We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Horizon Boa Vista
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017

just returned yesterday. On the whole a nice holiday, I will start with the negatives very expensive trips and overated if you would like to go on the catamaran I suggest contacting giggling ghekos before travelling and book with Richard, had a lovely morning, fishing and snorkelling.
Another negative it is not very friendly towards people with walking difficulties, lots of steps and a long walk down to the beach.
On the plus side very clean and food was plentiful and lots of choice.
Animation team friendly but not pushy, had some lovely chats with Yadell (sorry if I have spelt that wrong).
Another downside was 1 of the main pools was emptied for 1 week due to relining, but was not informed of this prior to them doing it. Shop on site is expensive but then again it is an island and everything has to be fetched in.
Red flag up nearly everyday on the beach due the the waves and currents.
We caught a taxi every other day to a gorgeous beach bar called Perola, very secluded and not expensive and on a few occasions even managed to see green turtles.
Nice relaxing holiday
Would I go back? yes but in a few years

Room Tip: higher floors closer to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Just had 2 weeks relaxing in paradise. Hotel was clean, staff laid back, food was good with plenty of choice and as I'm disabled, access was brilliant with ramps and elevator. Plenty to do or not to do depending what holiday you prefer. Although there were a few cracks here and there concerning maintenance the staff done their utmost to keep on top of it with the least trouble to stop the guests from relaxing and enjoying themselves. I loved this hotel and will definitely be staying there again. Points out of 10? 20!

Room Tip: All rooms had a beach view but you can also get a beach front room if wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

On arrival to Cape Verde, we had already done our visas on line and printed off the receipt to prove that I had submitted them , but some of the passengers on our plane had to pay 25 euros each due to some visas going astray, this was refunded back by Thomson's. The 2 reps that greeted us at the airport looked and sounded like they didn't really want to be there, and with only one carousel working for all our luggage it seemed to take forever to arrive. We were taken to our hotel via a small mini bus with air conditioning, it took approx 10 minutes to get to our hotel, when we arrived we checked in which was all straight forward but then there were only 4 of us checking in at that time. When we checked in we were advised that there was a tax charge (which we were not informed about) this charge is 2 euros per night per person up to 20 euros per stay, up to a maximum of 20 euros each so it cost us another 40 euros on top. Our suitcases were bought to our room soon after we had arrived there, by a porter in a van.
Our room:
Room number 644
Our room turned out to be an apartment, the main room had 2 large double beds, 2 bedside cabinets, 1 desk and chair, 1 wardrobe with 3 doors plenty of hangers for clothes. The safe is on the wardrobe, at a cost of 28 euros, but if you know how to use it set it up then you could have it for free, we did not realise this until after we had paid, we are familiar with this type of safe so could have saved ourselves 28 euros. There is patio doors which lead to outside are, and air conditioning, The bathroom was big and had a shower over the bath (which was quite stained and looked dirty but it was where it was old and worn) a sink with large mirror above it, a toilet and bidet. The towels were changed daily if you put them in the bath, but was not returned to your room until early evening (giving us the impression that they didn't have enough towels to go around without taking them washing them and then returning them. Our shower was fine, they have a shower gel dispenser but there was nothing in it so don't forget to take your own. Kitchen / dining area with sink 2 hobs a fridge and microwave, and a sofa and breakfast bar with 4 stools, this also had a pair of patio doors which led out to a large patio with a table and 4 chairs on it.Both sets of patio doors have fly screens. The rooms were cleaned daily. There was some broken glass just outside our room which we reported twice as it was there for 3 days to reception, then we told our rep and it was cleaned straight away.The beach is amazing, the beds and umbrellas on the beach belong to the hotel are are free for hotel customers to use. There are plenty, the first couple of days you didn't have to save them but towards the end we noticed that more and more Germans were saving the beds so we had to do the same. Beach towels are given to you on arrival you get given a card which you take to the kiosk to get your towel, when changing back ask for the card back or you will be charged for the towels on check out. The towels can be exchanged until 7 pm. The plug sockets in the room are the round pins. No tea making facility luckily we took our own kettle and tea bags. You are given a 1.5 litre bottle of water on arrival and are expected to buy any further water from the shop for 2 euros, but we found if you took the empty bottle to the bar they filled it up for you free of charge. Cockroaches in room we had 4 in our room 2 vanished and we caught 2 in a cup we phoned reception and they came and disposed of them ( not nice but you do have to expect these in a country like this).Flies, there are loads of them, they didn't seem to bother us the first week but the second week was a nightmare, flies everywhere, the worst place for the flies was the beach bar area.They do do there best by lighting candle have nets over food but there are loads around, there are also a lot of cats, which get into the restaurant area, they do ask that you do not feed them there but there were a lot of people feeding them which personally i don't like. We stayed for 2 weeks but personally 10 days would have been enough for us.breakfast was the basic, cereal, eggs, beans, bacon (not English) sausage (not English), there was Brussels out for you at breakfast, we did like the oat milk (porridge) but that was about it, food was much the same day in and day out. Lunch and Dinner were much the same except you got more choice with deserts at lunch time than dinner time. it was always chicken, pork, pasta, rice and salad. all tasted a bit bland to my liking. Men may wear shorts in the dining room although it does state they should wear long trousers but all the men wore shorts to dinner. The beach has beautiful white sand not many stones only a few by the water edge bought in by the waves, the water was lovely didn't take long to get into as a lovely temperature. There were a load of fish in the water.
Speciality restaurant:
We went once while we were there, the food was nice but very small portions and if you are a fussy eater like me not a lot of choice. The meat I asked for med to well done but came up more rare to my liking.
Trips:
We done a trip to the north really nice, there was a photographer there taking photos but i have been trying for a week now to get hold of the and nobody responds to my emails about them so cant buy them, the trip was good and was for half a day.
Turtle watch:
If you can get booked onto this trip I highly recommend it, we went and watched a turtle lay eggs and then we saw some baby turtles that had only hatched 2 hours previously, amazing trip this cost 158 euros for the two of us.
Would we go again probably not.
Did we enjoy our holiday yes for the first 10 days then got board
The hotel is mainly a French hotel full of French tourists, and the entertainment what there is of it is for the french.
sorry cant comment on the pool as we went to the beach everyday as it was too hot round the pool but it did look lovely.

Room Tip: our room was 644 and overlooking the beach ideal location of room for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Just got back and definitely will not be going back.

The island is fine for a chilled, no fuss holiday. Sightseeing is limited (the turtle excursion was fully booked for the whole time we were there).

Found the hotel extremely basic and did expect more for the money. You have to pay €20 each as taxes on arrival. The safety deposit box is an extra charge as it internet outside the reception area. We didn’t choose this and were happy we hadn’t as we could not get reception in our room, so the charge would have been useless,

The food was plentiful, but an odd mix of stews and the flies were an absolute nuisance. The alcohol is local brew but we found that if you wanted white rum during the day, they didn’t have any (we assumed they were saving this for the evenings).

We booked in at the Royal Decameron, but were not informed of the change of ownership/chain. We felt this was poor communication on the part of TUI as we had been to a Royal Decameron in Mexico and had received excellent service and had @ brilliant holiday.

The service in the hotel was hit and miss. The staff do speak some English but they seemed to respond significantly in French. There was no pool side service and the restaurant felt more like a cafeteria where you served yourself (including getting drinks).

Overall a disappointing holiday. Perhaps I expected too much of a developing resort.

Room Tip: Quite a hilly so if you have mobility issues be sure to mention this. Room 334 has a brilliant vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Really nice place to stay for holiday. One week is not enough. Food, drinks, services was excellent. Our room was nice, big, little bit old, but we spent lot of time outside the room.
Beach was realy huge. Sunbeds was also good and the best thing was the ocean. Love it and recommend boa vista for honeymoon or relaxing and quite holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BibaBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
7.9 km away
Marine Club Beach Resort
6.4 km away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
91 reviews
0.0 km away
Aparthotel Ca'Nicola
Aparthotel Ca'Nicola
#3 of 5 in Sal Rei
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
2,011 reviews
2.5 km away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
7,535 reviews
18.3 km away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
8,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Boa Vista

Been to Royal Horizon Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horizon Boa Vista

Address: | Boa Vista Island, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde (Formerly Royal Decameron Boa Vista)
Region: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range: $189 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Horizon Boa Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Royal Horizon Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Resort Boa Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing