We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning gite and surroundings (but sssh- don't...”
frontside of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
frontside of the house
heated pool salon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
frontside of the house
heated pool
salon
Dining with open kitchen
bedroom 1, double bed (1.80x2.00m), en-suite bathroom
Bathroom, double sink, toilet, bath/shower
bathroom, double sink, toilet,bath/shower
bedroom 2: queenbed (1.60x2.00m) en-suite bath, walk-in closet
Harvest of the grapes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Nolay, Nievre, Bourgogne-Franche-Comte

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bubs1985
Dorking
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning gite and surroundings (but sssh- don't tell anyone)”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Hameau de Cirey was a wonderful find and could not have been better for what we wanted. The gite itself is stunning: it is in a quiet area and feels very private. There is a lovely view from the gate at the top where you park the car, and a lovely sense of seclusion beneath, around the pool and patio area. Hendrik happened to be in his adjoining house when we were staying (he lives in Amsterdam). We enjoyed getting to know him and his lovely dog. He was a great host- there if you needed anything but very respectful of privacy. He provided excellent recommendations for local wines and restaurants, all of which proved themselves to be spot on.

There were two of us only so we didn't need to use the second bedroom. It was a good size for us (too big, even) and would be a brilliant size for two couples to holiday together.

It pains me to say all of this; I want to keep it a secret so we can easily book again next time, and the next time...

Pros:
- beautiful house. Very spacious with everything you can possibly think of (seriously- the kitchen is better stocked than my own)
- the house is immaculately kept and felt very luxurious (the photos don't do it justice)
- gorgeous spacious garden, patio area and wonderful pool
- excellent gas BBQ
- 15 mins walk into the little town/village (a perfect distance for a morning walk to the boulangerie and butcher or an evening stroll for drinks)
- double sinks in both bathrooms, plus a WC beside the utility room

Cons
- the short walk from the parking to the house is very steep, and there are some stairs in the house so it probably isn't disabled friendly

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeenThere...
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Up To Expectations”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This gite met every need that we had for two couples: large and inviting rooms, a terrific kitchen, and very private bedrooms with ensuite baths. We also liked its location being midway between north and south Burgundy and only a short drive to Beaune. Our hosts were very helpful with luggage (we are elderly). The pool looked inviting but, for us, the weather did not cooperate. Internet access was excellent. There is a large food store close by. One caveat: the gate which leads into the parking area has to be opened manually which leaves one's car stopped in the road until the gate can be opened. Other than this, I cannot imagine anyone not enjoying staying in this gite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of everything. Very nice hosts.
Liked least: Manual gate.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
2 reviews
“If it is available for your week(s) - book it !”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This review may well read like the others on this property - for good reason. This is an EXCELLENT property, beautifully converted and well run by the incredibly hospitable Dutch owner Hendrik. The photos on the site do not do it enough justice and what they don't show is the great attention to detail. My wife noticed Marseilles soaps and I noticed the perfectly straight light switches (all on dimmers) - each to their own !!! The house is beautifully laid out and we loved the natural stone and heavy wood beams combined with a great kitchen and perfect white bathrooms. The pool and patio areas are immaculate and perfect for hot afternoons. The property is close to two very flat and easy cycle routes through the vineyards of the southern Beaune (which are much prettier than the villages North of Beaune). Nolay is less than a mile away with a good Pizzeria and one much better restaurant, bakers, butcher and reasonable sized supermarket. 3 (good) tennis courts are 2 miles away and cost 8 euro an hour. The only downside seems to be that just about everyone who has ever stayed here has re-booked - so if your week(s) are available - book it !!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz K
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An exceptional property, ideally situated for those wishing to walk, cycle, taste wine, sightsee and relax.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't believe how lucky we were to find such a lovely gite. It ticked all the boxes for us; perfect situation, beautifully decorated, VERY clean, good linen, comfy beds, close enough to the village but also very quiet, excellent choice of walks, cycle routes, vineyards, sightseeing etc. Comprehensive information available in the gite and Hendrik & Marie-Louise couldn't have been more kind or helpful.

There are a few restaurants in Nolay but one definitely worth trying is Midupi - its excellent! Be aware though, that on Mondays some shops and restaurants in the region may be closed. Also, if you are arriving on a public holiday, it may be worth stopping en route to get provisions as supermarkets often close at 1pm on public holidays.

If you are in need of a treat, Hameau de Cirey is the place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The perfect combination of beautiful accommodation in a stunning area.
Liked least: The fact that we had to leave to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing