We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days in”
Review of Heliophos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heliophos
Ranked #19 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed 5 days with my grown up daughters in a nice 2 bedrum appartment with a little veranda with a view of the village and the sea. The village of Foinikia is beautiful and peaceful, abount 15 minutes walking distance from Oia. It has not Oia's stunning views to the caldera, but it is very quite and to me it remiended Santorini many years ago.
The appartment was clean and nice, Sofia very helpful with tips for restaurants and beaches and there was always some breakfast even if you were a late sleeper. This is not a place if you do not want to walk at all (you have to leave your car in the parking area, there are no cars in the village), but it is sertainly a place to enjoy greek hospitality, in very special atmosfere and at a very good rate.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank tesAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2010

I stayed with four friends in one house for nearly a week last month. The Heliophos is a bit of a challenge to find - after exiting the bus at Finikia we wandered down many a cobbled lane for quite some time. After asking some locals for directions and finally spotting a tiny sign we arrived, sweaty and cranky, at our destination.

Sofia was there to welcome us with icy glasses of juice and a sweet smile. After some stilted conversation (she speaks Greek and French fluently, but her English is limited) we were helped with our bags (down several more winding, cobbled lanes and steps) to our little house of pale lavender. Completely charming and quite spacious, the house had a fair-sized kitchen complete with stove and refrigerator, and a beautiful bathroom. From the large porch we had a lovely view of the sea (not the caldera side, but still!) Breakfast is served every morning from 8:00am to 11:00am, and is basic, but good.

After climbing up the winding steps out of the village, it is a very easy and short stroll into Oia. Rather more of a challenge is the hike to the Finikia bus station. While much closer than Oia, that last hill to the stop is a bit of a killer.

While the Heliophos is certainly a bit out of the way, it's only a walk to Oia and a twenty minute bus ride to Fira. We actually liked the quiet location, and certainly couldn't argue with the room rate (less than have of anything else we had found).

I would certainly stay at the Heliophos again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kackles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

After reading the tripadvior reviews and their website Heliophos looked to be a charming cave house experience, but it fell far short. I suppose if you're a backpacker on a tight budget and the choice is here or a hostel, then maybe you go with this, but in any other situation I would choose anything else. While the owner is a nice lady who is doing her best to run this b&b there are some important issues to be aware of:
1. in addition to being a good 15-20 min walk from the centre of oia, you will also have a solid 500m trek with your suitcases before you even get to the hotel - no cars are allowed past the central parking lot.
2. once you reach the hotel (ask around - it's easy to miss the signs) you have to wrestle your baggage down narrow (i.e. not the width of a suitcase), twisting staircases. there's no bellboy to help you with this.
3. there is no a/c (or fans) in the rooms. at first we thought this would be okay - it's a cave, it should be cooler inside than out. unfortunately, our 'cave' was like an oven. when we got back to our room in the evening the place was stifling. it made it very difficult to sleep.
4. making it even more difficult to sleep, the bed was as hard as concrete. i actually prefer hard mattresses and even i found this bed beyond uncomfortable. i've had better sleeps while camping!
5. finally, the shower is just unworkable. there is no enclosure and the shower curtain contraption fails miserably. you end up with water everywhere and the curtain stuck to you.

There are any number of decent hotels in or close to oia that would make a better choice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JEPCda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foinikia, Owner at Heliophos, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2011

I feel thankfull for these comments ,because I can spot points of my services wich can improuved !
For instance , to be certain that all visitors know how to use air condition system wich is located in EVERY ROOM of the property, Or to supervise them not to leave personnal items at common use places like the kitchen or terrace, to get somebody with a donkey to carry to the hotel the luggages averytime a new arrival notify me for the amount of lugage is carrying . etc.
However somethings can not be improuved at all ! ,
Like :
Location of my hotel : Thanks God we are not in the super crowded OIA village but in 1,5 kms away in the peacefull -traditional village of Foinikia. So this is the location presented in all adverts !
Trek to hotel : Thanks God also, that in tradional villages dont exist roads for cars and traffic , and narrow streets are only for donkeys and humans !
Hard matresses etc:
Unfortunaly refuse to transform my hotel in a Hollywood style glamorous hotel. So no Jaccuzzis, fausse plastic springs, supersoft matresses. I am sorry !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed five nights with a family with three children in two apartments at Heliophos. We enjoyed the interior, location and the general atmosphere at the apartments. The apartments are build onto the hill and resemble the typical cave houses at Santorini. There is a shared kitchen and outside terrace for breakfast and dinner. This allows for interactions with other travelers which we enjoyed. The lady of the house is very helpful and has good suggestions for places to go. We rented a small car to discover the island and go to the nice beaches. The beaches at walking distance are not very interesting.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bouwmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

A nice surprise! Beautiful place, peaceful, lovely with taste and Sofia is a plus! Recommended for a special holiday in a special place!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyGItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.7 km away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
1.3 km away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
1.1 km away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#37 of 56 in Oia
400 reviews
1.5 km away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.3 km away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliophos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliophos

Address: | Finikia Village, Oia 84702, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range: $93 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heliophos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional SANTORINI vacation away from masses. Just 1.5 kms from the famous Oia, with the indescribable view of the largest volcanic caldera in the world, the small village of Foinikia, inhabited mostly by locals, remains in ancient times, before the tourist rush. The villagers with their donkeys, farm laborers and women who talk to their white houses, form a unique atmosphere. Studios Heliophos, in the heart of the village, has been renovated with great respect for rural life, and offers holiday really very quiet, apart from the crowds of tourists, but not far from the commercial and tourist center of Oia or surrounding sandy beaches at 3 kms (Note that inside the volcanic caldera of Santorini no beaches, which are only found around the island). Location: The village Foinikia is 1.5 km from OIA and caldera of Santorini, 15 km from the airport. At 100 meters there is free parking, local bus stop agency and rental cars and motorbikes. Rooms: Each studio decorated with taste, has its own veranda with view, Satellite TV, CD player and radio and are air - conditioned. Wi-Fi Internet. The kitchen is equipped (Coffee maker, toaster, electric plates-fridge), always full of required for complete breakfast included in the price (milk-coffee-orange juice-butter-buns-jam). Possibility of use the large terrace and large communal kitchen, washing machine, dryer and linen included. Bathrooms: private bath with shower, hair dryer, hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Heliophos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliophos Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing