We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Horizon Boa Vista
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Estoril(Sal Rei)
USD 73*
USD 57*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Aparthotel Por do Sol(Sal Rei)(Great Value!)
USD 106*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 193*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 112*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Riu Touareg(Santa Monica)
USD 155*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dunas(Sal Rei)
USD 79*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
USD 174*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,164)
Filter reviews
2,164 results
Traveller rating
740
988
293
86
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
988
293
86
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal decameronquiet poolbeach baranimation teamspeak frenchsal reirelaxing holidayfrench tourcape verdetwo double bedsa la carte restaurantplenty of choicesea viewthomas cooktwo weekssand dunestable tennis
Filter
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 2,164 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Me and my girlfriend came to the decameron on the 27th for a week , the flight was fairly terrible because of the lack of leg room with thomas cook but what we got when we arrived was well worth the wait !!!!!Extremely friendly staff, clean rooms with lovely beds , amazing food with a varied choice , one of the best beaches i have ever seen even better than oludeniz in turkey !! Make sure you get out of the hotel to experience Africa and do the trip to Santa Monica beach it is out of this world . The sun bed issue that you read about on here did worry me once we had booked this hotel but people extremely over exaggerate it trust me! To get a good sun bed we had to get up at 8 which isn’t to bad at all and if you really couldn’t get one you could just get one on the beach and this was with a full hotel . Another worry was the apparent racism towards the English but yet again this is rubbish the animation people make a great effort with both sets of nationalities and in fact made our holiday even more enjoyable . In truth the actual French people seemed more friendly than most English anway as they say hello rather than dogging you up everywhere you go. This is a great place and very unique but will not be long before more is built here and it is ruined so go ASAP !!! Had an amazing week and would recommend to all variants of people even those who don’t normally do all inclusive . :)

Room Tip: 826 was lovely
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Whiter05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I went to this hotel for a one weeks complete break and rest holiday with my dad. We chose this hotel because all the review on trip advisor stated there is nothing to do. We loved it, there is literally nothing outside. We went on two trips with thomson, one all day 4x4 jeep safari (nice but long and bumpy) also a 3 hour catamaran trip, the crew were excellent and entertained us on the way back, I danced with Elvis!!! Those who have been aboard will know what i am on about.
The food and customer service at this hotel was great, Yes the animation team spoke mostly french BUT if you attempted to talk with them they would sit and happily chat with you. The SPA was great, i had the best ever pedicure (brutal but fabulous).
SUNBEDS- we proved that it was possible to bag a great sunbed, yes you need to get up early to sit around the pool, but the beds are sooooo comfy (and near the bar).
The beach was lovely and clean, the water sea was warmer than the pool but do take notice of the flag system, it is a very strong current.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a chill out holiday but not for "adventurous and very active" people.
One thing i did not enjoy was a very short trip into SAL REI, I admit I did not realise the extent of the hardship and was therefore very shocked.
Santa Monica beach - the most beautiful beach ever>>>>>>>
Please do not read this, book and then moan, we had two Brisitsh people really moaning about the fact it was in the middle of nowhere and French led. You bored us and we thought you should "get a life and go to benidorm!!!"

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zoenfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Dont believe everything you read. We stayed at the royal decameron from 19/01/12 to 30/01/12 and had a great time. If you read the brochures properly then this holiday is sold as seen, totally relaxing.
We travelled with Thomson to this resort and everything went on time. You dont get in flight movies or meals on board but do get a choice from a snack bar menu. The bacon bagguettes are ok but avoid the chips as they are revolting!!!!!
The transfer was quick and checkin was a breeze. We were greeted with a nice cold drink and were soon being shown to our room. We booked a beach view room and got exactly what we booked. The room was basic put spotlessly clean with an amazing view across the beach and out to sea!!
The resort is set out in a village style and everything is within easy walking distance although the pathways are cobbled and are not suitable for the less mobile. The whole complex is spotless and the gardens are kept well maintained by the friendliest gardners you could wish to meet.
Looking at previous reviews the main issues for concern were the french speaking animation team and the sunbeds. We found the animation team to be very polite and curtious to everyone no matter what nationality they were.They would quite often sit and have lunch with us and chat happily away with no language issues. As for the sunbeds then if you want to get up early to reserve a sunbed around the pool then you can but why would anyone want to sit around a pool when you have a beautiful beech with the warm Atlantic sea with plenty of loungers!!!!!
The quality of the food was great with plenty of choice. the al a carte restuarant is well worth a visit too!!!
This was my first visit to Cape Verde and i would not hesitate in going back. To sum up this hotel you have to take it for what it is, a great total relaxing holiday with great staff and excellent food.
If you want nightlife go to Tenerife!!!!!!
I would like to mention Michelle the thomson rep who is a great laugh abd to Andy the Thomas Cook rep who will chat away with you no matter who you booked with!!!!!
The french can be loud and a bit pushy at times but lets face it,us Brits have'nt got the best image abroad either!!

Royal Decameron......................Give it a go you wont be dissapointed!!!!

Room Tip: rooms 328 to 335 are located on the front overlooking the beach and arev away from the noise!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank awicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The High Spots:-
Beach - Amazing - loads of space - sea is superb
Animation Team - superb - Here's to Jay, Jenny, Linny and Djallo, who helped make our holiday fab - never too in your face, but always around if you wanted to participate in activities
Food - fantastic - there was a roast meat meal or fresh fish every meal - there were your standard pizzas, burgers, chips, pasta, etc available every lunch and dinner - the best was the fish though, outstanding, big tuna steaks - hmmmm
Drink - good mix of drinks - beer was strela (nice) - fanta limon / naranja - local cocktails just about passable (except the gin and the local grog - nooooo)
Pool - once you get through the initial shock of the chill then it's ok
TV - there's a constant flow of sport - you get all Premier League and La Liga games (local channels - TV Sport 1&2 - good) - These are shown in the lobby bar
Staff - all staff were excellent - we didn't like our allocated room, no light, and reception manager took us to another room, whoch was great.

Low:-
People getting up at 6 to put towel son sunbeds. This didn't matter to us as we are beach dwellers and why lig round a pool when you've got one of the finest beaches in the world 200 yeards away.
Only 1 A La Carte Restaurant with same menu every day - food was fantastic though

Overall - excellent value for money (paid £865 for 2 weeks). 6 hour flight was easy and the beach is def worth the extra 2 hours on from the Canaries.

Room Tip: If you can get a suite, then it's worth it. The additional space is enormous.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GRPSWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Dont beleive all you read, just returned from the Royal DECAMERON,AFTER A WEEKS STAY, HOTEL VERY GOOD, FOOD EXCELLENT, GOOD ENTERTAINMENT, FACILITIES WERE OK, LOVELY POOL BUT CHILLY, ROOMS OK BASIC BUT CLEAN SOME WERE BETTER SITUATED THAN OTHERS SOME HAD EXCELLENT SEA VIEWS. Not really 4 star in our opinion but a nice clean hotel, and as we say the food was excellent. The only complaint we have is the weather totally disappointed only really had 2 days of sun, dull and overcast with rain, which we beleive can be the norm. Beautiful beach and lovely sea although rough on some days. Totally as the brochure says QUIET!!!! nothing to do be prepared for days sat in the hotel reception reading youre book on the wet and cloudy days. It can be really chilly to with no sun, and the constant wind. On the whole ok holiday wouldnt go back but met some cracking people who made the holiday so much fun . The Lancashire couple Barry and Jill xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Dont mention the chickens!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! returned 3rd feb 2012

Room Tip: ask for sea veiw or quite pool view our room was ok 816 but would have liked a 306 room
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jill_cragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews