We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place for a holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
_bondtris...
Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a holiday”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from yet another fantastic stay at Le Petit-Mamoir, this time with all the family, 10 of us all together including our 4 young grandchildren. This time we stayed in Les Chenes and Le Bois, Les Chenes being a great choice with its own pool in which the grandchildren spent many an hour. The accommodation was great, very clean, roomy and well stocked with everything we needed. Karen and Peter where again great hosts, friendly and helpful. Le Petit-Manoir is in a great location for exploring Domme, Sarlat, Castlenaud, Baynac, Montfort, La Rogue-Gageac or a nice leisurely canoeing trip down the river then steak and Frits for lunch at Vitrac Port. thanks Karen and Peter

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLA247
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Le Petit Manoir......Magnifique!”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from the most wonderful week at le petit Manoir. And could not fault a single thing!

After studying the owners (very impressive, helpful and informative) website we decided to book Les Chenes. As we were travelling with a crazy cocker spaniel, a 13 month old toddler, not to mention Grandad!, we thought we would cause less disruption or disturbance to other guests. And as soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right choice!

The gite was much bigger than it looked in the photos on the website, it was spotlessly clean, beautifully and comfortably furnished, and the private pool was an absolute luxury. The kitchen in particular was so well equipped with more than enough cutlery, crockery etc meaning you didn't even have to switch the dishwasher on every day let alone worry about 'washing up'!!

It was a perfect location for exploring the local area. We didn't venture as far as we'd hoped as with such a lovely base it was just too tempting to spend lazy afternoons sampling the local vin rouge and cheese in the beautifully landscaped outside areas followed by BBQ's and dips in the pool.

We visited Sarlat, market days on Saturday and Wednesday a must though to appreciate the town in its full splendour would probably be better on other days. Domme, La Roque Gageac, Montfort and Beynac were just some of the beautiful local towns we discovered, all with a huge choice of places to eat, drink and watch the world go by. And Le Chalet at Vitrac Port provided us with the tastiest steak frites, located literally on the edge of the river to watch the canoes drift past.

I could go on and on!

Finally (saving the best til last!!) the hosts...... Peter & Karen! And Forté! From my initial contact via email and various queries along the way, until it was time to leave, they were fabulous. So warm, friendly, inviting and helpful but also unobtrusive. You'd never know they lived next door! My one regret is not having time to chat to them a little more and to thank them properly for sharing their home and allowing us to have the most wonderful, relaxing family holiday in their beautiful part of France.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review, we enjoyed having you and your family here. We think we live in a special spot and it gives us great pleasure to share it with others. We’re happy you had such a fabulous vacation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauwe58
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Peter and Karen were absolutely amazing hosts!!! They were so welcoming. If we could have stayed forever we would!

We stayed in Les Chênes, and the home was PERFECT. Clean, comfortable, with all the comforts of home. We enjoyed cooking in the modern kitchen, as well as visiting the many towns nearby for the local cuisine. My fiance took a swim in the pool which was clean and beautiful. The grounds are perfectly manicured and in a nice rural area if you like to get out and walk.

I had to unfortunately work a bit while I was there, and had no problem as the Wi-Fi was fast and great. Never any problems getting internet or connecting to my office.

If you are visiting this region of France, look no further than Peter and Karen's property. you will not be disappointed.

We also spent a nice evening sharing a glass of wine with Peter and Karen, and had a wonderful time getting to know them and can't wait to visit again.

We loved our home away from home and will definitely be back!!! Merci Beaucoup Peter and Karen!

Sheri & Randy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: No complaints!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonB12
Stratford-Upon-Avon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal French holiday home in the best part of the Dordogne”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Gorgeous holiday home in amazing grounds just 5 mins from Vitrac and the Dordogne and 20 mins from Sarlat.
First the (many) positives:
* Perfect location meant very short drives to all the main attractions of the area
* Beautifully converted traditional stone house with our own private garden, BBQ and eating area
* Gorgeous grounds of a lovely looking French manor house - idyllic!
* Very comfy beds and good quality modern kitchen and bathroom with good shower pressure
* Excellent modern swimming pool shared with 2 other holiday lets
* Aircon downstairs (fans upstairs)
* Safe, secluded and surrounded by beautiful countryside.
A couple of negatives:
* Little or no soundproofing upstairs meant we were woken by the 3 toddlers staying next door early every morning - no sleeping in!
* A rather hefty cleaning & linens charge given to us as a bill on arrival made worse by being expected to take all our recycling and rubbish to the rubbish depot in our car on leaving. We sadly spent some of our last evening driving around looking for the recycling centre with rubbish stinking up the car - not a great end to the week - surely the guests shouldn't have to do this?
* There is wifi, but it is very poor. We are used to slow wifi at home, but it was far worse and intermittent.
* A bit of an officious welcome from the owner which comprised of a long list of things we were not to do - we totally get that they want to protect what they have worked hard to achieve, but the list was very long and we were left a little deflated!
Other than that, a great week and we will definitely want to return. Lovely part of France and a fab place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to take our rubbish to a recycling centre despite paying a sizeable cleaning fee
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
In the country there is no home or curbside trash pickup and everybody (both residents and holiday makers) has to take their garbage to one of the many collection points nearby. Directions are given and they are in the folder on the coffee table with other helpful information, including a shortcut to Sarlat.
The 65€ linen/final cleaning fee is something that is known at the time of booking and it is part of the rental. As this is a self-catered accomodation and not a hotel room it is up to the guest to take care of it and also of the rubbish while they are here. Wi-Fi runs at a reasonable 1.5 mega and we find it very reliable as it has not been down for several years now. If there was some issue during that week we were not made aware.
We are glad that the overall experience was positive and thank you for the five star rating. Karen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billb303
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely time in the Dordogne...”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I booked this apartment (actually two - the Rosier and the Pommier) - almost a year before our planned trip this summer, based on the description, pictures and great location. The experience during our two week stay exceeded all expectations.

My family has always preferred the self-catering/apartment style of travel - basically, go to a location, settle in and explore from there. These apartments suited our needs perfectly. Both apartments were well-maintained and as described on the website. The amenities listed on their website description were all there. The only slight negative was that the wireless internet was a little slow - we had quite a few smart devices attached. For those who like to do a bit of cooking, the kitchens were both well equipped. The apartments themselves are comfortably furnished and both had very nice outdoor seating areas where we ate most of our dinners - the seating/garden area with the Rosier apartment was particularly nice with wisteria, grape vines and lots of flowering plants.

The grounds of the complex are beautiful and well-kept and several of our party made frequent use of the pool.

The location, just outside of Vitrac is very convenient for touring the region. Sarlat is the largest town in the immediate area and we went there several times - both for the market days (wednesdays and saturdays), but also for getting the essential grocery items at the "normal" large stores. During our two weeks we managed to spend time in Monfort, la Roque-Gageac, Beynac, Rocamadour, Domme, Monpazier, Belves, and some others. These apartments are also well situated for some longer day trips - close to the prehistoric caves (Grotto Font de Gaume, Lascaux II, etc.), Oradour-sur-Glane, Bordeaux, Carcassonne, Toulouse, etc.

Upon arrival we were met Karen who got us acquainted with the property. Karen was great to work with - she's an American transplant and, while I'm sure her French is good, it was nice to be able to converse fluently in "American"! She was always around when we needed her and she provided us some great information and tips, including a recommendation to eat at the restaurant Cabanoix in Domme, which was fantastic. She works very hard in taking care of the property and it shows.

The bottom line is that I will look to return to this property on my next visit to the area and would unabashedly recommend it to anyone looking for a top-notch experience in this most beautiful part of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package was great - facilities, location, comfort, beauty, owner
Liked least: Wifi was a little slow
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing