We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely Relaxing Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Relaxing Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Just returned from a week at the Melia and had a lovely time. First of all "there is really nothing to do" which is why we booked it but dispite this being said on a number of occassions there were still people complaining! There were just 2 of us but we were given a huge 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom appartment which was spotless. Food was excellent, perhaps not as much choice as some All inclusives but always something different every night in the buffet. we ate lunch every day in the Grill on the beach which was excellent. The beach was beautiful and goes on for miles. The rsort as a whole was well kept, clean and atractive , the staff were polite and helpful. The weather was hot but there it is always windy so you never felt too hot. We wnet on the 4x4 Jeep trip round the island which was fun and worth doing. Overall we would recommend this to anyone who wants a week in the sun in pleasant surroundings, with good food, as long as you are happy to entertain yourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Karen C,

Thank you for having chosen to spend your one week holiday with us and for having taken the time to write this review.

I’m happy to know that you’ve had a lovely time, that you were pleased with your room and with the food, especially at the Ôgrille. It’s great that you got to know that island by going on the 4x4 Jeep.

Thank you also for recommending our hotel, we hope that you will return to visit us again very soon.


Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,324
    936
    407
    137
    75
See reviews for
839
1,525
27
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent one week at this hotel and we thought to add a few lines that could be useful to prospective clients. I would say the overall ranking class of this hotel is a 4*+, but definitely not a 5*; from what I learnt discussing with other people who have stayed in other hotels as well, there isn't any real 5* hotel in Sal. It has large apartments, comfortable beds, good level of cleaness, excellent lighting, and a good service. Actually, I would give the highest score to the people working at the hotel, who will do whatever they can to help you with a natural smile and politeness. The O' Grill restaurant at the beach has a very good quality of food especially fish dishes. The choice is rather limited but it is compensated by the quality. Try the grilled tuna and the sea-food brochette at lunch (open for lunch from 12.30 till 16.00). In the evening you need to book a table and pre- select the menu (from 3 different menus). We have tried 2 of the 3 menus (one that has as main dish sawfish, and another one which has roast got) and they were excellent, both the main courses and the starters! In my view this is the best restaurant amongst all restaurants of the hotel. However, if you are with very young children you may find more convenient to eat at the main restaurant which is a self- service buffet. Plenty of drinks all day round till very late in the evening...if you are a drinker you will really enjoy it.
You can relax either at the swimming pool or just in front of the O'Grill restaurant where you will find many comfortable benches right at the white (beige) sand facing the sea. However if you want to swim in the sea....forget it! Noway to swim in front of the hotel. This is not the best beach of the island. If you really love the sea, then I suggest you walk for about 15 minutes towards the left side as you watch the sea, and you will arrive at a beautiful velvet sandy beach of turquoise colour where you can walk for a few kilometres at a slow pace enjoying the fantastic view of the waters and the sand. If there isn't much wind (but normally it is very windy) you will be able to enter a couple of meters in the sea. It is really a pity that you cannot swim in this magnificent sea! We were walking between 1 and 2 hours every day at the beach, and it was only one day that we managed to enter the waters.
There is nothing special in the village of Santa Maria to see, but everybody goes there just for curiosity. There is a shuttle bus service from the hotel 4 times a day, otherwise you take a taxi; prices are fixed and you can pay in euros as well as in local currency (there is an ATM machine in the hotel). In the evening the taxi costs 4 euros to go to Santa Maria. All the comments from other people about the Senegalese trying to sell you things from their shops are correct.

The WiFi at the hotel's reception and pool areas (payable) is just OK, it could be faster. my wife tried two times the spa and she was very satisfied (expensive though).

Now, a couple of things that can be improved. The breakfast should include fresh fruit juice, at least orange juice. We would have preferred to have a shower instead of a bath in the bathroom. When we made the reservation, quite in advance, we had asked for a room with sea-view. We never received a response and we thought it was OK, but this was not the case. The receptionist did her best to find one next morning but she did not manage, so we decided to stay in the initial one...which I think it was a standard apartment. The red wine which is included in the AI package is not acceptable for such a hotel. We were also disappointed by the lobster we ordered in the O'Grill restaurant. I do not want to enter into details, but I would strongly discourage you from paying such a price for the lobster, it is much much better to stay with the menus they offer!

Overall, in this hotel you will have calm and relaxing holidays without surprises. However, you may need to think whether you really want to go to an island with nothing else to do than relaxing, an island that does not have much to offer. To us the whole enterprise of development in Sal looks very artificial at the moment, there is no local colour, a bit depressive. You also need to consider that it is a very windy island... However all these have nothing to do with the hotel as such, and I prefer to write another review dedicated to Sal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sitolakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Sitolakis,

Thank you for choosing to spend your holidays at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to write a review on our hotel.

I’m pleased to know that you were happy with our accommodation, and I’m also pleased that you were happy with our staff service, they always strive to offer our guests the best service that they deserve. It’s wonderful to know that you’ve enjoyed your meal at the Ôgrille restaurant, we try to offer our guests meals from the freshest products that are locally available thus the choice may not be as extensive as with the imported frozen products. I’m sorry that we were not able to find you a sea view room, as this is according to availability.

Once again thank you for your comments and suggestions, these are important for us as they will enable us to adapt our services according to the satisfaction of our guests.

We hope that you will return to visit us again very soon in the future for more relaxing holidays.


Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely week at the Melia tortuga with my boyfriend. To begin our the accomodation was fantastic, modern and spacious. The grounds of the hotel were gorgeous, lots of garden area with workers constantly maintaining the high standards. We had no problem choosing were to sun bathe - the chilled out quite pool, the beach or the pool with activities and music. Pretty much something for everyone, even separate areas for the kids.
The staff were all friendly however we found it hard communicating with some of them and quite often got the wrong drink - this often the case in the spices resteraunt. However I'm sure this will get better with time. The food and drinks manager was really nice and constantly asked if everything was okay and if there was anything more he could do for us ! The hotel owner was staying on site at the same time as us, he bought us a drink of champagne one night and asked us for our thoughts on the hotel. After this he constantly made an effort to talk to us and say "hi" throughout our stay. We thought this was really nice !
Our major let down of the holiday was the FBI coming to stay - this really let us down. especially when they closed the grille bar down one night for their private party - we felt of little importance and left with no where to go with any atmosphere. Also the chilled out sunbathing vibe was killed by suited and booted men talking on walkie talkies closely followed by police / soldiers with guns !!!!!!!!
My boyfriend got very sick at the end of the week and we had to see a doctor which was very easy to do and the clinic was extremely clean. Also our Thomson rep karinna (I think) was very helpful in advising us what to do ! We are hoping that the sickness was no on behalf of the hotel although this is the only place we ate and drank at throughout our stay !
To anyone visiting the hotel, they MUST visit Santa Maria for the beautiful beach and sea. Also to see the locals fishing and kite surfing is nice too!
Thank you for giving us a wonderful week in the Melia tortuga :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elayna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Elayna_10,

We greatly appreciate you having taken the time to write a review on our hotel and your preference in choosing to spend your holidays with us.

I’m very pleased to know that you and your boyfriend have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our services. I will forward your message to the F&B manager as well as the owner whom I’m sure will be pleased to read about it.

I’m sorry to hear that you were not able to have your dinner at the ÔGrille one evening, our new concept for dinner at ÔGrill is now with prior reservation, the OGrille was fully booked for one evening but by night it was open for all guests. I’m also sorry to hear about your boyfriend, I hope that he is much better now. The highest standard of hygiene and safety is applied when handling food and drinks at our hotel, and we have no records of more guests getting sick.

It’s great that you’ve enjoyed the visit to the town and beach of Santa Maria, it is indeed well worth a visit. Once again thank you for your comments we hope that you and your boyfriend will return to visit us again very soon.


Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leytonstone, London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We are currently staying at the Melia Tortuga and it is wonderful.

The people complaining about the hotel, food etc, really need to get over themselves.

Full review when we get home in 10 days!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Smithylane07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Smithylane07,

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review on our hotel and for having chosen to spend your holidays with us.

I'm pleased to know that your stay with us has been wonderful, and that you are happy with the hotel and the food. I hope that you will continue to enjoy your stay with us and that you will return to visit us again soon.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed for 1 week in late May, The hotel was lovely everything very clean and the food was good. lots of choice every night the best meal we had was the last night in the Ogrill set menu was divine! the best thing about this hotel is the staff, they couldnt be more friendly or helpful they work very hard and have to agree with someone elses review Daniel is a gem! so attentive and nothing was ever too muuch.
The beach is rocky and its a shame but we here this is soon to be fixed and that will make a huge difference
Entertainment was great something for everyone! We found a lot of the other guest were older couples but i think the melia can start to attract a younger crowd as it well suited to eveyone!
Weather was excellent everday!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trendytraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear trendytraveller64,


Thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays with us at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to write a review on our hotel.

It’s wonderful to know that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us, that you were pleased with the accommodation, the food, the staff service and the entertainment. I will forward your comments to Daniel, whom I’m sure will be very pleased to hear about it.

Once again we thank you for your comments and suggestions, these will certainly be taken into account for the continuous improvement of our hotel.

We hope that you will return to visit us again very soon in the future.



Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#1 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#4 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
2.3 km away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#12 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 km away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Urbanizacao da Cabocan | ZDTI Ponta Preta, Cape Verde - Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
Price range (per night): $196 - $364
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 star Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive Resort is located in the southeast of the island Sal, only a few minutes from the colourful town Santa María and Amilcar Cabral international airport. During your stay you will find relaxation and fun right on the fabulous Algodoeiro beach, with its white sand and turquoise waters. The resort offers spectacular suites and villas with up to 4 bedrooms, private garden and swimming-pool. Set in gardens there are 2 magnificent adult pools and 2 pools for children. Experience Yhi Wellness with sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool, thermal circuit, fitness facilities, massage and beauty treatments. Dining options include a variety of 4 restaurants and bars, offering a selection of international and local cuisine. The Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive is also the perfect destination for windsurfing, kitesurfing or scuba diving. Events for up to 200 people can be organised in 2 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC and Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing