We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Relaxation”
Review of Hillcrest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillcrest Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The Hillcrest Inn was wonderful! The Master Suite was so relaxing! Spacious, well appointed and very comfortable. The deck overlooking the Niagara River was awesome! So relaxing! And the breakfast was to die for! Beautiful place and a perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 153 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

We called at the last minute needing somewhere to stay due to a last minute decision to go to Niagra Falls and were lucky enough to be able to stay here! We stayed in the "French Room" at the Inn. The bed was so very comfortable. We were greeted by the owner of the Inn and immediately felt comfortable and welcomed. The place is very "homey". The only downfall would be that there did not seem to be any air conditioning downstairs. There was a window unit in the bedroom where we slept however, so, to us, that was all that mattered. The room and private bath were very clean. I am paranoid of bugs and uncleanliness and i was completely comfortable. The following morning we got up for breakfast and went downstairs. We were led to a table set specifically for the two of us after we were shown to the coffee and wonderful banana bread. I thought this would be the extent of the breakfast and then we were served fresh orange juice and yogurt with strawberries, blueberries and blackberries. Then, not expecting more, we were served lemon piccata pancakes, a small roll of fresh salmon, several slices of bacon and sour cream and chive scrambled eggs. (We had asked upon arrival if we had any food allergies or dislikes). We were able to leave our car at the Inn and walk to the falls. Although there is NO nightlife on the American side of Niagra Falls, we had a WONDERFUL time and would happily stay at The Hillcrest Inn again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This charming 1920 Victorian mansion is tucked away on Hillcrest drive, situated just off Buffalo Avenue along the Niagara River. Only minutes on foot from magnificent Niagara Falls, it is truly a hidden gem.

The setting is as romantic as a vintage Valentine. The outside is lushly landscaped but not overly fussy, and the inside a blend of Old World feminine frills offset by masculine woodwork and paintings. The house is spacious and immaculate, with breakfast seating strategically placed so you can enjoy your meal in relative privacy in the dining room, in the sun room, or outside on the porch.

Coffee, tea, biscotti, and other sweets are available twenty four hours a day at a station on the sun porch. We stayed five nights, and were greeted with a different gourmet breakfast every morning. Take a minute and look through the guest photos others have posted here of the breakfasts. No description I could write will do them justice. The portions are appropriate and sumptuous; you will not need to eat again before lunch. They are truly superb. Each starts with fruit, and the service and presentations are reminiscent of something you would be served at the Plaza or the Waldorf-Astoria back in the nineteen sixties. The word “genteel” comes to mind. Cute details abound, like ceramic bird salt-and-pepper shakers. The tasteful decor is both elegant and cozily comfortable.

Cassidy and her wonderful family run a first-class operation here. She goes out of her way to accommodate you, from dietary restrictions to helping plan your sightseeing itinerary.

We stayed in the Master Suite, and the rate for August in Niagara Falls was beyond a bargain for all the amenities you get: free wifi, free coffee and tea continuously, shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in a dispenser in the shower, restocked every day, q-tips, mouthwash, soap, clean towels TWICE a day (yes, twice), free bottled water restocked TWICE a day, and chocolates on your pillow, to name a few.

The Master Suite has a very comfortable four-poster wrought iron queen bed, an upstairs private patio, ample closet and drawer space, a huge private bathroom, and a vanity to sit and do your makeup. It has many mirrors, including full-length. The patio faces the Niagara River, which you can see through the beautiful mature trees. We slept with the windows and patio door open and listened to the rapids and the Falls as we fell asleep.

To recap:
The food: It’s like you died and went to Breakfast Heaven.
You can leave your shampoo and conditioner at home.
The service is five-star, the room is cleaned and straightened twice a day when you are out.
Goat Island, the American Falls, the Cave of the Winds, Prospect Point, and the Maid of the Mist are all within easy walking distance, as is a Starbuck’s, casinos, and other places to eat. It is a bit farther but also possible to walk across the Rainbow Bridge to Canada from here (you will need passports to cross into Canada, and US quarters if you walk).
If wine is your passion, there is at least two full day’s worth of wineries within a short driving distance (one day for the US wineries, one day for the Canadian wineries).

If you have never been to Niagara Falls before, there are attractions that are “musts”. Cassidy is expert at helping you use your time in western New York wisely, keeps updated on local information, and pays close attention to your interests when making suggestions.
There are so many things to do in western New York, whether you are on a romantic getaway or a family trip, give yourself more than just a weekend.

We are already planning to return to the Hillcrest Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaS0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

The Hillcrest Inn is a wonderful place to stay. It's a beautiful house in a great location - just a short walk from Goat Island and the local restaurants.

The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. They offered us the choice of where to eat breakfast, so we sat on the sun porch overlooking the garden, where you can see the water of the falls through the trees. The breakfast was delicious - on the first day, we were served fruit salad and eggs benedict, and on the second day we got fruit sorbet, scrambled eggs and pancakes.

We stayed in the English room which was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. I loved the bedspread and the vase of fresh white roses. Each day we got back to our room to find chocolates on the pillow, which was a nice touch.

I can honestly say this is one of the loveliest places I've ever stayed. If I come back to Niagara Falls I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franglaisem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were on a bicycle trip of the Niagara Circle Route, and started our adventure here. Chandler even let me park my truck here while we rode. I can't say enough about how nice Hillcrest is ... it's a wonderful old home, only a 5-minute walk from the Falls and with equally easy access to downtown. Chandler provided an outstanding map and plently of restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was exceptional!! The room was terrific. When I go back, I'm staying here and I'm recommending it to all my friends!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,107 reviews
0.6 km away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#5 of 51 in Niagara Falls
2,200 reviews
0.4 km away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#7 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,154 reviews
0.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#11 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Inn

Address: 1 Hillcrest St, Niagara Falls, NY 14303-1221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $181 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, Georgian mansion is designed from classical antiquity. Its perfect location on a bricked, private street offers guests quiet seclusion – while allowing them to conveniently walk to most attractions in both Niagara Falls, NY and Niagara Falls, Canada. Breakfast at Hillcrest Inn may be served in the Asian dining room, sunroom with its delightful, trickling water fountain or (weather – permitting) outdoors on the terrace over-looking the fall's upper rapids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hillcrest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing