We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Says Vegan menu but it isn't the best”
Review of By Valeria

By Valeria
Ranked #9 of 89 Restaurants in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 21
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Description: Italian kitchen. Serves all dishes of mediterranean tradition. Vegan options available. Small restaurant on the island of SAL, sits between Oasis Salinas Sea hotel and Ciroula Club. The Italian owner speaks English, France and offers vegan food: lasagna, tapas, bolognese, vegan 'election board, and salads. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-10:30pm.
Restaurant details
Description: Italian kitchen. Serves all dishes of mediterranean tradition. Vegan options available. Small restaurant on the island of SAL, sits between Oasis Salinas Sea hotel and Ciroula Club. The Italian owner speaks English, France and offers vegan food: lasagna, tapas, bolognese, vegan 'election board, and salads. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-10:30pm.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We visited this restaurant because of the rave reviews and the vegan menu sign. We had garlic bread, pizza and lasagne. Garlic bread was way too garliccy (2 chewing gums did not do the job), pizza tasted like it had goats cheese on it which was disgusting and the lasagne was so overcooked that the lasagne sheets were mush. Really bland and not nice. But it's a nice restaurant away from the hustle and bustle of Santa Maria town. Other non veg stuff looked okay but an avoid for vegetarians and vegans.

Thank MPTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We went here twice , first time was okay but the second time was horrible.
The Fish burger was still half frozen and the chicken in de chicken curry was not much more chewy than a gum. I wished I could have given them a higher score.

Thank Gwen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byvaleria2016, Owner at By Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Gwen,
I feel very Upset Reading your review.If We
Receive complains it might be because of the timing of waiting or similar ,not because of the quality of the food.But in your case we did not make you satisfied with our kitchen and this is really unforgivable.We work very hard and we try to train the staff as best of our possibilities always.We really thank you for your wishes to give us an Higher score, and for sure we will keep on work harder in order to make all our precious customer happy.
We are at your completely disposal hoping you Can try us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Valeria









Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent food and atmosphere with live music. You can choose among different options, including vegan ones, but also the fish is really good
The desserts are home made and definitely delicious. So far the best restaurant in Santa Maria

Thank Deva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We visited By Valeria for lunch on our first day in santa maria. Being vegetarians, we were delighted to find a place with so many veggie options. We had the greek salad and the house made crostini. The crostini was mind blowing - a must must must try for sure!! The salad was fresh and just rightly dressed. The Sangria was amazing too. We went back for dinner, but were slightly disappointed. The chips, however were best in the whole island. Overall, I would highly recommend this place for a snack and Sangria for sure!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ForamShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

First time we have visited Valerie's for breakfast and we were not disappointed. Our English Breakfast was plentiful, well cooked and tasty. A great selection of options in the menu from healthy to filling yourself up for the day!

Would recommend and looking forward to returning there in the future!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed By Valeria also viewed

Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to By Valeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing