breakfast included in rate had a good variety. couldnt do late check out because someone else was already waiting for the room. I would stay here again. very satisfied :)

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmartinez0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews