We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic caldera views”
Review of Floga

Floga
Ranked #12 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 29
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small gate from Oia's narrow main street leads down to an unprepossessing, crowded terrace. This is FLOGA-1800...
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Romantic caldera views”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

It just happened by accident that we came to discover Floga on our last night in Oia. I wish we had found it sooner! Th atmosphere was fantastic, and very romantic. The food was superb! The best we found in Greece so far! Service was always attentive and friendly. Floga was outstanding!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeagIngalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,036
    363
    105
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Flawless, classy Boutique Style Restaurant 5*”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We booked a table here for visiting Oia as it came highly recommended, but we had been warned it was quite small so to get a Caldera side table booking was a must. When we arrived we were initially appalled. The restaurant is absolutely beautiful, very chic, bistro like and a class above anything else in Santorini. We were appalled as we had our 2 children with us!!!!! Our children are very well behaved & used to eating in good restaurants but we wernt mentally prepared!!!! The staff were amazing, helping us squish the pram into a corner and rearranging the table so the baby couldnt grab things!!! The food was out of this world, by far one of the best meals of the holiday. The setting sitting on the edge of the Caldera with the sun setting was stunning. This would be wonderful for couples and honeymooners, it is very elegant. The service was fantastic, they kept bringing little nibbly bits for the baby (who is fed earlier in the day) and even produced ice cream for my daughter despite it not being on the menu. This place is classy ...with a price tag to match!!!! but well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bella00Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exellent Food & Service”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Everything was divine, especially dessert! The owner definitely take pride in their establishment

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank jms71424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Irritatingly mixed”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We first ate at Floga iwhile we were staying in Oia in summer 2010, just after it had opened. At that time, it was relatively quiet, but as a reasonably-priced caldera-side restaurant, it has obviously grown in popularity and you now need to book to be sure of getting a table.

We returned in July 2011. Floga still represents good value by the standards of the Oia caldera restaurants, with generally good food, sweet service and a lovely view. But it isn't cheap - I would say expect to pay 50 euros plus per head with wine for a 2/3 course meal. On the basis on what we saw this year, the kitchen and service can sometimes struggle to keep up with its popularity. Like anywhere in Santorini, the clientele is overwhelmingly foreign (i.e. non-Greek) tourist, but this is certainly not a place, like many on the island, which is trying to make a quick buck out of the tourists. The female proprietress who does the front-of-house is not cloyingly effusive like some but is solicitous and good-natured.

It can be a bit hit and miss, but on the basis of our several meals, more hit than miss -these are people who are trying to give you a decent meal at a fair price. The only real irritation is that most of the tables are small, round ones for two people, so the seating can be cramped or awkward if you are three or more. There are two square tables pushed together and laid for six, so try and book these if you are more than a couple. But Floga, if you are reading this, ditch those round tables before next season...

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, great value and good view”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed in Oia for three nights and ended up eating at Floga for two of the nights! We were recommended this restaurant by the owner of Nostos Apartments where we were staying. We went there on our first night and had the most delicious meal - the risotto is to die for. The owners are a lovely young couple and they are in their second year of running this cute little restaurant. The menu was very varied and interesting (by this stage we were on our fourth Greek island and were tiring a little of the typical Greek food). The house wine was excellent and when we got the bill at the end of the meal we were very pleasantly suprised. Great value and extremely beautifully presented tasty food for Oia. We enjoyed it so much we went back there for dinner on our final night in Santorini.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Floga also viewed

 

Been to Floga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing