We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely time in the Dordogne...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Billb303
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely time in the Dordogne...”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I booked this apartment (actually two - the Rosier and the Pommier) - almost a year before our planned trip this summer, based on the description, pictures and great location. The experience during our two week stay exceeded all expectations.

My family has always preferred the self-catering/apartment style of travel - basically, go to a location, settle in and explore from there. These apartments suited our needs perfectly. Both apartments were well-maintained and as described on the website. The amenities listed on their website description were all there. The only slight negative was that the wireless internet was a little slow - we had quite a few smart devices attached. For those who like to do a bit of cooking, the kitchens were both well equipped. The apartments themselves are comfortably furnished and both had very nice outdoor seating areas where we ate most of our dinners - the seating/garden area with the Rosier apartment was particularly nice with wisteria, grape vines and lots of flowering plants.

The grounds of the complex are beautiful and well-kept and several of our party made frequent use of the pool.

The location, just outside of Vitrac is very convenient for touring the region. Sarlat is the largest town in the immediate area and we went there several times - both for the market days (wednesdays and saturdays), but also for getting the essential grocery items at the "normal" large stores. During our two weeks we managed to spend time in Monfort, la Roque-Gageac, Beynac, Rocamadour, Domme, Monpazier, Belves, and some others. These apartments are also well situated for some longer day trips - close to the prehistoric caves (Grotto Font de Gaume, Lascaux II, etc.), Oradour-sur-Glane, Bordeaux, Carcassonne, Toulouse, etc.

Upon arrival we were met Karen who got us acquainted with the property. Karen was great to work with - she's an American transplant and, while I'm sure her French is good, it was nice to be able to converse fluently in "American"! She was always around when we needed her and she provided us some great information and tips, including a recommendation to eat at the restaurant Cabanoix in Domme, which was fantastic. She works very hard in taking care of the property and it shows.

The bottom line is that I will look to return to this property on my next visit to the area and would unabashedly recommend it to anyone looking for a top-notch experience in this most beautiful part of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package was great - facilities, location, comfort, beauty, owner
Liked least: Wifi was a little slow
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina C
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We had a lovely time here. A fantastically warm welcome, the gite was well equipped with indoor and outdoor furniture / facilities. Lovely clean pool and great gardens. Lots to do nearby, we particularly enjoyed the canoeing on the river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exactly as described on their website.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RealEstat...
WAS
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Karen & Peter are wonderful hosts in every way. We stayed for 7.nights and our gite was clean, well equipped, and best of all was the fabulous and private patio area. The pool was great. It also helped to have the washing machine in each gite.

The area was magnificent with so much to see...we loved Sarlat with so meant dinner choices. Do not think another gite could provide such wonderful accommodations and surroundings.

Thank you

Pat & Don from Virginia

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danlet
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Like home”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Top notch from start to finish: initial email contact, website, reservation process, welcome, hospitality, privacy, layout and accoutrements, ambience. Karen and Peter are American ex-pats but will help polish your French ad lib. They've turned a stone barn behind their manor house into three gites (we think Le Bois is the best). Wonderful walking trails are well marked, local driving is easy, food shopping and boulangerie are short drives. Hotel-Restaurant Delpeyrel in Carsac is a family affair worth returning to; La Treille restaurant in Vitrac was offered a Michelin star; gallettes at the local art gallery (yes, real Normandy gallettes) are a treat. Grotte Lascaux II in Montignac is reconstructed but will take your breath away nevertheless, and Font-de-Gaumes is the REAL thing in Les Eyzies. Go in mid-late May before the crowds arrive. The marche in Sarlat on Saturday will wear you out with food. This is a lifetime experience. "N/A" about the security deposit below because there was none: that's the kind of place this is.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: personal contact and privacy, combined
Liked least: nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts in stunning location”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This property was perfect and the hosts thoughtful and hospitable, nothing was a problem.

The facilities were of a very high standard (the photos very accurate) and karen and her husband were great hosts. The area is jam packed with possibilities we loved Domme and Sarlat of course, and the info on web site a great help when planning your stay. When we return to the Dordogne we will not look elsewhere. The property is just fantastic!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space in the gite itself, the gardens, the location
Liked least: nothing!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing