We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Ombriere
Nearby Hotels
La Treille(Vitrac)(Great Value!)
USD 81
USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance(Vitrac)(Great Value!)
USD 107
USD 84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon(Vitrac)(Great Value!)
USD 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Perigord(La Roque-Gageac)(Great Value!)
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Mas De Castel(Sarlat-la-Caneda)(Great Value!)
USD 154
USD 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
La Barde(Vitrac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Roseraie(Vitrac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
189
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsperigord noirbeautiful placeplaces to visitthe location is perfectbreadyogurtgorgeous viewskind hostslovely experiencelabor of lovedelicious home bakedcomfortable bedshighlight of our triprecommend highlytheir beautiful homethree nights
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We stayed at L'Ombriere‬ between the 14th and 20th of April 2017, it was lovely experience.
Barbara and Andrea in their noble and modest way did what ever possible to make our stay comfortable. They were always available to answer our questions and give advise that always happened to be the right thing to do.
We wish we could stay more, yet we probably come again.
Thank You,
Iris & Arik
Timrat, Israel

Stayed: April 2017
Thank IrisFarhiLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

This is a perfect place in a superb location. This beautifully restored home is spotlessy clean with nice sized rooms, comfortable beds, lovely bedding, modern bathrooms, and great hot showers. Barbara and Andrea are beyond lovely and helpful. The home is perfectly situationed to explore the Dordogne. Andrew and Barbara provided great travel and superb restaurant tips. The home is on lovely property with gorgeous views. Tea and Barbara's delicious cookies were served upon arrival in the garden. Barbara os am excelelnt baker and serves lovely treats at breakfast. They do have a beautiful cat so be aware in case of allergies. One reviewer mentioned road noise as a concern. There is zero road noise. We loved this bed and breakfast and would come again!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thoughtfulpeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Words cannot begin to describe how absolutely wonderful our visit to L'Ombriere was. Barbara and Andrea are two of the nicest people we have ever met - in any country! Their beautiful home and property is clearly a labor of love.....their constant hard work to make everything perfect is obvious at every turn. Upon our arrival....a little lost, typical for us.....Andrea flagged us down and helped us get our embarrassingly abundant luggage into the house and then invited us to join them for coffee/tea in the garden to chat, give us maps, ideas for places to visit, etc. They were very patient with our painful lack of French language skills - I was embarrassed that I didn't prepare better before our trip - and that's where our French lessons began. Andrea was constantly trying to help us, gently and patiently teaching us (and making jokes in his quiet and reserved way) all of which really did help us present ourselves in a much more respectable manner as we continued our travels for the rest of our trip. We promised Barbara and Andrea that the next time they saw us - and they definitely will - that we will speak much better French, out of respect for this beautiful country! In fact, when I asked my husband what his favorite part of our whole trip (and we travelled quite a bit through France), my husband said it was when he asked for the bill - in French - Andrea told him that his accent was very good even though he didn't know many words! We had a great laugh about that!

So, in this very long review, of course I have to agree with all of the other excellent reviews, that the home was beautiful, absolutely spotless with so much attention to all the details that made this truly a home for all who visit. Our 3rd floor room was spacious, with amazing views of the surrounding landscape. The breakfast was excellent with Barbara's delicious home baked breads, pastries, etc. The yogurt from a nearby farm was the best I've ever tasted and the butter, jams, walnuts - everything local and presented so beautifully, with obvious pride from this magical region. We had the pleasure of meeting very interesting people around the breakfast table, with Barbara and Andrea translating several languages so we all could enjoy everyone's company.

And finally, we were there to celebrate our 25th anniversary. On the morning of our anniversary, Barbara presented us with the most beautiful bouquet of flowers from her garden....including irises which she knew were a favorite of my husband's. I was so touched by this. Then, they made a reservation for us at one of their favorite restaurants and requested a table by the window to enjoy the river view....so romantic, which made our anniversary unforgettable. Honestly, I was practically in tears all day....just overwhelmed by the kindness of our hosts and the sheer beauty of the area.

What else? So many things....the hamlet of Montfort itself was breathtaking, tiny and sweet with a great restaurant (Angelus) run by another amazing couple, the location - perfect for exploring the Dordogne river valley, Romeo - the resident cat! I loved that guy - he would greet us whenever we returned and posed for a lot of photos!

I knew visiting Dordogne was going to be a highlight of our trip, but this visit far, far exceeded anything I could have imagined. I actually cried when we left....much to my extreme embarrassment and I'm sure I really freaked out our hosts! This was a magical time for us...and we credit much of that to Barbara and Andrea (and Romeo) at L'Ombriere.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Staying at L'Ombriere was without doubt one of the best travel experiences I've ever had. Andrea and Barbara are such warm, gracious, kind hosts, and we treasured every moment we had to chat with them. The B&B has been lovingly and gorgeously restored. The rooms are large, lovely, and very comfortable. The location is perfect--easy access to the best villages of the Dordogne, but out of the way enough to be peaceful and relaxing. I cannot recommend it highly enough!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We recently stayed with Andrea and Barbara for three nights and had a wonderful experience. We arrived as strangers and left feeling a longing to return. Welcoming atmosphere, kind and gracious hosts, comfortable beds, charming rooms---who could ask for anything more? We are very grateful for the hospitality we received from the nice conversations at breakfast to the advice on places to visit including detailed maps. We also appreciated the quality of the linens, the spotlessness of the rooms tidied up daily, but most of all our hosts' desire to share their home and themselves with us. Our time in Perigord Noir was made so much richer by staying at L'Ombriere. We hope to go back and know where we will be staying!!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews