We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chillax - sun sea sand & loads of RUM...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Horizon Boa Vista
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My wife, me and 2 kids age 2 & 5 have just returned from Boa Vista, we stayed at the Royal Decameron (RD) after trying to decide between Rui & RD. If you are looking for good food, lovely beach, loads of Sun (33degrees) If you have young kids then they have activities everyday but you can't do much outside of the resort. The swimming pools are great, kids pool x 2 and a large adult pool. The all inclusive package was great if you like RUM. We wanted to go to a place that would allow us to Chillax and we had a great time. Before going I read some comments about the Rooms, and its true the higher the number the better your room. initially we had room 105 which was nice but a little small for 2 adults and 2 kids, they upgraded us for free to room 500 which had a great sea view and 2 large bedrooms with a fridge and Microwave to heat the milk for my little one. Staff customer service was brilliant. Only downfall was the policy around getting a sun bed, people would get up at 5am to reserve a bed.. something I was not willing to do. After 3pm its a little easier to get a sun bed.

Room Tip: Rooms from 500 to 515 are large double rooms with great sea view and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnyPatelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 519 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

Boa Vista is without a doubt a beautiful place with beautiful beaches and beautiful weather,,,, and there it stops. There is nothing ( and i mean nothing ) to do at all. We covered the whole Island and was so bored as there is nothing to see or do with the exception of a ship wreck. The Royal Decameron is a nice hotel that is 4* rated but it is 2*-3* maximum. The food is boring and average and the a la carte restaraunt is aweful. Hotel is nice but the atmosphere is boring and only good if you are French as they all speak that. Games are in French, Music is in French and so if you are from Britain I would say dont go. This was the view off all but a few people we spoke to and it was so boring we actually tried to get a flight to somewhere else.
All food on the bone and eggs raw. When they say Fillet they mean rump or goat.
On a good note the beer was cold but as it was All Inclusive I thought it was a joke that you must pay for water 2 euros per bottle. If you get bored you can get crisps for 5.50 euros or 3 euros for a Mars Bar.
I know it is a new area for holidays but need entertainment and a chef who can cook food. So many Misquitos we seen people eaten alive with over thirty bites we luckly only had 8. Would never go back unless I was forced to.
Oh one other thing Sal Rei the capital they try to get you to visit, dont go its dirty and smells of sewage and there is nothing there at all, Taxi's are expensive. 10 euros for five minute trip, from one side of island to other and back around 130euros. Nothing but a con to rip you off so dont get caught out. Staff friendly (if they speak english).

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view but the walk to some of the rooms for elderley is a joke and pavements are cobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark210381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just back from Boa vista. Having read the previous comments, we were a bit afraid (we were travelling with a 2,5 years old baby). However, the hotel proved to be a very pleasant surprise.

The food is fresh and delicious, the choice is probably not so huge as in other 4 stars hotels we stayed (especially in Asia), nevertheless it is quite big and the quality is really high. I cannot understand the stomack problems people were speaking about. My husband has always a bit of stomack upset when we travel to an exotic destination, but this time he was perfect (and even the baby was eating everything).
The staff is very pleasant, evverything is extremelly clean, you can see cleaning ladies cleaning the pool area etc. virtually all the day round. The rooms are spacious and as we were travelling with a baby, we were given a suite close to the beach (we have booked a regular room), so we were very happy.
There were also people complaining about the beach... well, you have to be aware of the waves and the currents and everyone knows it. You cannot swim there, but even then I would say it was one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen. It is almost virgin and you can walk for one hour and see almost no people.

Due to the September rain, there were mosquitos at the beginning of the stay, but at the end there were almost no moquitos. They are putting insecticides several times a day.

Definitelly, we would recommend it and would come back to Boa Vista and to the Royal Decameron. Wonderul holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moriBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Just returned from a wonderful week in Cape Verde/Royal Decameron. Having read many reviews with mixed reports..i genuinely believe that you have to do your research and realise that you are travelling to an under developed part of the world! So, my headline is: Fab holiday, for relaxation...here are a few handy hints :
-Private taxi from airport is worth considering as you beat the queues to check in at hotel.
-There are mosquitos (especially if the country has had rain recently)..be prepared..the shop doesn't sell mosquito spray.
-The hotel shop only sells limited and expensive sun cream (20 Euros a bottle).
-There are plenty of cobbled walk ways around the hotel...don't take your best high heels! prepare also for lots of steps.
-The hairdryers are very low voltage/no tea tray in room, but breakfast opens at 7am...food and drink avail somewhere in the hotel at all times until late evening.
-Minimal activities..as described in the brochure...and the Animation team are French orientated, so all shows are in French and local languages..so apart from the live music in the hotel bar a couple of nights each week...take a pack of cards...and relax.
-Games and aerobics/zumba by the pool daily..plus music..seek out the pool to the edge of the site...far quieter..or retire to the wonderful beach.
-No teenage scene at all..but certainly a good games room with table tennis/table football etc...that is the limit.
-a small number of young children..so no inconvenience with children disturbances by the pool or in the restaurant.
-Culture is early rising, so be prepared to stake your sunbed by the pool before 7am!
-Plastic glasses poolside..glass at upstairs bar.
-Quad biking-best off site activity..take a bandana/headscarf and wear old clothes due to dust on dunes.
-Visit Sal Rei by hotel arranged taxi 10 Euro's each way...plan your return trip!...you will face 10 taxi drivers touting for your return business as you arrive in Sal Rei..remain in control, select your driver and make an arrangement for a set time for the return driver. you will also be approached by a "guide" to show you round the old/local's town area"...no charge...just the obligatory visit to his own shop where you will find local souveniers worth investing in..
-Don't be surprised if a taxi is a flat back pickup truck..(even on airport transfer!)
-Visit "No Stress Souvenier shop" in Sal Rei (opposite the main square bar area...sun cream only 12 Euros!)
-Airport is primarily open air..on arrival have hats in hand luggage, on departure you will be left in a holding queue before passport control(in the sun) whilst earlier flights depart as the departure lounge can only host one flight!
-get drinks from the vending machines..1 Euro each , if you use the airport bar the change is given in local escudo's. Best cool place in departure area is air conditioned duty free shop!
This truly was a fabulous holiday. Food was great with many options, vegetarian options wonderful!
Staff very helpful and engaging..if you need something..then ask...we traveled in a party of 8...6 adults two teenagers..we would definately return!

Room Tip: request a sea view...don't be frightened to ask for an upgrade on arrival..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ann f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is only 5 mins from the airport. We paid 800 Gbp each for 10 nights from gatwick uk. Food exceeded our expectations. They could do with more sun loungers. Great location right on the beech. Lovely sunsets. Would def return.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
7.9 km away
Marine Club Beach Resort
6.4 km away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
92 reviews
0.0 km away
Aparthotel Ca'Nicola
Aparthotel Ca'Nicola
#3 of 5 in Sal Rei
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
2,012 reviews
2.5 km away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
7,537 reviews
18.3 km away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
8,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Boa Vista

Been to Royal Horizon Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horizon Boa Vista

Address: | Boa Vista Island, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde (Formerly Royal Decameron Boa Vista)
Region: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range: $186 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Horizon Boa Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Horizon Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Resort Boa Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing