We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
182
85
54
33
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
85
54
33
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff cave room tiny balcony sea view suite the check in process living room sunset point tourist office amazing views end of the season walk up the main street steep steps visiting santorini restaurants and shops jacuzzi luggage
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016

First time in Santorini and it totally blew my mind. It was everything i'd been hoping for and more.

We'd deliberately booked a 'cave' type room at the residence suites and as I was travelling with a friend we wanted a two bedroom place, with an amazing view and boy were we not disappointed!

The Residence Suites are situated just down a side street in Oia from the main action. You need to check in with a communal check in area in a different location but it's no biggie as the check in process is extremely easy and then it's just a short walk to the hotel. The porters handle all the luggage (thankfully) as given the rooms are situated on a side of a cliff the steps are quite steep.

The rooms are delightful painted the blue and white that signifies Santorini, & really well equiped. It took us literally a minute to walk up into the main shopping area with all the shops and restaurants and our view over the Caldera was just breathtaking!

Breakfast was complimentary with our room, and had a good assortment of cooked and cold, and was delicious, although don't expect a massive Hotel buffet. The only thing i'd say is that service doesn't commence until 8.30am which although is more traditional 'Greek' hours, a couple of days was just too late for us as we wanted to be up and about before it got too hot. No biggie in the scheme of things though.

You get complimentary wi-fi with the rooms which works ok on the terrace, and intermittently to non existent inside, which as the staff pointed out when we checked in is due to the thick walls of the apartment which makes sense. It wasn't the fastest in the world but it was adequate and they do give you an alternative location to go to if it isn't good enough for you.

The staff are very pleasant and helpful with the few queries we did have and the room was serviced with fresh towels daily.

There are two small pools by the breakfast area, more spa pool/plunge pool cooling off type. When we were looking for accomodation we initially wanted somewhere with a big pool but given the cliff location this is difficult to obtain unless you want to spend really big $$, and in the end we felt the view was more important. That said there is a great pool bar/cafe just 10 minutes walk and you can go there, have a drink and it's a great way to watch the famous Santorini sunset.

Couldn't be happier with our hotel choice! Have driven everyone crazy at home with the pics!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with friends and want two rooms say so.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Merilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We booked an overnight in the cave honeymoon suite for a visit to Oia for our joint birthday celebrations. The residence suites is an a adventure to find- first having to navigate to the museum spa for check-in, approximately 400m walk away. Pack lightly as you have to carry your items to/from the resort and the many steps in Oia. You cannot bring a vehicle into the old part of town. Google maps will be your friend!!or if you book direct with the resort they will offer a free pick-up service to save getting lost in the cobbled paths..

The suite itself is well appointed if not a bit dated (bathroom facilities).
The hot tub not as pictured but is indoors and was filled too high. Once my partner and I got in the water overflowed down and soaked the internal steps and flooring. I unfortunately had a nasty fall on these steps causing huge bruising and injury for the rest of our stay.

Breakfast is basic but a good selection and tasty but you will have an effort to ward off the local cats who jump on the tables
And try to share your breakfast with you.

It's a lovely location and a short walk to see the sunset but wear flat comfortable shoes when visiting this area.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Macbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Myself and 2 girlfriends just spent 4 nights, 5 days in total at the Residence suites in Oia. We choose this hotel as we wanted, initially an "authentic" cave experience, as well as the beautiful views of the caldera in Oia.

To begin, upon arrival the driver picked us up at the Thira port relatively on time and took us for the 45 minute drive to the hotel. Upon arrival, because there are no streets to access the hotel directly, you must check in at some random basement type store and then the hotel serviceman will collect your luggage and carry it down the many stone steps for you.

Now on the positive front, the views are quite remarkable and for that, I was very pleased. However, one must note that this hotel is not equipped for those who may have any physical disability as it is quite steep to access the hotel, and many slippery stones which may be problematic. As well, some guests are placed in rooms far down the hill, and will have to walk every day upstairs to reach the Main Street.
Our room was beside the dining area, which was ok, but extremely tiny and note that out bathroom was also a shower. I know it is simplicity that we had asked for, but we came to find out the girls who got the room beside us had a full bathroom with separate shower, which would have been much preferred. I am quite tall, so I would hit my head many times on the small stone roof. Not good.

Overall, thankfully the views compensated for much of what the "hotel" lacked, which if your looking for total privacy and peace and quiet you may truly enjoy. For myself, it lacked any atmosphere for being in such a beautiful spot, and I can only say this as my friends and I went to other hotels around the area and found there to be much more atmosphere and just as incredible views.
This hotel would be fine for a night or two stay maximum. It is super busy in the streets and almost impossible to catch the sunset with all the tourists around, hence why we travelled to other hotels which offered just as nice views and far more privacy.

The staff was quite nice and helpful and the breakfast very light and tasty for the most part.

Having said that, I would recommend this hotel for a night or two maximum and then would suggest staying around other parts of the island to get a full experience - and away from the insane droves of tourists pouring about.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank CrystalC2624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Great location, AMAZING views and that's it. Cons: high price, so-so room, and surprise 30 Euros for the transfer from the port. Check-in is a mystery to us. It seems like Santorini has a communal check-in office. I had made a note of her name and now can't find it, but the young, tiny girl that checked us all in was abrupt with the customers. She seemed to have an agenda that we are clueless as to what it was. She also sells tours that we didn't purchase because she wasn't trustworthy. We enjoyed our breakfast on the terrace with the beautiful views of the town and the water. We also enjoyed the cool down in the pool in the afternoons. Santorini is so worth the visit even when it's super hot!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We only stayed here for 1 night and the hotel was absolutely beautiful. I did, however fell as if it was WAY overpriced as we had stayed at a hotel in Fira that was just as nice and 1/2 the price.
We checked in around 10am and our room was not ready. The staff recommended we have breakfast in town and come back. For $400 a night, I was very disappointed that they did not offer us the breakfast that was complimentary with the hotel (especially since we were checking out the next day at 5am and would miss the breakfast that day).
The hot tub and pool were beautiful with a stunning view but again, we had a similar view in Fira for 1/2 the cost. No water or other beverages sold at the hotel either (which was a bit surprising - we stayed at 3 other hotels this trip and they all had complimentary water and wine or at least available to purchase on site.

In conclusion, gorgeous hotel, very friendly staff but very overpriced in my opinion. There are many other beautiful options for far less.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews